A magazine at the gym

There’s nothing like going to the gym and finding a brand new magazine on the shelf. It’s the little things in life. 🙂

20130221-110724.jpg

The March issue of Women’s Health- I’m here for the party!

Before the gym, I made a small dinner last night. (Small dinner translates to way too much stand up snacking before hand.)

20130221-110742.jpg

Red pepper flake lovin’

I heated up just the broccoli from my pasta dish that I made this weekend to accompany the sweet potato fries. The fries turned out pretty well. I didn’t wash the potato beforehand to avoid extra moisture and I instead peeled and cut the potato and cooked it on 450 for 20 minutes. The trick is to add a little corn starch to the fries along with the olive oil, salt, and pepper. I’ve actually used this trick from this recipe before and it was a complete flop. This time, I made sure to go sparingly on the corn starch.

This morning, I headed out to the gym only to complete a mere 10 minutes of low intensity cardio. I think I may have allergies or something. Maybe I’m allergic to the gym. 😉 I was still able to finish Women’s Health and see the pretty sky.

20130221-110749.jpg

What’s your favorite magazine to read at the gym?

Something tells me Women’s Health is popular in the blog world. I once tried reading books while working out and I noticed I slacked off way too much. Magazines reign supreme. And music of course!

Have an awesome Thursday!

Tagged , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “A magazine at the gym

  1. jumpeatrun says:

    I actually have a subscription to womens health and usually read it while planking at home 🙂

  2. Kate says:

    Sorry the cornstarch trick didn’t work out for you the first time. Your second batch looks good!

  3. i love red pepper flakes, my favorite. remind me of my dad too

  4. Self is definitely my favorite magazine to read at the gym! I get so excited when it comes in the mail each month! 🙂

  5. Cindy says:

    I can’t read books while working out. I see the words but they don’t register. Haha
    Magazines are easier and help pass the time. I like Fitness magazine. 😀

  6. pickyrunner says:

    I love all of those types of magazines. I spend way too much money on them, it’s borderline embarrassing.

  7. My favs is Women’ Health, Veg Times and Self Mag!!!

  8. I am very familiar with that allergy to the gym 😉 Good for you for going though! And I love new magazines! I usually read InStyle and now Women’s Health or Shape…but I’ll always be a sucker for those gossipy tabloid mags.

  9. Abby says:

    Mags are the best! I’m feelin ya with the allergy symptoms. For me, these 2 sick days off = my neck/head wanting to crawl up and sleep and my legs itching for cardio!! I can also relate to the standing up snacking. Story of my entire freshman year haha, good times, good times 😉 Have a great weekend, Alex!

  10. I love mags at the gym! Truth be told, the trashier the better– nothing gets me through a 45 min cycle on the elliptical like a trashy issue of Cosmo. Haha!

  11. that sky is so beautiful! I love finding new magazines, makes the workout go much faster. I hope you get feeling better=)

  12. I love Womens Health! Shape is a personal favorite too 🙂

  13. My all time favorite magazine is Oxygen just because those girls truly motivate me and I like the recipes in their better. We all have off days its alright I always go outdoors if I’m not feeling the gym. Love your morning picture, so pretty$ ! Love and shine courtstar

  14. I love sweet potato fries! I like reading blogs while on the elliptical but can’t read when running on the treadmill. I don’t know how some people do it, for one I don’t think I could read while bouncing around and two I have no balance and would be flat on my butt.

  15. Fortunately or unfortunately, I can’t read magazine and work out simultaneously. I’m usually good at multitasking, but when it comes time to sweat, I want to give it 100 percent. 🙂

  16. I still have no idea how people read while at the gym. I think I just get motion sickness because I can’t do it!!

  17. Joy says:

    I’m a total magazine who-junkie. InStyle is my first choice, then whole living for healthy/fitness stuff. Great catch with the sky, pretty!

  18. I don’t get the chance to read a lot of magazines at the gym. My school’s not very good at updating their selection and I’m too cheap to actually buy them though. I totally agree, books make me slack off WAY too much.

  19. Sometimes I’ll pick up a couple…shh don’t tell! I have a hard time making up my mind every once and a while! I like to read People if I want to catch up with Hollywood, Self, Fitness, Shape, and Women’s Health is always a good one too!

  20. Kaitlin says:

    I love new magazines!

    “Keep Calm and Carry On”

  21. Francene Katzen says:

    I mostly am a book on tape gal at the gym. People Style Watch is my new favorite,

  22. Anne says:

    I totally judge gyms based on their magazine selection 🙂 I save up my subscriptions for my elliptical days.

    That is so interesting about using corn starch, I am going to have to give that a try!!

  23. Runner Girl Eats says:

    I can’t read anything while doing cardio but love reading WH at home while Matt watches his sports 🙂

  24. I don’t read and do cardio at the same time. I would be too distracted and may fall off the machine 😉 I do subscribe to Women’s Health though!

  25. Oh man, I remember when I used to elliptical, new magazine day was the BOMB day! Now I kinda want to go stand in line at the grocery store and catch up on my magazine reading 😉

    Also–I want to try that cornstarch-on-fries business now, I’m intrigued!

  26. I have tried the corn starch trick when making homemade sweet potato fries, too, and it was an absolutely flop for me as well! I definitely used too much. Next time, I will take your advice and just sprinkle them slightly instead of tossing them in the corn starch.

  27. Run Eat Play says:

    My gym doesn’t have very good magazines. Once in awhile, I’ll bring my own – I think I subscribe to about 10 🙂

  28. Love reading magazines at the gym too. My friend just gifted me a subscription to Fitness magazine so I’ve been bringing that along!

Show some love

