Going Out to Eat

This weekend was full of good eats. I tend to go out to eat a lot on the weekends just out of habit and I usually always eat less healthy meals at restaurants. My tip is to try and eat slow to avoid over eating the large portions.

Saturday morning brunch

Saturday morning brunch

I definitely enjoyed eating all of the omlet and hashbrowns but I skipped out on the toast. Give a little, live a little!

20130211-081926.jpg

Sunday’s brunch

On Sunday morning, my girlfriends and I went to Boylan Heights for brunch and I got the heuvos rancheros. They were so delicious.

20130211-081919.jpg

I mean look at those hash browns!

For this meal, I decided to order a side of fruit to kick up the health factor. I also only ate half of this meal so I got to have the leftovers for breakfast this morning.

20130211-081958.jpg

Not as pretty the second time around but just as good!

Leftovers are my favorite! I also got froyo this weekend and of course, no left overs here!

20130211-081932.jpg

Went all out with cheesecake bites, cookie dough, mochi, sprinkles, and caramel on top

My parents came to visit me Sunday evening and we went out to dinner at a local Mexican restaurant. I ordered the fajitas as usual. I’ve heard that fajitas are one of the healthiest Mexican options and they make great leftovers.

20130211-081938.jpg

Sizzlin’ fajitas

20130211-081952.jpg

The sides

I actually don’t use the tortillas to eat my fajitas because I like eating all of the meal separately. This is healthier but I really just do it out of taste preference.  I like to take the tortillas home to use for quesadillas later on too.

What are your tips for going out to dinner?

I’m a to-go box kind of girl myself!

Have a great Monday! 😀

Tagged , , , , ,

29 thoughts on “Going Out to Eat

  1. Runner Girl Eats says:

    I like to relax a it when I go out but try to find healthier options like subbing fruit for French fries. I also like to split meals with peopl bc portions are so big!

  2. jessiebear says:

    mmmmm weekend froyo and mexican food are the best!

  3. jumpeatrun says:

    yum! looks like a great weekend of eats!

  4. hashbrowns are like my favorite thing ever. and now I want froyo… I blame you.

  5. Kerry says:

    All of your eats look…to die for. I don’t know why but if I go out to breakfast or lunch, I look for healthier options. If I go out to dinner, I indulge a little more. Not sure why that is but it works for me!

  6. Amanda says:

    I love fajitas! I usually eat those when I have Mexican food too. I usually look for healthier options and make sure I get some veggies in, but some days I just want a massive burger, you know? It’s all about balance and moderation.

  7. So, this all looks incredible! When I go out to eat, I will usually split a meal or try to take some home. Whenever I eat the entire meal, I typically don’t feel all that great later, so I try to remember that at the time.

  8. pickyrunner says:

    I wouldn’t have any leftovers from my froyo either 😉 But when I go out to eat- pancakes all the way. Haha I guess you could say I’m a carb-lover.

  9. i haven’t been out to eat in 11 years ,until last year i had to in florida, next to the hotel- friday’s and golden corral…
    i like to make hashed browns with bell peppers: then it’s a vegetable.lol

  10. Hey Alex! Happy Monday! This food looks amazing! I also sub fruit for fries or meats at breakfast…great idea. But sometimes, I just want the fries :). Like Runner Girl Eats said, I split meals with girlfriends a lot. Portions are so big these days and when I do split, I’m satisfied but not stuffed after a meal. Have a wonderful week!

  11. Abby says:

    Lots of great tips I never knew that about fajitas either! Oh and yeah no leftovers when I get froyo either.. try seconds. haha glad you had a good weekend! Moderation, baby.

  12. katiemoves says:

    When I eat out I usually get whatever I want, I usually can’t eat it all so doggy bag please! 🙂 those huevos rancheros look so delicious!

  13. Elena says:

    Yam… now I feel hungry!:)
    Elena
    http://dcinstyle.com/

  14. deniliese says:

    I do the same thing with fajitas! I get mine with shrimp, though. I always end up taking 3/4ths of it home haha

  15. Cindy says:

    I usually try to pick healthy or share, otherwise I eat slowly and stop when I am full 😀

  16. Mexican food is one of my (many) weaknesses, how can you not love food loaded up with cheese, pico de gallo, and guac?! Your brunch huevos rancheros look amazing as well. Glad you had a great weekend!

  17. Francene Katzen says:

    Eat half and the rest goes home-love leftovers. None of this cleaning my plate for this gal.

  18. I try to be good during the week and enjoy myself (in moderation) on the weekends. Moderation is the name of the game! No restricting yourself just enjoy what you will in the appropriate portions 🙂

  19. Kaitlin says:

    All those options look Devine!!

    “Keep Calm and Carry On”

  20. Oh boy, Froyo is my fave! My only tip for eating out is moderation- which I think you’ve got a great handle on :).

  21. Anyone who has leftovers of froyo is just crazy! I’m glad you didn’t 🙂

  22. bezzymates says:

    I tend to go out or order in on weekends too. I’m simply too tired to cook by Saturday. I usually try to drink lots of water to feel full before eating.

  23. Huevos rancheros are my favorite–eggs and spice, so you can’t go wrong!

  24. Brittany says:

    I lovee leftovers. It’s awesome getting to enjoy the meal twice!! That Mexican plate it making me hungry!

  25. I try to balance everythingg, if I get fries/no bun if I get a bun/side salad. All about give and take. AND I love your quote “give a little, live a little”. Totally using it!

  26. The fruit that you had during your Sunday brunch looks delicious- I think I’m in the mood for fruit! You’re the perfect example of what eating out smart looks like! Sometimes, I’ll bring half of my meal home too, share a meal with a friend, ask for something grilled instead of fried, or if I’m getting a salad, ask for the dressing on the side. I love that you bring the tortillas home to use for later- that is brilliant!

  27. Those are good eats fo sure! I love that cup of FroYo and would have dug right in. I am also obsessed with a great breakfast and I had an amazing one down in Florida this weekend with homemade biscuits a farm fresh omelet with Avocado and potatoes. My mouth is still drooling thinking about it. Sadly I ate it way to fast to snap any photos : )

  28. The hashbrowns and the Mexican food look awesome.

Show some love

