A Fit Tip

Weight loss and nutrition is 80% what you eat and 20% how you workout. I heard this tip over the weekend while watching an interview with a muscle building doctor on TV. I agree with this idea. Often times, we think that working out allots us extra meals and indulgence. I think that in moderation, this is true, but not every day. I find that the most successful fit people are the ones that don’t think about their meals or count calories. That being said, everyone has their own strategy, but overall, it seems like the less we focus on every meal, the more likely we are to just eat to live. Make your mind focus on something else besides consumption. Mind over matter. 🙂

I think this post may have something to do with my mini-hiatus from working out. I wasn’t able to hit the gym yesterday but believe me, I’ll be there this evening! The holidays and being under the weather have thrown my schedule for a loop. This morning I was all mixed up on my time and thought I had plenty of time to do yoga when really, I had 15 minutes until I had to be at work! I still managed to eat a breakfast of cashews and peanuts, pack my lunch, and enjoy a hot drink before this realization. Success.

Can you guess what I'm drinking?

Can you guess what I’m drinking?

Have a great Thursday!

Question of zee day: Do you agree that fitness is 80% what you eat?

Tagged , , ,

10 thoughts on “A Fit Tip

  1. voxifit says:

    I Agree 100% that fitness is 80% diet and 20% training. However i don’t use the word “diet”, i prefer healthy eating:).. I keep to a very strict healthy eating plan mon-fri, then on sat and sun i go MAD!…LOL!!… that’s what has worked for me:)

  2. I agree that what one eats is extremely important in ones fitness. I don’t know that I would quantify it to 80%, but I know that I could not run a marathon if I don’t eat the right foods. Are you drinking pumpkin soup?

  3. livliveslife says:

    I think that 80% theory is completely true (for me at least)! That’s why I gain weight over the holidays even though I work out daily….too many cookies! 🙂

    I’ve nominated you and your blog for a few awards. Click here for more info! http://livliveslife.wordpress.com/2012/12/28/two-more/

  4. jeannnine says:

    I agree! I’m just now experimenting with not counting calories but focusing more on balanced meals and what’s right for my body. I also second what livliveslife said! If I’m working out and not eating clean, I get very thick! 🙂

  5. I TOTALLY agree! Unfortunately I have a hard time with the eating part! I always make time to workout, but I really struggle with staying on track with food. Specifically weekend eating. I eat healthy during the week, but as soon as the weekend rolls around I pig out a bit. New Year’s resolution maybe? haha

  6. I agree with this theory. Not sure if I agree with the percentage as a blanket number for everyone to follow, but I think it is a good rule for people who don’t know where to start. It is important to fuel your body properly in order for it to function at its peek

    • Definitely agree with what you said. I think the percentage is just a good way to highlight the importance of nutrition. For a long time, I thought I could eat whatever I want just as long as I workout but sadly this is not true. A girl can dream!

Show some love

