Making Chips and Weekend Eats

Hope everyone had a great weekend! I was lucky to enjoy a day off today in honor of President’s Day. 🙂

On Friday, my friends and I made a trip to DC to celebrate our best friend’s birthday. The next day we went to brunch at this quaint little cafe in the city and I got a tasty egg, spinach, feta on a croisant. So good!

20130218-193759.jpg

Croissants are the best

We got back from DC on Saturday and I decided to cook dinner for me and my friend instead of go out to dinner. I used a base of gnocci pasta and added canned tomatos and frozen broccoli with parmezan cheese, garlic and olive oil.

20130218-193806.jpg

20130218-193813.jpg

Everything’s better with cheese

20130218-193819.jpg

And a little drink on the side 😉

On Sunday afternoon, I decided to throw together a random assortment of foods to have for lunch. Pineapple, kiwi, plantain chips with peanut butter, wasabi peas (does anyone like these besides me?), and chips with humus.

20130218-193828.jpg

The randomness

I didn’t have any crackers or chips so I decided to make some of my own. Tortillas can serve as the perfect chip.

20130218-193834.jpg

Preheat the oven to 350 and cook for 10 minutes

20130218-193840.jpg

Enjoy with hummus or solo!

Shortly after our smorgasbord, we went for a long walk to get a little workout in for the weekend. That evening, we went to dinner at Mono Loco.

20130218-193858.jpg

A lil’ sangria with chips and dip at dinner

20130218-193906.jpgI ordered a tomato avocado salad and it was so delicious.

20130218-193914.jpg

How was your weekend? Have a great evening!

Tagged , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Making Chips and Weekend Eats

  1. you were in DC? oh man!!!!!! we were practically next to each other.. well sort of but still. Glad you had a great weekend and to answer your question… yes, everything is better with cheese. period

  2. I love anything spicy, so I’m all over Wasabi peas. 🙂 Looks like a fun weekend too!

  3. pickyrunner says:

    Aww I’m glad you had a great time! Any time with friends and food is a good time in my book though 🙂

  4. I am so impressed by your DIY tortilla chips!! I am so jealous that you had today off work, that’s awesome!

  5. Where do I start? The croissant, chips or salad! I’m hungry now!!! Hope you enjoyed you day off! Early one for me tomorrow. Blah!!!

  6. Looks like a fun weekend!!

  7. Brittany says:

    I neeeed to make my own tortilla chips! Yum! That salad looks amazing.

  8. Love the randome lunch! Great idea making your own tortilla chips. And I would happily eat every one of the food pictures you posted 🙂

  9. jumpeatrun says:

    so many great eats! looks like a fun weekend 🙂

  10. Leah says:

    Mmm, wasabi peas!

  11. I never thought of putting tortillas in the oven and creating pita chips! Great idea :-). Your weekend looked like a blast! I have been enjoying random assortments of food too like yesterday I had 1/4 an avocado and oatmeal..odd I know. Love + Shine Courtstar

  12. Abby says:

    Gahh all your food looks awesome! Avocado salad? I’d love to try that one. Also, I need to try the plantain/PB combo still. Sounds right up my alley 😉 Glad it was a good one, Alex!

  13. bentodays says:

    Your lunch looks fun, and I love wasabi peas too! Its dangerous when I open a pack cos I probably would finish it all!

  14. Cafes have such a simple elegance! Croissants are the best! Sometimes we’ll buy the Pillsbury croissant rolls place chocolate chips inside of them, roll them up, put into the oven, and sprinkle with powdered sugar!

    I give your random assortment of foods that you had for lunch five stars 🙂

  15. I LOVE making homemade tortilla chips. It is SO easy!

    Croissants are the best :). My only complaint is that I can never find them in a whole wheat variety. Do these even exist?

  16. everythings better with some homemade chips plus cheese and drinks!

  17. Cindy says:

    I was so happy to have a long weekend. Next is spring break!

  18. That is one big croissant!

  19. […] heated up just the broccoli from my pasta dish that I made this weekend to accompany the sweet potato fries. The fries turned out pretty well. I […]

Show some love

