Homemades

So last night I got cookin’ in the kitchen. After seeing Abby’s post a few days ago about making homemade peanut butter, I decided to give it a try!

20130207-082106.jpg

Combine the peanuts in my super fancy blender and then add canola oil

20130207-082117.jpg

Can’t forget the honey

20130207-082159.jpg

One of my biggest accomplishments in life so far

It was so easy. I had extra peanuts that I wanted to use so I tried to make Lara Balls with raisins instead of dates.

20130207-082133.jpg

Little Lara Ball babies

I would definitely recommend sticking with the dates because the raisin consistency didn’t work as well. Next, I made some soup.

20130207-082233.jpg

Manischewitz – it would make a good alternative to chicken noodle soup although not the prettiest meal you can find

Finally, I decided to get my life together even more and make breakfast for the next 2 days.

20130207-082218.jpg

My prized cake

This morning’s breakfast came together so easily. Almost too easy because I ate right when I woke up and skipped working out.

20130207-082255.jpg

20130207-082248.jpg

After eating, I got back in bed (with my pillows propped up so I didn’t fall back asleep of course) and read. It was so nice. I don’t remember the last time I had a leisurely morning. I’ll have to do this more often. 😀

Have a great Thursday!

What’s your favorite thing you’ve learned or made since joining the blog world?

Tagged , , , , , ,

43 thoughts on “Homemades

  1. I am dying to make some sort of power ball that like. I need to get on it

  2. Oh that’s such a great idea! I’m a little worried I may kill my food processor with the peanuts but I hope not because I’d love to try this!

  3. Yum! You were on a roll lady!!

  4. Brittany says:

    I am dying to make my own PB! I grind my own at a health store right now and it’s JUST peanuts!! I saw a blog do that in their food processor too..with no oils! I am going to have to get a food processor so I can make that! Those Lara Balls look amazing!

  5. pickyrunner says:

    I really need to jump on the homemade pancake bandwagon. Like seriously.

  6. You are such a great chef, these goodies all look amazing! I find that so many blogs offer great recipes and workouts! 🙂

  7. Abby says:

    Yay for homemade PB! Gosh, everything looks so great! Definitely tried the raisins vs dates thing before… fail. haha way to treat yourself to a chill morning – those are the best!

  8. You have been a busy girl! 😉 I have been dying to make homemade PB and AB for months now. I keep seeing recipes all over the blogs but I guess I have been slacking and just have not gotten to it. I need to add that to my list of things to make ASAP!

  9. Cindy says:

    Homemade PB is amazing. I see so many good things on these blogs. I need virtual post-its 😀

  10. whoooa someones busy in the kitchen! haha that’s awesome. I totally just make my homemade pb with peanuts & a little salt 😛 don’t even need the extra oil. also your morning sounds so glorious!

  11. Kaitlin says:

    Oh sooo going to experiment with nut butters this weekend! Great idea 🙂 I love seeing all the different recipes so you know, I don’t have the same meal every day. Novel concept, right? Yeah, it still doesn’t happen. I’m waiting for the day I can make a large meal for a few other peeps. 🙂

    I just love interacting with so many similar people. Nice change of pace.

  12. deniliese says:

    I tried making cashew butter in my magic bullet…either I didn’t add enough liquid or the bullet just hates me because it just stunk up the whole kitchen! props for getting so much done! I’m impressed!

  13. I love leisurely mornings.. glad to hear you had a good one!

  14. Living Healthy says:

    Ive made some ‘lara balls’ before!! They are soo good 🙂 Yum yum!!

  15. katiemoves says:

    I LOVE making those Lara Ball type. PB is the best! 🙂 I think i first saw those on Pinterest or blogs and just had to make them!

  16. Carrie says:

    I’m such a fan of meal prepping! It makes eating healthy throughout the week much easier. Glad the homemade peanut butter was a success! I should try doing that with almonds–I’d save a ton of money probably, lol. 😉

  17. Katie H. says:

    Wow! So productive! I am impressed! I have been slacking on the cooking recently. It seems like when the hubs and I get home, the decision is always “Ah, let’s just do our own thing…” which means we each whip up a salad or a quick stir-fry. I need to do some advance prep work to make this a less-often occurence!

  18. Anne says:

    Ohhh have you seen the recipe for PB Hummus in Cooking Light?!?!

    Homade PB and reading in bed, I am jealous!

  19. kelseyruns says:

    All of that looks sooooo good! I love finding different workouts and healthy recipes on different blogs!

  20. You were miss Betty Crocker today.. I am going to half to try homemade peanut butter looks good.

  21. I have my eye on those Lara Balls! Yum!

  22. Homemade peanut butter & larabars?! This has to be one of my most favorite post!

  23. Look at you girl.. turning martha stewart on us 🙂 Seriously though, it all looks fabulous!!

  24. I love homemade PB. I think I learned how to make more things homemade from the blog world instead of buying them. I am a huge fan of making my own hummus, power bars, and nut butters. I also throw odd combinations together which I wouldn’t think of on my own.

  25. Manu says:

    yum I would love to make home made peanut butter! Thanks for sharing!

  26. Nicole says:

    Hmmm, peanuts + honey = pure happiness! 🙂

  27. Holy moley, you were on a roll! I hardly slept last night and totally should have made a productive use of my time… And I’m glad[?] to see that someone else tried raisins- I was thinking of trying it but was unsure of the results. I’m a bit bummed that they didn’t come out as well since we always have raisins in our pantry!

  28. Hi Alex! Oh my goodness this looks AMAZING! Hop on over to fitfunfemme.com today, we nominated you for the Sunshine Award! http://wp.me/p2Mtu8-av

  29. erika says:

    Wow, look at you! Cooking up a storm. I think my favorite thing that I’ve made as a blogger is either the Momofuku birthday cake (SUCH a haul, but so worth it) or the raw date newton bites–so. freaking. good.

    A leisurely morning sounds so nice right now! Glad you got to relax 🙂

  30. Nicole says:

    One of my favorite blog world finds is mashed avocado on toast! Yum! I should try making my own peanut butter, i love peanut butter! My foods never look appetizing but as long as they taste good i’m happy! My mom and I are going to spend some time in the kitchen today and i’m excited to cook up some fun foods.

  31. Oh man, how jealous can I be of your leisurely morning? Breakfast, books and bed sounds fantastic right about now…

  32. Leisurely mornings are one of the little things in life that make it so great!

    Since I started to read blogs and then start blogging, I’ve really enjoyed reading about other bloggers workouts and what they eat. It has given me some great ideas. For example, I’ve come across a lot of great treadmill interval workouts that have helped me change my workouts up and keep things fun.

    Enjoy all of the food you have made! 🙂

  33. Love your blog…it’s awesome. I’ve learned that there are so many people out there who are just like me. Mentally, physically, emotionally, it makes life fun 🙂

  34. Gotta have a leisurely morning every once in ahwile! 🙂 It looks like you made the most of yours!

  35. Now I may have to try my hand at homemade peanut butter! Yours looks delicious.

  36. Natalie says:

    I need to try homemade PB, probably so much better than anything store bought! Fresh peanuts is key!

  37. Oooh homemade peanut butter – LOVE it! I think one of the most important things I’ve learned since joining the “blog world” is that there are so many wonderful people everywhere! It is awesome to be able to connect with them via blogging 🙂

  38. Such a good idea. I love to make things for myself, to make sure I am not eating too much processed foods. This is perfect. Also, love the lara ball babies. Making those cuties.

  39. Holly A. says:

    I chow on a breakfast bar a day from Clif Mojo and feel like a chump after seeing your cooking adventures. It looks so easy and delish!! Feeling some motivation coming on… 🙂 Thanks!

  40. I love making nut butters..have tried almond and walnut butters..grind them in the food processor for 10 min w/o any oil and u get a really good butter:) I add in a bit of honey and cinnamon as well so that I can spread it on toast ..love nut butters so creamy yet good fats 🙂

  41. […] I was conveniently out of peanut butter so I added my homemade version to the jar. I used coconut milk instead of canola oil and found the milk to be a little too sweet. Next time, I’ll stick to my first homemade peanut butter recipe. […]

Show some love

