Back on Track

Now that the holidays are over ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’m back on track with my workouts. ๐Ÿ™‚

Last night, I bared the cold to make it across the street to my apartment gym. (I’m so pathetic in the winter- I hate the cold!) I did 30 minutes on the elliptical and a circuit workout that I created in my head as I went. Check out my first workout sequence with Frosty:

Capture

 

The key to this workout for me was to up the ante. And by that, I mean up the weights. I used 15 lb weights for my bicep curls where I would usually use 12 lbs. (I’m not a doctor or trainer so definitely go at your own pace.)

After the gym, I came home, showered, unpacked/organized, and made lunch for the next day. I had a giant handful of peanuts before my workout that made my stomach think I didn’t need a real dinner so I wasn’t even hungry after the gym. While making lunch, I snacked on some peppers and popcorn mix anyways. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Veggies from my parents

Veggies from my parents

Crack popcorn crunch from my cousin

Crack popcorn crunch from my cousin

I’m still low on groceries (with all of the travelling) and so I pulled together some turkey, cheese, avocado (so impressed at the life span of avocados!), mustard, red pepper flakes and black pepper into a corn tortilla. I don’t have any wheat wraps so I’ve been using these corn tortillas and although they aren’t bad, they don’t go very well with lunch wraps. Definitely edible but not the best. It’s funny how your taste buds adapt to eat just about anything when you are living on your own.

Don't judge a wrap by it's looks?

Don’t judge a wrap by its looks?

Following my somewhat relaxing evening, I woke up this morning and went to the gym for a 30 minute cardio sesh. I actually felt good this morning and think that I may switch back to mostly morning workouts because it really helps jump start my day.

Happy Thursday!

Question of the day: Do you ever find yourself not hungry during a traditional meal time? If so, do you eat anyways or just skip it until you are actually hungry?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Back on Track

  1. getting back into the swing of things is always rough, I have yet to go grocery shopping. need to that ! haha

  2. pickyrunner says:

    Routines are hard to adjust to but grocery shopping when you have no food is my favorite! You get to stock up on all the good stuff again! Ice cream, anyone? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I feel ya on the getting back on track after the holidays!

  4. Oh that popcorn looks yummy!! Love that workout, I will have to try it out!

  5. weighted arm circles kill me every time…love the graphic ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s hard to eat after a workout, I usually try to eat something just to keep my metabolism kicking and so I don’t eat too late at night.

  6. Abby J says:

    Sounds like a great workout! I’m glad I’m not the only one that using 12s and 15s. Same burn, less reps! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I’m amazingly bad at eating. I never eat set meals. Only pick and eat when I’m hungry. My weight has remained steady and consistent for the last 6 year at around 55KG. Although now I’m breastfeeding V man I have to remember to eat or my weight just drops off.

  8. Love that workout, and it doesn’t seem like it would take too, too long to do either. Love it!

  9. Nicole says:

    I am going to refrain from answering the question of the day! (hah!) Let’s just say I don’t do what you should do I guess ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. jumpeatrun says:

    Nice job on the workouts! I find that I’m not hungry at normal meal times pretty often, and if I’m on my own, I will just wait til I’m hungry or have a few snacks over time instead of a meal. But, if my boyfriend is home and it’s dinner, I will eat with him anyway.

  11. Katie H. says:

    Looks like a great workout!

    I always stick to mealtimes. If I’m not very hungry, I might eat something lighter. Or, if I had a late breakfast, lunch might not be until 2pm, and then I might push dinner back as well. But I always eat my three meals a day.

  12. Carrie says:

    I’m getting back into the swing of things here, too. Even if I’m not hungry during mealtimes, I’ll either force myself to eat something (if it’s been four hours since my last meal), or I’ll snack on things like carrots, peppers, and almonds. Sometimes, I realize I’m hungry once I start eating; so strange!

  13. […] ideas even after our little guy arrives because they are so easy and they will help me to getย back on track! I love the fact that I am able to get in a โ€œworkoutโ€ without technically setting time aside to […]

Show some love

