Healthy Eater with a Sweet Tooth

After dragging myself through about 30 minutes of cardio at the gym last night, I came home and got a lil’ crafty in the kitchen. I bought broccoli slaw at Trader Joe’s the other day after seeing Julie use it in her salads.

20130220-162939.jpg

I used Teriyaki sauce as the dressing. I also added butter lettuce to the mix, which really made the sauce stick to the veggies. Every bite was full of flavor. I topped the salad with grape tomatoes, avocado, and lots of pepper and red pepper flakes.

20130220-162949.jpg

This meal also made a great lunch for today. The key was mixing the dressing all over the greens instead of letting it sink in.

20130220-162955.jpg

A convenient and healthy lunch

I think I like salads more then the average person. It’s pretty strange. In fact, if I didn’t have the world’s biggest sweet tooth, I’d probably be the world’s healthiest eater. You win some, you lose some!

Leaving off on a fun note, my lovely friend Colleen posted this on my Facebook wall today:

stressed_is_desserts_spelled_backwards

Moderation, baby! Have a great evening!

Tagged , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “Healthy Eater with a Sweet Tooth

  1. jumpeatrun says:

    I seriously eat a salad just about every day…you can get so much variety with them that they are definitely one of my fave foods! And, I agree- it’s completely moderation because I have a serious sweet tooth too 🙂

  2. deniliese says:

    at dinner Saturday night, our napkin wrappers said that desserts quote and my dad was astonished! He never knew that! haha but that sounds super yummy!

  3. Yum! This looks so great! Especially the avocado. I love avocado!!

  4. bentodays says:

    Love! This is the kind of salad I enjoy during work days.

  5. Cindy says:

    I love salads. My favorite is Spring mix with cranberries, walnuts and feta..I could it that everyday 😀

  6. Kate says:

    “In fact, if I didn’t have the world’s biggest sweet tooth, I’d probably be the world’s healthiest eater.”
    ^ so true!

  7. Abby says:

    Haha I can so relate. Healthy breakfasts, salads, weird-but-good-for-you foods are the best, and I definitely can’t go without them… That being said, cookies and ice cream are definitely not leaving anytime soon! Love it. Have a great night, girl!

  8. Runner Girl Eats says:

    I eat salads daily I. The summer time but have a hard time eating them in the winter.

  9. I think you have the best of both worlds, it is all about balance. some sweet some veggies.

  10. kelseyruns says:

    I love salads too! I always crave them! I need to try broccoli slaw!

  11. Anne says:

    I am the exact same way! Salads are fabulous because they are an excuse to throw everything you love/are craving into a bowl and people don’t think you’re weird 🙂

  12. I adore this idea! I will look for that next time I stop in at TJ’s 🙂

  13. You can never go wrong with a salad!

  14. pickyrunner says:

    Haha if I didn’t like dessert I think I’d win the healthy eating Award too. Too bad I like desserts so much that plan completely backfires…

  15. jessie says:

    your salad creations look delicious 🙂 🙂

  16. i spilled too much brown sugar in mine the other day too.i like apples and or cranberries best in oatmeal.
    someday i’ll try pumpkin.

  17. Salads make the best foundations! I never thought of adding Teriyaki sauce onto a salad before, but may just have to try this out! Yes, mixing works great-especially with plastic containers. I always shake it up in the container before eating.

  18. oooh teriyaki sauce as dressing is an awesome idea. Def need to try.

  19. Alright girl, it looks like I’ve got some competition in the salad eating department 😛 I seriously love salads and have always had a strange love for veggies – my parents thought it was quite strange when I was a child and asked for bags of frozen peas… And TJ’s broccoli salw + avocado is def a tasty combo!

  20. I’m not a big salad fan (I know, I get so much crap for being a “healthy eater” who doesn’t like salad), but I do love that slaw! It’s really good in soups, too!

  21. That slaw is so pretty! I love the added texture and color to salads.

Show some love

