Steel Cut Oats and Procrastination

Breakfast this morning was a big bowl of steel cut oats.

20130213-100338.jpg

This was my first time trying steel cut oats and I really liked them. It’s a much coarser grain than regular oatmeal so it takes a little more time to cook up. I got these oats from Trader Joe’s and they are microwavable.

20130213-100332.jpg

So hearty and delicious

I had to add boiling water to the oats and then microwave them for several minutes. Then, I added peanut butter, a dash of cinnamon  and too many spoonfuls of brown sugar. After I ate breakfast, I threw together my lunch. The main meal was a big festive salad.

20130213-100344.jpg

Butter lettuce, grape tomatoes, craisins, humus, salsa

I got a short incline treadmill workout this morning and it felt great. It was one of those mornings where I was trying to prolong going to the gym so I”m glad I finally got it over with.

20130213-100312.jpg

I have a habit of doing chores in the morning to procrastinate the gym!

Ever find yourself procrastinating a workout?

Have you tried steel cut oats?

Happy Wednesday! 😀

Tagged , , , , ,

27 thoughts on “Steel Cut Oats and Procrastination

  1. Beth says:

    Love steel cut oats! Try SOAKING your oats the night before in the fridge (in water OR milk) … makes them a little softer & creamier (less coarse) when you cook them the next morning. 🙂

  2. I have never tried steel cut oats, they intrigue me though

  3. Katie H. says:

    I need to try steel cut oats. My thing is, I buy a HUGE box of oats at Sam’s (quick oats, though) for the same amount of $$ that a small bag of steel cut oats is… Not sure if I can justify that change 🙂

  4. The Steel Cut Oats from Trader Joe’s are so good! I bought some this weekend and mixed in a spoonful of Cookie Butter, amazing!! 🙂

  5. Abby says:

    Haha that’s why I started going right as I woke up. One of my procrastinating habits was actually eating (not proud, not proud) haha mornings are the way to go! Oh and oatmeal and PB? Best combo!

  6. jessiebear says:

    I’ve never tried steal cut oats! maybe ill pick up some next time im at the store

  7. At least your procrastination seems to be productive!! It could be worse! 😉

  8. The steel cut oats look yummy! I love peanut butter & some honey in mine!

  9. Brittany says:

    Those TJ’s oats are sooo convenient! I am not big on microwaving stuff, but otherwise steel cut oats take over 20min to cook! I procrastinate..aLL..THEE..Timee!

  10. Anne says:

    I love love love steel cut oats! They are so much chewier!

    When I make overnight oats I like to mix half overnight with half regular.

  11. Kaitlin says:

    I usually have to get moving or ill start eating breakfast and all hope of working out is gone 🙂 love the oats idea! I need to try something different for breakfast so maybe ill pick that up. I’ve also seen a lot of people use quinoa.

    “Keep Calm and Carry On”

  12. Welcome to the steel cut oatmeal bandwagon:) I never get tired of them!

  13. I have never tried steel cut oats before, but you make them sound and look tasty!

  14. Steel cut oats are great! On occasion, I will buy them, but tend to find that I get more for my dollar when I buy Old Fashioned Oats. Yes, I do find I procrastinate workouts- that’s why I like to go in the morning! It can be so hard to workout sometimes and I don’t know why because it almost never fails to make me feel good!

  15. Luckily I don’t have time to procrastinate the gym–If I don’t get out the door and get going, I won’t have time to fit it in before work! Weekends I just go with the flow, so it’s not really “procrastination” if I haven’t scheduled it, right? 😉 I have yet to try steel cut oats, I need more cooking patience!

  16. Run Eat Play says:

    I usually like to get my workout done right away. The longer I wait, the less likely I am go to the gym!

  17. I loooove steel cut oats! I like to make a big batch in my crockpot over night and have left overs for days 🙂 I feel like they keep me full way longer than quick oats

  18. High five for steel cut oats! I’m obsessed! Glad you enjoyed them 🙂

  19. I buy those quick cook oats from TJ’s, too! They’re so creamy and delicious. Plus, making them in your bowl saves you from having to scrub a pot 😉

  20. Mrs S! says:

    Here’s a good article for all of us OAT lovers! 🙂
    http://coachlevi.com/nutrition/rolled-oats-steel-cut-oats-difference/

  21. Haha I procrastinated my workout till 11am today! usually I’m done with my workout by 9 or 10am. My neighbor stopped by to drop some vday cupcakes off too so I was caught in my procrastination haha

  22. Natalie says:

    Love steel cut oats! So hearty! I always procrastinate working out, it gets bad at times !

  23. I love steel cut oats but hate how long they take to make. I tend to cheat and buy the frozen kind from TJ’s : )

Show some love

