Wake up and go

Sometimes, you just have to jump on your task. And by jump and task, I mean sluggishly crawl out of bed and force yourself to the gym. It’s never an easy thing to do. Ever.

20130214-135641

But I have to say, the less time I spend complaining about having to trek it to the gym in the morning, the better. I quickly brush my teeth, wash my face, jump into workout clothes, and go.

20130214-134839.jpg

On extra sleepy days, I wear my cousins oversized comfy tee to the gym 🙂

Once I’m in the gym, I feel a little better. I check off my cardio and my eyes are a little wider. If it’s a weights day, I finish up, fly out of the gym and I’m done. It’s crazy how little time I spend in the gym for how much I dread waking up for it. So I’ve started focusing on how great I feel after completing a workout so early in the day.

20130214-134844.jpg

And a tasty breakfast helps my thoughts too 😉

I’m training my brain to focus on the outcome and less on the current action. Of course, sometimes it’s best to stay in the moment like going for a mid-day walk outside when the weather’s nice.

20130214-134856.jpg

The Downtown Mall in Charlottesville

Are you more often focused on the moment or the future?

Have an awesome day!

Tagged , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Wake up and go

  1. Anne says:

    I am the exact same way! The less thinking between waking up and hitting the machines, the better!
    When I feel like ditching it’s amazing how often thinking about how I will feel sitting at my desk all day without any movement gets me out the door!

  2. Katie H. says:

    I’ve been thinking about you and your morning workouts/craving breakfast problem. I wake up hungry, too, so I totally know where you’re coming from. I do a 5am workout almost every morning, and I’ve started eating something small beforehand, right when I wake up. I LOVE breakfast, and so knowing that I’m going to put it off for an hour or so feels like a major sacrifice. So, I grab a banana, or a mini pita bread, or a spoonful of almond butter–something yummy (and easy on the tummy). Then, I eat a (slightly) smaller breakfast afterwards–like maybe I leave off the toast, or the fruit on the side, since I ate that pre-workout.

    Anyways, just wanted to share my thoughts 🙂

  3. bezzymates says:

    It’s so great that you can workout before work. I guess it’s mind over matter.

  4. Francene Katzen says:

    In the moment person-used to be in the future-being in the future causes a person to miss out so much of the present and life is too darn short for that these days!

  5. pickyrunner says:

    I’m not sure I could handle crazy early workouts but I definitely do like getting it over with! It’s funny how much we dread it when we could be done with the whole thing before we finish complaining about it.

  6. gosh I miss cville. I need to get my butt down there, it is so close.

  7. I always feel able when I am able to fit a work out in! I try to be focused on the moment, but it is definitely a constant and conscious effort 🙂

  8. It really is crazy how quickly you can get a workout in but how long it takes you to convince yourself to go! I have playlists always set up and gym shoes near my bed so its a constant reminder to just get up + do it + I also remind myself with affirmations how amazing I feel afterwards! Hope you are having an amazing V<3DAY Love + Shine CourtStar

  9. I still haven’t been able to bring myself to work out before work. I don’t know why I think working out at 10 pm is easier.

  10. I can usually force myself to workout before work a 2-3 days per week, it is normally the days when I have a happy hour planned. Haha 🙂 I think a lot of the time I need to step back and live in the moment so that I can enjoy life and what I’m doing!

  11. Abby says:

    I truly think this is the best way to go when it comes to exercising. There’s no way to procrastinate, you feel a million times better and SO accomplished, not to mention you come back for breakfast just pumped to eat haha. Have a good weekend!

  12. Working out in the morning is the best! I love getting things accomplished early, and it always makes me feel great the entire rest of the day. Too bad I also love sleep…a lot. I am, however, getting a bit better about being more motivated in the a.m.!

  13. I love working out in the morning! It’s like, no matter what happens that day, I feel productive. But, I’m the same way – if I think about it AT ALL, I start to drag my feet. Just gotta get up ‘n’ go!

Show some love

