Banana Pancakes

Jack Johnson’s banana pancakes song has taken on a whole new meaning for me this morning! After seeing the 2 ingredient pancake recipe on several different blogs, I decided to give the recipe a try. (Also, I’m low on groceries so I packed a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch, which I’m very excited about but I didn’t want something carb-packed for breakfast too, like oatmeal. My Mom and I both agree that too many carbs makes us feel too full.)

Quite a fancy lunch box, eh? ;)

Quite a fancy lunch box, eh? 😉

Snacks and lunch in the box: pbj sandwich, an orange, veggies and dip, and a Ghiradelli bark square

Snacks and lunch in the box: pbj sandwich, an orange, veggies and dip, and a Ghiradelli bark square

Anyways, back to the pancakes.

I was so excited about making these guys. I mixed a banana that I had in the freezer with 1 whole egg and some egg whites. For some extra flavor, I sprinkled in the whole bottle a good amount of cinnamon, a touch of vanilla extract, and some flax seed. I adapted this combination from this recipe.

Banana pancakes!

Banana pancakes!

I blended this all together in our food processor and I was definitely skeptical after seeing how liquid-y the batter was but they turned out really well! Edible too! Of course, I added a little unhealthy syrup to my cakes and they were so good. I think having these pancakes on the brain helped get me up this morning and complete a yoga class On Demand. Whatever works!

And breakfast is served

And breakfast is served

Last night, I completed an extra-long cardio sequence on the elliptical and was feeling great.

The mojo behind the motivation

The mojo behind the motivation

A new magazine always gets me going in the gym.

I usually don’t like to do the same cardio two days in a row but my legs were too sore for the bike and my apartment gym is very limited in equipment. (Is it weird to say I miss the stair master?) After cardio, I did some abs and stretching and called it a night.

These never get old

These never get old (Source)

I also made sure to eat dinner before going to the gym since I seem to lose my appetite after I work out. This worked well for me because I was actually hungry when I got home from work and I had time to let my food digest and hit the gym around 7:00pm. Perfecto!

Leftovers...I really am getting low on groceries

Leftovers for dinner…I really am getting low on groceries

Happy hump day!

Question: Have you tried these 2-ingredient banana pancakes? What’d ya think?

I actually don’t like bananas (I know, very strange). I never really have but their flavor was somewhat masked in these cakes so it was a perfect way to load up on the potassium I miss out on and feel like I’m eating a tasty treat!

Side note: Blog Lovin’ is a great site to keep up with different hosted blogs. Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Tagged , , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “Banana Pancakes

  1. I honestly have not tried the 2 ingredient pancakes yet but it is definitely on my to-do list.
    Btw love the lunch bag… it’s one of my ultimate favorite stores 🙂

  2. I have not tried the 2 ingredient pancakes, but they look great!

    I love taking my new magazines to the gym, it is such motivation to workout knowing that I get to read the new issue of Glamour or Self 🙂

  3. haha I love that you put ur lunch in a VS bag. I love alternative recipes for pancakes! I make these greek yogurt ones that are deelish. http://rabbitfoodformybunnyteeth.com/my-big-nonfat-greek-yogurt-recipes/

  4. gosh I am amazed you work out so late, blows my mind! dinner looks delicious

  5. I used a Vickys bag for my lunch for a good year before my mom felt bad for me and got me a real lunchbox….they are the best though! I’m pancake obsessed so I’m going to have to try these babies out.

  6. Kerry says:

    I love the 2-ingredient banana pancake! Haven’t had it in a while, though!

  7. pickyrunner says:

    I can’t work out at night haha I get so tired. It’s going to kill me hitting the treadmill at 3 this afternoon. I would rather get it over with. I’ve never tried those pancakes although I see them everywhere. I don’t really like bananas so I’m not sure I’d like them. It’s worth a try though!

    • I definitely wish morning workouts were easier for me! Also I don’t like bananas either- I thought I was one of the only ones. I like that you can’t really taste them in these cakes. Next time I want to try adding pumpkin!

  8. Runner Girl Eats says:

    I love the 2 ingredient pancakes! It’s one of my go-to breakfasts.

  9. 1) I LOVE your “lunch box” 2) I LOVE LOVE LOVE Banana Pancakes by Jack Johnson (and the two-ingredient ones too haha). Try them with peanut butter or almond butter, it’s life changing!

  10. Abby says:

    I’ve never even heard of these! That’s awesome! I’m loving your lunch bag though haha gotta love a new magazine too!!

  11. deniliese says:

    I love that song! These might be my quick dinner tonight, I won’t even lie about it!

  12. I have yet to try the 2-ingredient pancakes but have been on a serious pancake kick for the past few months 😛 They’re a sweet way to start [or end] the day!

  13. Ah ha ha ha ha ha! Panties for lunch!! Sounds utterly scrumptious! LOL… In all seriousness though, those cakes look BOMB! 🙂 I make “cakes” with butternut squash!! So yum!

  14. Hello! I’ve never tried the 2 ingredient pancakes, mostly because I tend to eat my bananas before I remember to use them in something..:)
    LOVE your lunch ‘box’ for the day 😉

  15. Run Eat Play says:

    Two ingredient pancakes sound so easy! Too bad I don’t like bananas 😦

  16. Packing your lunch in a Victoria’s secret bag = best idea ever! I’ve never tried the two ingredient pancake, but it’s been on my mind as something to try at least once. I don’t crave pancakes all that often lately (weird I know) so when I do, I usually make a batch of good old fashioned regular pancakes 🙂

  17. OK. Now I want a pancake.

  18. I have tried those pancakes once and mine came out kind of mushy! I wasn’t really fond of the texture, but I haven’t given up on them yet!

  19. Nicole says:

    I love, love, love banana pancakes!! 🙂

  20. Carrie says:

    Love two-ingredient pancakes! They usually end up being five- or six-ingredient ones, though, once you count the cinnamon, chia seeds, vanilla extract, etc. 🙂

  21. I adore that song!:) Happy WIAW!

  22. jumpeatrun says:

    these sound delicious! I think I’ll do breakfast for dinner one night this week 🙂

  23. LOVE Jack Johnson! && I also love that your lunch box was a vs bag. Ha Ha =)

  24. cfanningtx says:

    Every time we here Banana Pancakes my kids ask me to make pancakes. Lol I love when a new magazine come in the mail. Makes me want to get on treadmill just to read 🙂

  25. I just tried the 2 ingredient pancakes. I couldn’t flip them so they looked pretty bad but I enjoyed teh taste for sure. I make another batch with almond flour that are amazing!

  26. […] On a side note, guess who got a new lunch box? […]

  27. […] morning I decided to try the grain-free pancakes again. I added 1/4 cup of pumpkin puree this time using this recipe, hoping to fluff the cakes up a […]

Show some love

