Sicker in the Winter?

I woke up this morning with a strong and tickle-like cough. This cough has actually been around for a few days but I really felt it this morning. I also have a slight headache so I drank some tea with honey for breakfast.

Chai tea make me feel better

Chai tea make me feel better

Then I tried a few yoga poses to try and clear out my groggy head and irritating cough.

Is it working?

Is it working?

Too lethargic so I'll do my favorite move, child's pose

Too lethargic so I’ll do my favorite move, child’s pose

Is anyone else feeling icky during this winter season? Maybe I have a food allergy or something

Pizza for dinner last night!

Pizza for dinner last night!

Lee was in town so we decided to get pizza and a movie. I love ordering a pizza every once in a while, especially when I don’t have anything to cook and prefer a night of relaxing. πŸ™‚ And hey, the only clean up is putting two plates in the Β dishwasher. Not too bad.

I do wonder how they can sell this much food for $10 :/

I do wonder how they can sell this much food for $10 :/

We used a coupon for Domino’s Pizza, which included a medium cheese pizza, parmesan bread bites, and cinnamon sticks (the best part, of course!).

My weakness :)

My weakness πŸ™‚

It was all very tasty. In fact, I woke up this morning with zero appetite. I think 3 slices of pizza, bread bites, and cinnamon sticks may have something to do with it! We had a nice evening and it’s always nice to indulge every once in a while.

Have a fabulous Friday! πŸ˜€

Question of the day: Do you have any coughing/sick remedies? Also, have you ever been sick and found out it was because of a food allergy?

Tagged , , , , , ,

28 thoughts on “Sicker in the Winter?

  1. If my throat hurts, I usually pop cough drops like it’s my job. For colds, I LOVE Nyquil. I take some of that, and I am out! I usually take some time off from the gym too because I think a lot of the times that where I pick things up…too many people don’t wipe down machines and leave me with their germs, yuck!

  2. Everytime I eat one of the amazing sweet and salty peanut butter bars I almost die from stomach cramps. You would think it would stop me from eating them….NOPE! I’m a slow learner. Feel better girl! Keep drinking that tea!

  3. oh no, I hope you feel better soon. rest up and lots of liquids (I sound like my mom…)

  4. CultFit says:

    Chai tea in the morning is heaven with the addition of honey. I hope you start to feel better, take care this weekend!

  5. omg I am DEAD over that coffee cup. LOVE IT!

  6. I’m always baffled by how cheap pizza is–but I won’t complain when I pick up the phone for some Papa John’s ;D I agree, it’s an awesome once in a while treat when you just don’t want to cook, do dishes, or really think about anything that has to do with the kitchen. Plus, delicious.

    I hope you feel better soon! I usually get hit with some sort of bug once or twice a winter, it just seems unavoidable. Unless they’ll let me stop coming to work, where everyone brings their germs and wipes ’em on everything…

  7. I don’t know if I have a food allergy, but I always get itchy throat after eating domino’s or pizza hut. Not with other pizzas though! Idk why. And try taking an Airborne, it’ll help. Or Cold-eeze

  8. pickyrunner says:

    Oh no!! I hope you feel better soon! It seems like everyone is sick these days. But that pizza… ahhh I’ve been craving it so badly. I might have to get some tonight just to satisfy the hangry monster that is my stomach.

  9. Kerry says:

    I always go for tea and broth-based soups! I love pizza nights, too!

  10. katiemoves says:

    I like warm hot tea when I’m sick, helps
    Clear up the sinuses for sure! Also boiling water and breathing in the steam helps! Feel better soon!

  11. I woke up yesterday completely sick. Fever, aches, cough…I couldn’t even get out of bed. Boo to the sick season! Thankfully today I feel much better πŸ™‚

  12. Carrie says:

    Ugh, I’m feeling under the weather too. Several of my family members were sick during the holidays, and I think I’m trying to catch the cold. 😦 Just chugged a glass of water/Airborne, and I know I’ll be drinking a lot of tea today as well. Hope you feel better!

  13. Sorry you are feeling sick love! Hope you feel better. Get rest and enjoy the wknd!!

  14. jumpeatrun says:

    Oh no! It seems like a lot of people are getting sick right now. I rarely get sick, but if I do it tends to be when I am run down and not getting enough rest. Feel better!

  15. No advice on the cough sorry!
    But why on earth are you using plates to eat pizza!.. Straight out the box girlfriend πŸ˜‰ !

  16. Jessalyn says:

    Drink lots of water. And, it sounds weird (and tastes strong) but mix this up and gulp down 1 tablespoon: 1/4 t. ground ginger, 1/4 t. cayenne pepper, 1 T. apple cider vinegar, 1 T. honey, 2 T. water. Better to do that elixir sooner rather than later, but wow it will open you up and help suppress/soothe cough.
    Next you and Lee will have to try making your own pizza!

    • Thanks for the tip! And yes, that’s a great idea. I wonder if he would be interested in cauliflower pizza crust. Have you made one before? Lee actually just said we should cook again the next time we see each other. I’m always happy to do that! πŸ™‚

  17. cfanningtx says:

    A sinus rinse might help :/ Feel better soon

  18. Lessons Life Teaches Me says:

    I have never been sick from a food allergy, but I have been sick from environmental allergies. No cats and dogs for me because I will end up with bronchitis and pneumonia twice a year. Totally bummer. =( Hope you feel better.

  19. I looooove those cinnamon sticks. I honestly just love Domino’s in general. I haven’t had it in such a long time, though. Pizza is my ultimate favorite food to indudge in. I may just have to have some soon.

    P.S. Hope you feel better!

  20. Abby J says:

    Yum! Those cinnamon sticks look awesome! Totally worth it to indulge every once in awhile. Sorry about your cold, feel better girlie! Glad you had a fun night!!

  21. As old school as it sounds, I usually just load up on Vitamin C and try to get lots of rest! Side note-that pizza looks amazing πŸ™‚

  22. kwarren1970 says:

    If you have seasonal allergies, try local honey in your tea. This will help you build immunity to some of the local allergens. Also, I absolutely love the Neti pot. You can get one at Walgreens. Drink lots of water. Try Benadryl and cough drops. I also love the Eucalyptus steam room at my gym, but you can create one in your shower. Amazon has a kit.

  23. Bezzymates says:

    At the first onset of a cold, take zinc and garlic supplements and drink plenty of water. Of course rest is also imperative.

  24. Kailey says:

    Hope you start to feel better asap! My mom and sister are both sick so maybe there is a bug going around πŸ˜‰

  25. Fitcupcaker says:

    aw. I usually drink hot tea with lemon and honey, and Vit C!!

  26. isowhey ian says:

    Hi Cookie Dough! – I reckon the best remedy for when you first feel a cold coming on is Olive Leaf extract, it has loads of healing properties and works everytime for me – always dose up for a first couple of days! πŸ™‚

Show some love

