Don’t make your workouts a choice

After a few days away from fitness, I had to motivate myself to squeeze in a workout yesterday evening. I often find myself complaining about having to workout and can be easily convinced to skip intense cardio or an extra set of weights. Since I knew my body was well rested, I should have been ready to rock my workout yesterday but that wasn’t the case. I walked over to my small apartment gym, hopped on the elliptical, and started to settle for a low intensity workout. After a few minutes of this, I remembered back to when I was living at home with my parents and going to the YMCA everyday and how working out was just a part of my schedule, not a choice. I would train my brain to think this way so why not start thinking this way again?

Don’t make my workouts and exercises a choice. Instead, I will build them into my schedule as my routine so that I don’t opt out of anything. I was inspired to get a good workout in after this realization and so I pumped out the sweat for the remainder of my gym time. I also did small challenges, like going as hard as I can for a certain amount of time. After a sweaty cardio session, I did some weight workouts, followed by an ab workout. Success!

See ya later, calories!

See ya later, calories!

It was especially important to get my butt back into gear after an awesome weekend. On Friday, my roommates and I had a Christmas party and on Saturday, I went home to Richmond with my boyfriend Lee to visit with family.

Just me and my roommates!

Just me and my roommates!

Home is so much nicer!

Home is so much nicer!

the "young-ins" (my cousin Joey, me, and Lee)

the “young-ins” (my cousin Joey, me, and Lee)

For the holidays, my cousin Joey gave Lee and I 2 tickets to come stay with him and his lovely fiance in Hawaii!! Talk about an awesome gift! 🙂

Home is where my stomach heart will always be

Home is where my stomach heart will always be

I had a fabulous weekend celebrating with friends and family, which made coming back home to Charlottesville even harder. I took a cue out of my mom’s book and decided to get busy so I wouldn’t miss my family and Lee. I went to the Mistletoe Toe Market for Junior League, then TJ Maxx to get lots of Christmas gifts, and finally to Trader Joe’s. I LOVE Trader Joe’s. I stocked up on lots of produce like veggies, fruit, turkey, cheese, and yogurt. I also got a little treat for dessert. 😉

The goods

The goods

When I got back to my appartment, I jumped into my workout clothes, put my Mariah Carey Pandora playlist on my iHome dock, and cleaned our place. I vaccummed and mopped the floors and cleaned the counters. It took a lot of elbow grease to mop those floors clean! I’d say cleaning house is definitely a workout. After my place was cleaned, it was gym time, then shower time, and finally, relaxation and cooking dinner hour- aka my favorite part of Sunday. I made a big bowl of Thai inspired vegetable soup.

mmm savory

mmm savory

Into the pot went 1 can of chicken broth, carrots, mushrooms, an onion, 1 can of coconut milk, sriracha, curry powder, a clove of garlic, and a LOT of red pepper flakes and pepper.

And dinner is served

And dinner is served

After dinner, I put away my leftover soup for the week and made my sandwich for lunch the next day.

I love sandwich thins

I love sandwich thins

This morning, I woke up rather slowly and headed over to the gym for some light cardio on the treadmill and the stationary bike. (I think it may be time to join a real gym because I’m getting a little bored with my small gym and its lack of equipment.) I finished up with some ab work and then headed home to shower and prepare for my day.

yogurt time

yogurt time

Hope everyone is having a good holiday season so far! Thanks Mom and Dad for a great weekend!

:)

🙂

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Don’t make your workouts a choice

  1. francene Katzen says:

    And thank you very much for being the best daughter any parent could ever ask for!!!!  You give me nothing but pure joy and I love you sooooooo much!!! Excellent blog this morning!!!xoxox

Show some love

