Breakfast First?

Good morning and happy marvelous Monday. My alarm went off at 6:15 this morning and after 30 minutes; I managed to make it over to the gym. I completed a light workout but at least I made it. Afterwards, I enjoyed a hot bowl of oats.

Almond butter, brown sugar, cinnamon perfection

Almond butter, brown sugar, cinnamon perfection

On the mornings that I make it to the gym, I always do a lot of thinking. This morning was no different and I chose to concentrate on the fact that waking up in the morning kind of sucks. Why is it so difficult for some of us while others have no problem and in fact enjoy the morning? So, I tried to break down what I dislike most about the morning. The thing is, after my workouts, I really love being up early with some quiet time. What I don’t love is the initial wake up period.

For years, I would always have to eat something the second I woke up. Now that I aim for AM workouts, I have to push my eating back to after my workout. I do actually enjoy my food more this way but the initial shock of waking up, brushing my teeth, and washing my face with an empty belly is anything but pleasant. I think that in time, I’ll start to get used to this and it will become easier. Here’s hoping!

Here’s a little weekend recap in pictures:

Delicious lasagana (and salad, unpictured) for dinner at Lee's parents

Delicious lasagana (and salad, unpictured) for dinner at Lee’s parents

Lunch at Catalanos Saturday afternoon

Lunch at Catalanos Saturday afternoon

Lee enjoying a lemon paestry from the Farmer's Market

Lee enjoying a lemon pastry from the Farmer’s Market

Just an Instagram selfie #woot

Just an Instagram selfie #woot

My dessert- chocolate pound cake from Lee's Mom :)

My dessert- chocolate pound cake from Lee’s Mom 🙂

Shh don't tell lee but I'm going to win in Rummy!

Shh don’t tell lee but I’m going to win in Rummy!

Cooking time!

Cooking time!

Our meal taken from this recipe

Our meal using this recipe (Thanks Pinterest!)

The best part

The best part

Dessert! 1 cookie was eaten in the dough stage

Dessert! 1 cookie was eaten in the dough stage 😉

Coo coo for cookies

Coo coo for cookies

New prof blog pic?

New prof blog banner pic?

Sunday brunch at Market at Main

Sunday brunch at Market at Main

Another cookie for an afternoon treat

Another cookie for an afternoon treat

What a cookie filled weekend! Thank goodness there were many workouts included in the weekend.

Question of the day: Do you eat breakfast right when you wake up or do you wait a little while/after working out?

Tagged , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “Breakfast First?

  1. Michael Katzen says:

    A fun post that made me laugh. Nice pics, as well.

    Michael A. Katzen

    Katzen & Frye, P.C.

    7272 Hanover Green Drive

    Mechanicsville, VA 23111

    804 746-3296 (office)

    804 730-8739 (fax)

    This communication is confidential and is protected pursuant to the attorney-client privilege and the work-product doctrine. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, or the employee or agent responsible to deliver it to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please immediately notify the sender at 804-746-3296 by telephone and delete this email.

    ________________________________

  2. It looks like you had a great weekend 🙂 And everything you ate looks delicious!! I usually wait for breakfast until after I have worked out, but every once in a while will have the early cereal or toast.

  3. jumpeatrun says:

    Those cookies look soooo good! And, rummy is my all time favorite card game 🙂

  4. The ONLY reason I emerge from bed is to eat. If I worked out in the morning, I wouldn’t eat until after I was done, but unfortunately I have to get my workouts in in the afternoon.

  5. Drooling over those cookies. Sorry your morning was rough!

  6. Looks like a great weekend of yummy eats!

  7. Yum! That looks like my breakfast this morning:)

  8. sometimes you just have to think, am I going to get a better workout in the morning or night? I mean I know some people that just can’t do the morning so the night works for them. Whatever floats your boat!

  9. Kerry says:

    All of your eats look so so good! I usually have to eat as soon as I wake up or I can become rather cranky 🙂 That is unless I make it to the gym by 6am.

  10. It’s usually so hard for me to workout in the morning. Normally I do it after class/work around 4ish or after dinner around 730/8. I really wish I was a morning person in the sense of waking up and being ready to go but I need to slowly get to that right frame of mind. I usually get dressed, do my hair and makeup and then eat breakfast!

  11. That looks quite delicious!

  12. Runner Girl Eats says:

    I wait until after working out to eat breakfast but sometimes will scarf down a banana if I’m starving. Those cookies have me drooling right now btw.

  13. Brittany says:

    I alway have to eat SOMETHING before I workout, even if it’s small. I don’t like the initial waking up either, but do love being up early!! WOW to those cookies, perfect chocolate to dough ratio!!

  14. “after my workouts, I really love being up early with some quiet time. What I don’t love is the initial wake up period”
    ^I couldn’t have said it better myself girl! We are one in the same when it comes to that! 🙂

  15. Carrie says:

    I always workout in the morning, so before I head to the gym, I’ll eat half of a granola bar and drink a cup of coffee (chased with plenty of water, of course!). I can’t exercise on an empty stomach, so a bar is perfect.

  16. deniliese says:

    I love your pictures! and thanks for posting that asparagus link, it’s my absolute favorite veggie! When I eat breakfast it’s normally coffee and fruit. I like working out on an empty stomach

  17. Natalie says:

    Great eats! I like EVERYTHING, especially the lasagna, my fave!

  18. Cookie-filled weekends are only bested by cake-filled weekends!

  19. katiemoves says:

    Sometimes I work out before 6am and I definitely eat after. I can’t eat super early in the morning, my stomach actually gets nauseas before then! ps, i can’t control myself around cookie dough. it almost ALWAYS gets eaten in that stage haha

  20. erika says:

    Woo! I love reading about your healthy, healthy life + cookies. Most days, I don’t feel like eating breakfast right when I wake up but I do it as late as I can before leaving the house because I feel weird eating breakfast at work. My little detox plan has me on a schedule where I drink lemon water when I wake up, then I drink my smoothie about an hour later. The timing is perfect in terms of when my stomach gets empty, but I’d rather chew on something! Ah well…only 5 more days of smoothie breakfasts!

Show some love

