Enjoying the Day

Who’s excited it’s Friday? Me! It’s restaurant week in the city I live in and so I’ll be sampling some delicious foods at some local restaurants. Speaking of fancy food, πŸ˜‰ I whipped up a salad last night for dinner that was full of flavor.

Colorful food is good food

Colorful food is good food

I used my salsa salad dressing trickΒ over a bed of butter leaves, grape tomatoes, goat cheese, and beats.

A close up

A close up

My evening started off so healthy but we had some friends over and a little bit of this went down.

vino

vino

In the past, especially in college, I would sometimes skip out on social events because I didn’t want all of the alcohol calories. I went a little to the extreme and often missed out on some fun times because I was more worried about maintaing my weight. Well I’ve finally found a balance of being social and not worrying about a few caloric drinks because as long as it’s not happening all the time, I can indulge every once in a while. Moderation is my friend. πŸ˜€

No calorie woes ova' here

No calorie woes ova’ here

amigas

Girlies

Have a great weekend everyone!

Tagged , , , ,

25 thoughts on “Enjoying the Day

  1. Have fun with restaurant week! And, such cute pictures πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!!

  2. Gosh sounds like an amazing week ahead, enjoy your friday!

  3. Carrie says:

    I hear you on the alcohol calories. During my senior year, I never went “nuts” per se because I hated feeling like junk the next day, and plus, I didn’t want to drink all of those empty calories. Moderation is key, though–don’t want to miss out on the fun! πŸ˜‰

  4. Brittany says:

    I can 175% relate to you about the alcohol calories. Unfortunately I still have a trouble justifying the alcohol for calories and just for the fact that it’s alcohol. I drank A LOT in my younger days and it just doesn’t sound good to me anymore. I would rather eat 4 cookies. I think my logic is twisted..owell haha. That salad looks great!

  5. Taste testing at restaurants sounds amazing! Have sooo much fun!!

  6. I’m totally eating a salad with salsa on it as I type this πŸ˜‰

  7. Katie H. says:

    I drink my fair share of calories at social gatherings sometimes! Although I stick to wine, light beer, or zero-calorie mixers.

  8. deniliese says:

    I used to do the same thing with alcohol…especially when I was underage and beer was the only thing we could really get :X Diet and Jack is my go to now though!

  9. pickyrunner says:

    Aww you’re going to have such a fantastic weekend!!!! I hope it’s as amazing as it sounds πŸ™‚

  10. I went through a worrying about the calories phase too, so happy I’m not in that place anymore! A night out with friends and a few drinks definitely won’t hurt you. πŸ™‚

  11. I am currently struggling with this. Part of me is like ‘just have a drink!’ And part of me
    Just doesn’t see th point.

  12. kelseyruns says:

    Have fun with restaurant week! Sounds like a delicious blast! Happy Friday! πŸ™‚

  13. Abby says:

    Oh, I can so relate to the temptation to skip events to miss out on the cals. It’s great that you’ve found a balance! Your food looks lovely!

  14. francene Katzen says:

    I love that you and  Moderation are best friends now! Keep that in mind and you will be just fine. Its soooo great to see you & Sara back in pics together and Colleen & Jena-its just that you & Sara look so damm pretty!!!!!xoxoxoxox

  15. Great pics! Some of that vino will be “going down” for me tonight, hehe πŸ™‚

  16. Cindy says:

    Hooray for Friday!! Restaurant week sounds fun. Can’t wait to see the yummy foods you find. πŸ˜€

  17. paprik4te says:

    Those pictures are so cute!
    Props to you for learning on how to use moderation with drinking.. definitely something most college kids (myself included) should work on!

  18. Runner Girl Eats says:

    I avoid alcohol calories too but every once in awhile they are just too good to pass up πŸ™‚

  19. jumpeatrun says:

    I try to avoid the alcohol calories during the week, but all bets are off on the weekend πŸ™‚ Salad looks scrumptious!

  20. Happy food sampling!! Enjoy! πŸ™‚

  21. Hooray for Friday! πŸ™‚ That salad looks delicious!

    It sounds like your weekend is going to be filled with good eats! Enjoy!

  22. I totally appreciate your mention of being afraid of alcoholic calories. I sometimes feel guilty or avoid going to certain social events simply due to the alcohol. Or, I sometimes skip out on a beer (even though I am craving it) when I go out for dinner. You are so right, though, that moderation is absolutely key and a couple of drinks now and then is not going to make one bit of a difference. Thanks for the reminder :).

  23. That sounds like so much fun! I hope that you had a great time!

  24. That salad sounds incredible! LOVE beets:)

  25. I totally agree, moderation is key! I remember having those challenges in college too. Glad we can figure it out haha

Show some love

