Peanut Butter Lover

I’ve been on a major oatmeal for breakfast kick for a couple weeks. Something about the cold weather makes a warm bowl of oats a pleasant way to wake up.

Just kidding- my food only dreams of being so pretty!

The reality

The reality

Oh well, at least they taste good! Check out the pretty oatmeal link for tons of great oatmeal recipes. My go-to is oats with crunchy peanut butter and brown sugar. I’m slowly trying to add less brown sugar but it just tastes so good!

A cookie dough girl finds a new affinity

A cookie dough girl finds a new affinity

My oats were enjoyed post workout. I was greeted with an inch of snow this morning on my way out to the gym.

So dark, so cold!

So dark, so cold!

I did 25 minutes of light incline walking on the treadmill followed by 10 minutes of higher intensity cardio on the elliptical. Then I finished up with bicep curls, jumping jacks, and crunches. It was nice to check off my workout so early in the morning before the sun came up.

Leaving the gym in the light

Leaving the gym in the light (physically and mentally!)

Happy National Peanut Butter Day! Check out Julie’s blog for some good recipes with peanut butter. I think I’ll go celebrate with a spoonful of the good stuff. πŸ™‚

Do you like peanut and nut butters? What’s your favorite kind? If you aren’t a PB fan, what other spreads do you prefer?

Tagged , , , , ,

29 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Lover

  1. I love Nutter Butters, I love peanut butter, and I basically love every other nut spread at well. Peanut butter makes everything better! πŸ™‚

  2. I love peanut butter! I haven’t gotten into almond butter because it’s really not in my budget right now. PB&Co has some amazing flavors like dark chocolate and cinnamon raisin swirl I love too!
    Yay for you doing an early morning workout!

  3. we got a little snow dusting too here, so beautiful!

  4. I lovee PB, I tried to love Almond butter but it didn’t work 😦 It looks cold where you are too! It is SO much harder to workout when there’s snow on the ground. I like to go on the treadmill but never do an incline, what incline do you do?!

  5. Abby says:

    Oh, I just love getting my workout in first thing. Your oats still look yummy!! My pictures suck too though… haha whatever.
    I am so happy to read that today is National PB Day!!! I thought for a second that I had missed it, since I’ve been bad at blog reading lately. Oh, this is just such a day maker! It’s the little things today, I guess.. πŸ˜‰
    Have a great day, Alex!

  6. Katie H. says:

    I love PB! I eat a lot of PB2, but just recently have become a huge almond butter fan. Ohmygosh, it’s SOOOO good–and more filling, in my opinion!

  7. My food always looks disgusting….. But that’s not what matters is it!

  8. Carrie says:

    I’m doing a little PB baking right now–peanut butter banana bread is in the oven!

  9. Cindy says:

    National Peanut Butter day?! Didn’t know there was a such a day. Haha Well, regardless I love peanut butter. I actually am obsessed with this peanut butter frosting and am dying to make some cupcakes to justify having the frosting πŸ™‚

  10. yay for oats and early workouts. I’m still jealous you get to go to the gym so early 😦 I’m stuck with the annoying after work crowd

  11. Runner Girl Eats says:

    I love all of the peanut butter co flavors. We have the dark chocolate dreams right now and it’s amazing!

  12. I always put a little brown sugar in my oats too. Even a little bit makes a huge difference if you ask me. Sweetened naturally with banana? Not buying it. I love the banana flavor yes but I need sugar too! Always amazes me when people can workout in the morning, great job!

  13. Do I LIKE peanut butter?? Oh, no…I do not like it. I LOVE peanut butter. It is one of my favorite foods, and I think it pairs nicely with just about everything! I also really enjoy almond butter. I was not a big fan at first, but I have found that it is an acquired taste and I now crave it…not as much as PB though!

  14. I’m never super into oats in the summer, but I am so digging them with the cold weather!

  15. Love the idea of PB with oatmeal. Haven’t tried this before, but I definitely will. I am jealous of your early morning gym work out. I usually can’t make it there until 9:00am. One of the perks from working at home!

  16. It’s national peanut butter day?? Okay, that’s pretty awesome, because I was already planning on making Thai stir-fry with a peanut sauce for dinner. Apparently, I just knew–My peanut sense was tingling! And oh man, I have no idea how people get such pretty oatmeal! Mine just looks like a bowl of, well, oatmeal, every time! Off white and lumpy with various messy toppings. Delicious, don’t get me wrong, but nothing worth bragging about in the looks department!

  17. Peanut butter is pretty fantastic. I have also been in an oatmeal mood recently too. I’ve been using steel cut oats with cinnamon, flax, and strawberries. This morning I added a little PB2, sounds like we were breakfast twins! I’m liking almond butter too πŸ™‚

  18. deniliese says:

    Extra crunchy peanut butter all the way. When I was little, my go to after school snack was a heaping spoonful of it.

  19. i don’t think there’s a nut-butter that I don’t like! Haha I love peanut and almond butter… and does nutella count? πŸ™‚

  20. I can’t believe all that snow!

    I love all PB. All nut butter. My fav right now is Nuttzo – it’s a mix. Sooooo good!

  21. bezzymates says:

    Thank God for a hot bowl of oats on a cold, wintry morning.

  22. jumpeatrun says:

    I love nut butters! I also get on major oatmeal kicks in the Winter….I tend to go yogurt in the warmer months.

  23. Anne says:

    I’m not fancy schmancy with my nut butters, plain old natural Whole Foods creamy pb is my fav.
    A bonus, a giant tub is cheaper than the partially hydrogenated icky processed kids at Walmart!

  24. I love oatmeal! I have it almost every day for breakfast, because it’s one food that can keep me full for hours! Sometimes I add brown sugar or Truvia, an all natural sweetener.

    I’m allergic to peanut butter, but I do love I.M. Healthy Soy Nut Butter.

  25. paprik4te says:

    I honestly lol’d at the beginning of your post. So funny, so true!

    My college makes its own peanut butter for the cafeteria, and it is AMAZING. I’ve seen the food processor filled with the peanuts, and I’ve always been curious what it is about them that makes the peanut butter so darn good!

    Props to you for starting your day off with a workout – I always wish I could get it done in the mornings (the gym is so much quieter) but I normally don’t end up getting there until the afternoon. My sleep is too important to me! x

  26. Brittany says:

    Early morning workouts are tough to get to, but give me such an accomplished feeling!! Great job. I didn’t even realize it was PB day, and I had already eaten nearly half a jar of PB.

  27. Kaitlin says:

    I go in and out of favor with PB. Sometimes I’m jiffy/skippy/natural. I’ve gone to PB2, sunflower seed butter, nutella, nothing, nut butter of my own. πŸ™‚ On banana, oats, just with a spoon?

  28. Francene Katzen says:

    Love your workout jacket! Great color for you!

  29. […] milk, vanilla extract, cinnamon, and honey. A few months ago, I never would have been able to eatΒ oats without brown sugar. Slowly, I started adding less and less sugar and I’ve found that I actually enjoy the simple […]

Show some love

