A Not so Ambitious New Year’s Day

Happy New Year! 2013 is here and I think the only noticeable difference for me is having to remember to write 2013 instead of 2012. It will probably take me until 2014 to write 2013.

Lee and I started our New Year’s Eve celebrations at his parents house for dinner. His Mom is a great cook and she always has desserts too. 🙂

lamb, spinach, carrots, and rice

lamb, spinach, carrots, and rice

A pretty fruit plate

A pretty fruit plate

For dessert, we had chocolate pound cake with the world’s best ice cream, Haagen Dazs Caramel Cone. I was too busy indulging to take a photo apparently!

After dinner, Lee and I headed downtown to celebrate with some friends.

Full bellies and ready to rock

Full bellies and ready to rock

And my attempt at a selfie... I wanted to show off my new peplum top :)

And my attempt at a selfie… I wanted to show off my new peplum top 🙂

We got to our friend Tim’s place and it was all I could do to stay away from this table…

My second date for the night?

My second date for the night?

Those are cookie dough cupcakes in the container. I went running distracted myself from this table and managed to eat just a couple peppermint cookies later in the evening. There’s something about being around a lot of people that makes it easier to stay away from eating every single cupcake eating a bunch of desserts. Plus it was time to go out and ring in the New Year.

Enjoying drinks from Robin Alexander's

Enjoying drinks from Robin Alexander’s

If you’re ever in Lynchburg, Robin Alexander’s is a great place to go for dinner or drinks. I think Bethany would agree with me. 🙂

The next day, on New Year’s Day, we relaxed.

A little bit of this...

A little bit of this…

And a little bit of that

And a little bit of that

Lee made us a late morning breakfast and we had a low-key day. (Lee and I are usually more active and like running together but his ACL is still in recovery.) This was probably my first New Year’s Day that I didn’t work out since I was a child. Even though I don’t set resolutions, like workout 5 times a week, I still like to jump start the first day of the year in a healthy way. Since a workout wasn’t in the cards for Lee, I just enjoyed the time we had together. I plan to hit the gym this evening after work though for sure!

So when having a lazy day, go all out. We did just that and went to dinner at a Mexican restaurant. We ate chips and dip and I got the half size version of the chicken fajitas and they were great.

Chips and dip...no anti-carbs resolutions this way apparently!

Chips and dip…no anti-carbs resolutions this way apparently!

Talk about an unusual New Year’s meal! Since we didn’t exactly eat healthy or work out, I decided to skip desserts. Say what? I had to feel productive in some part of the day, so I went a whole day without sweets. Go me! 😉

How was everyone’s New Year’s Eve and Day? Did anyone eat black eyed peas for dinner?

Tagged , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “A Not so Ambitious New Year’s Day

  1. Your lamb dinner looks so pretty! And the new blog format is looking great, I definitely need to make it a goal to work on mine!

    • Thank you! It was delicious too. Oh, and glad you like the new theme! I’m still playing around with the appearance and everything. There should be a webinar or class to help new bloggers like us. 🙂

  2. Love your New Year’s Eve outfit! The food sounds great too, I love Mexican food 🙂

  3. Sounds fabulous! I did not eat my black eyed peas on NYD this year…I know, horrible!!

  4. Sounds like you had a great New Years Eve! Your hair looks so pretty! 🙂

  5. Yum yum yum.. Sounds like you guys had a great new years. Mine was very low key at home with the hubby and baby asleep. One tiny glass of bubbles and bed at 2am. Only to be woken up at 5am by the baby. Although we did make it out for a 1km walk. 🙂 Better than nothing.

  6. Pop Rock Martini!!! You’re making me miss my college days. Being a grownup is the worst..

  7. I had a not-so-ambitious new years day as well! Slept in, went out to breakfast, then eventually started cleaning up after the party. It’s necessary to have a fully relaxed day once in awhile 🙂

  8. francene Katzen says:

    Cookie! You look soooooooo gorgeous in you new top on New Years Eve!!!!  I almost did not know that pretty girl was!!! Really great blog today!!!! Hope you are having a good day. Love ya, Mom! xooxox

  9. Sounds like a fun night, I hope you got to at least have one cupcake.

  10. pickyrunner says:

    What a fun way to spend New Years! I love your outfit! All of your food looks so good, too. I am totally craving cake and ice cream right now after reading this 🙂

  11. Abby J says:

    That top is adorable! And I definitely didn’t get in a workout yesterday. All I wanted to do was sleep haha. Glad you had a fun NYE and a low key day! That’s just what you need sometimes!

  12. Love your blog! All of your eats look great- nothing beats a plate of good fruit:) Happy New Year!

  13. Carrie says:

    I had Mexican for lunch today too! Both my NYE and NYD were low-key and spent with the fam. Happy New Year!

  14. erika says:

    I love your new blog look! And I totally also had a “not so ambitious” New Years day. Talk about lounging around, eating a burrito, attempting to go the gym and failing because it was closed, and then eating chocolate. Yup, sounds about my life. Sounds like you had a fabulous New Years Eve though, yay!

Show some love

