A New Kind of Salad Dressing

Happy Friday friends! I’m feeling pretty warm and satisfied after eating a bowl of hot oatmeal for breakfast. It really fills me up and makes me feel like I’m doing something right to be healthy!

Bowl o' oats

Bowl o’ oats

You can see my brown sugar sparkling on top. I added a little cinnamon and a drop of vanilla extract. Yum!

I’m also excited about a new “salad dressing” I discovered last night while in a hurry to grab a quick dinner. Enter in: mango salsa. It sounded a little strange at first but it was so good. I like homemade dressings but I didn’t have time to whip one up and my store bought dressings just don’t cut it for me anymore. (Anyone else dislike store bought dressings? Maybe I haven’t found the right kind yet.) So, I topped my greens and cucumbers with the salsa and a little shredded cheese.

And wala a salad is born!

And a salad is born!

After eating my salad standing up (oh no she didn’t!) I left for my Junior League meeting where we made blankets for the Ronald McDonald House. We just took to large cloth blankets back-to-back, cut all around the edges and tied the ends together. These blankets would definitely make great gift ideas for the crafter in you! 😉 While chatting and crafting, I enjoyed some of the desserts on the table like white chocolate peppermint pretzels and chocolate drizzle popcorn. Yum!

With all of this food talk, I must say I’m very excited to start working out again. I’m finally starting to get rid of this lingering cough so hopefully I’ll be back at it in the gym on Sunday! Getting sick really makes you appreciate your health and being able to workout. I’ve noticed that I have a little restless energy at night because my body hasn’t used up energy in the gym. It’s a strange feeling, to say the least!

Have a fabulous weekend!

Tagged , , , , , ,

25 thoughts on “A New Kind of Salad Dressing

  1. Your salad dressing idea sounds super yummy!
    I’m glad you’re starting to feel better. I was sick earlier this week and I missed the gym/working out terribly. I’m so glad to be back at it!

  2. Kerry says:

    Sounds like a great salad! I definitely do not like store bought dressings. I always make my own!

  3. deniliese says:

    I do the same thing with salsa! My Uncle makes mango, pineapple, peach, basically anything like that. I use it chunky but I’m sure if you puree it, it would be just like a salad dressing.

  4. I usually am not a fan of store bought dressings but I actually really like most of Newman’s Own!

  5. Nicole says:

    Alex, I love marzetti dressings although they are a little bit more expensive (they are in with salad packages etc). Also, another favorite dressing of mine is the kind you get at a japanese steakhouse…yummy! Love the mango salsa idea though 🙂

  6. pickyrunner says:

    I’ve made those blankets before! I’m not crafty at all but they’re super easy and fun to make 🙂
    I’m glad you’re feeling better- hope you have a great weekend!

  7. I am allergic to a lot of dressings because of the gluten content so I tend to make my own all the time, i am a big fan though of putting hummus or even salsa as a dressing on it

  8. mmm mango salsa sounds yuuumy! Love the weekend face 🙂

  9. I love topping my salads with salsa! I totally have mango salsa sitting in my pantry that I haven’t tried yet too. I’ll have to get on that. Oh and I totally hate store bought dressing too. I always just use salsa or guacamole or hummus.

  10. Mango salsa sounds fantastic right about now! Currently sitting at my desk chomping at the bit to head out for a lunch break! And that’s awesome that you’re involved with volunteer work, way to go chica!

  11. CultFit says:

    Happy Friday and Mango Salsa Rocks! Take care this weekend. 🙂

  12. katiemoves says:

    I love mango salsa! Sound great on a salad.. Yum! Have a great weekend!

  13. Katie H. says:

    Mmm, sounds good to me! I’m lame and just use Kraft Catalina!

  14. Carrie says:

    During college, I used to top my salads wit hummus. I didn’t like any of the dressings available, and the hummus tasted super thick and creamy and even packed a little protein. Happy Friday! 🙂

  15. I love salsa with salads! And second the above recommendation of hummus as a “salad dressing.” No need for the bottled stuff when there are such tasty options that really add to the health, fullness, content, etc. of the salad too.

  16. veggiedancer says:

    Mango salsa sounds like a fantastic salad dressing! I don’t really like store-bought dressings either–but I haven’t tried very many varieties. Some of my favorite “dressings” are salsa, hummus, mustard, and guacamole.

  17. bezzymates says:

    Mango salad salsa! Sounds great. Yes, we do appreciate being healthy when bed- ridden. At least you gave your body time to rest and recover.

  18. Anne says:

    Salsa is hands down my favorite salad dressing! I am much happier using salsa, hummus, balsamic, or some sort of mustard/vinegar mixture than a normal dressing.

  19. I’m a huge fan of Ronald McDonald house and the families they support! I’d like to get into making some of my own salad dressings. I have some fun flavored vinegars and just forget how easy it is to whip up a dressing. Happy weekend!

  20. Brittany says:

    I love putting salsa on literally everything. Mango would be good with the sweetness!! YUM!

  21. I nominated you for the Liebster Blog Nomination! http://eatingrunningsmiling.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/liebster-blog-nomination-d/
    Love your blog! Keep up the great work 🙂

  22. Abby says:

    Oh finding a good salad dressing is such a struggle for me (first world probs much?) I’ve come across yummy peanut salad dressing but can never find anything that I reallly like. It’s either too creamy or too spicy. Sounds like a fun night with yummy food! I’m the same way in that oats just feel so clean!

  23. […] used my salsa salad dressing trick over a bed of butter leaves, grape tomatoes, goat cheese, and […]

Show some love

