Inspired by Pancakes

This morning I decided to try the grain-free pancakes again. I added 1/4 cup of pumpkin puree this time using this recipe, hoping to fluff the cakes up a bit. No bananas were called for in this recipe but I added a half of one to add some potassium.

20130205-082216.jpg

I like these pancakes but I still need to play around with the ingredient ratios. Also, I think almond flour would be a good thing to add in to give the cakes a more carby flavor.

20130205-082223.jpg

Most decadent looking pancakes of the year award?

I really like these pancakes although they definitely have an acquired taste.

20130205-082246.jpgI’ve always liked eating pancakes with my hands.

20130205-082251.jpg

peanut butter makes everything better!

20130205-082256.jpg

Pancake PB sandwich

I only used half the batter so I’ll probably make some of these again for breakfast tomorrow. I actually started thinking and getting excited about these cakes early this morning while I was exercising on the bike. Sometimes if I need a little inspiration to get through a workout, I’ll whip out my phone and get on Pinterest. It’s great for when I want a new weight workout too or just need to be reminded why I’m in the gym and not sleeping. 🙂

Here’s a post that my Dad recently sent me full of mobile apps that help keep you fit.

What inspires you through workouts? Do you use any fitness apps or other exercise tracking tools?

Tagged , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “Inspired by Pancakes

  1. Haha that’s hilarious! I eat pancakes with my hands, too!

    My workout inspiration comes from putting my goals out there on my blog. I do a recap every Monday of how I did the past week + goals for the new week. I try to take pictures during runs, yoga class, etc. to keep it fun.

  2. Amanda says:

    Pancakes and peanut butter taste sooo good. I always get weird looks when I eat it, but whatever.

    My workout inspiration comes from blogs, mostly. I’ll stop by Pinterest if my motivation is lacking, and I’ll watch Spirit of the Marathon if I’m really not into running because that always makes me want to run forever. I also get excited about putting races on my calendar, so that keeps me going.

  3. I have to say, I eat a lot with my hands. I would say one reason is pure laziness about cleaning dishes but the other is it makes eating way more fun

  4. Natalie says:

    Interesting pancakes! I’ve never tried them grain-free!

  5. Dan and I use the pedometer on our morning runs. I think the app really helps us in training and is also great for me to set goals and to know that I accomplished them!

  6. pickyrunner says:

    I really need to make pancakes again. Maybe dinner tonight, since it is national pancake day…I’m more of a plain jane though. I don’t care if they’re not the healthiest.

  7. I have heard a lot of great things about adding bananas to pancakes. I am loving that idea!

    And you are so right….PB makes everything better! 🙂

  8. I am totally INVITING myself over for breakfast tomorrow! 😉 Um, YUM!!! My pancakes NEVER LOOK LIKE THAT – I fail as a chef for sure!!!!

  9. Kaitlin says:

    I have tried the Nike one but end up doing my own thing. I’d rather have someone holding me accountable 🙂

    “Keep Calm and Carry On”

  10. balancingonhoney says:

    Pinterest is great for last minute workout inspiration! Thanks for all the fitness apps!

  11. Holly A. says:

    Yummm – I heart pancakes. I would love them even more with peanut butter! I am also an app fanatic and will be following your link just as soon as I hit submit here 🙂

  12. katiemoves says:

    Those pancakes sound so good right now! (My lunch is so blah) I love fitness apps. Nike training club is such a good one

  13. kelseyruns says:

    If I’m on the elliptical or bike I love browsing through pinterest or reading blogs-keeps my mind distracted! I love the Nike running app for outdoor runs and the nike training app has some pretty cool 15 minute target-area specific workouts!

  14. I eat pancakes with my hands too!! Love that I’m not the only one! And I totally agree about Pinterest.. if I’m walking on the treadmill I always read blogs or browse Pinterest, it makes the workout fly by!

  15. Knowing that I took the time out of my busy day to take care of *me* and knock out a workout gets me through it every time! Those pancakes look awesome, haven’t made pancakes in ages! Maybe I will have to do a breakfast for dinner nite 🙂

  16. Cindy says:

    I like the runkeeper app. The gps is great especially for outdoor activities. I got a little lost on some trails and it helped me figure out which way to get back to my car. Lol

  17. Abby says:

    I had pancakes today, too! I’d be interested to see the recipe you used. One time I tried a recipe with oats, banana and cottage cheese. Just no. Don’t do it haha.
    The other day I was walking on the treadmill and grabbed the iPad trying to comment on blogs… also a fail haha I bet Pinterest is easier though. Have a good day, girlie!

  18. Brittany says:

    That my kind of pancake!! The more pumpkin the better! I like it when it almost feels under cooked it’s so pumpkiny haha.

  19. agirlcalledcake says:

    The grain free pancakes definitely are better with pumpkin!

  20. Pancake days are the best days!!:)

  21. I’ve seen waffle sandwiches before, but never pancake sandwiches! I think you’re on to something here, Alex!

    Quotes are definitely something that keep me motivated. I’m a fan of all of the image quotes on Pinterest, etc. One of my favorites is: “You are only one workout away from a good mood.”

  22. Though I’ve never used almond flour I always use 1/2 cup of pumpkin puree and it seems to really work well. I’d probably up the flour to 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup pumpkin and egg. That has always been a really good ratio for me no matter what flour.

  23. Carrie says:

    I always think about breakfast when my workout is coming to an end–no shame!

  24. bezzymates says:

    I think about breakfast the night before in bed. (sad, I know) Grain free pancakes. Wow. I am getting such great recipe tips from other blogs. Thanks.

  25. Why not eat it as a sandwich? Yum!

  26. I never use a fork when eating my pancakes (unless I’m in public of course, Ha) 🙂

  27. jessiebear says:

    I totally tried that pancake recipe too! Not sure if I loved it though

  28. Those pancakes look very interesting!! I’m not sure how I motivate myself during workouts- I just kind of push through it… I DO KNOW that if I were to attempt to go on pinterest to find motivation it would turn into me sitting there surfing pinterest for an hour instead of working out! 🙂

  29. I eat them with my hands to, I guess it has a lot to do with why I like pancakes.. I swear pancakes are so difficult to make when you try to come up with your own creation…

  30. If I can eat something with my hands, I will! Pancakes are definitely included–especially since I love to DUNK them–in most anything, syrup, jam, PB, you name it!

Show some love

