A grocery shop before the snow

They say the crazies come out before a predicted snow storm to stock up on bread and water at the grocery store. Leave it to me to be out of food today. 🙂

20130305-235529.jpg

The goods

Luckily, I live really close to my apartment and I was able to stop at a small little grocery store to try and avoid the wild ones. I went to Integral Yoga Natural Foods and had way too much fun searching the aisles of the store for cool food items. Does this make me a foodie yet? 😉

20130305-235543.jpg

Got a little inspiration after my grocery shop and made a festive salad for dinner

I used my new salad green mix (with bok choy- my new favorite green since Hawaii), grape tomatoes, pineapple, beets, orange peppers, red pepper flakes, cous cous, and salsa with balsamic vinaigrette to top it off.

20130305-235537.jpg

A tip I learned this evening- produce, especially grape tomatoes and pineapple, last a lot longer then I originally thought. I got both items 2 weeks ago and they still tasted fine albeit the tomatoes were a bit soft.

I was still in the mood to eat something else so I made a little plate of nachos- my fave!

20130305-235547.jpg

Just corn chips, sharp cheddar, and red pepper flakes

Finally, for dessert I had a cupcake from my roommate’s birthday party this weekend.

20130305-235553.jpg

I cut it horizontally and made a cupcake sandwich 🙂

Although I enjoyed my dinner, I think it was a little more food then I really needed, especially since I haven’t worked out very much this week. I’m more of a grazer because I tend to get full very easily. Of course, getting full never stops me from carrying on.

What about you, are you a grazer or a meal person? When you go back for seconds on food, are you actually hungry or do you just want to indulge a little more?

Have a great evening and morning! If your getting hit by the snow stay warm, eat lots of snow cream, and go sledding. 😀

Tagged , , , ,

23 thoughts on “A grocery shop before the snow

  1. katiemoves says:

    Im a total grazer. Always eating hehe. Snow is coming here! Work/school already has a snow day. I don’t know I’m ready for it but I am ready for sleep!!!

  2. I think I’m both haha. It depends on the day…like if I go to a dinner party ill probably fill up on the snacks before dinner. But on my own I like to have meals. I’m actually trying to incorporate more snacking into my day to reduce the amount of food I eat at a meal. It’s really easy for me to overindulge if something looks delicious. Oh well, I’m working on it! 🙂

  3. pickyrunner says:

    It’s hard to go wrong with a cupcake! Also, the crazies totally DO come out during a storm! It’s so true!!!

  4. jumpeatrun says:

    I am definitely a grazer…I get full pretty easily, but i also just like to eat really often 🙂 So, eating something about every two hours is kind of perfect for me.
    when i go back for seconds it’s usually just because something tastes so good that i want more..haha

  5. You can never go wrong with nachos

  6. Cindy says:

    Seems like every time a big storm comes I have to check the pantry and then run to the store. I’m one of those if I don’t have it I crave it, and who wants to be home bound with insane cravings. Haha

  7. I’m a total grazer! I love snacking 🙂

    Stay safe in the snow!

  8. deniliese says:

    I’m both…basically because I’m never hungry until after my workouts or 2pm, whichever comes first.
    Seconds depends for me…mostly I do it because I know my meal wasn’t balanced (aka I didn’t have carbs so I’ll go for a whole grain tortilla) or because my mom cooked dinner and being at school, it’s been a while since I’ve had her cooking.

  9. I’m trying to switch from grazing to meal-eating, and I’m actually enjoying it way more than expected! And haha, you are BRAVE for entering a grocery store right before a storm 😉

  10. Kaitlin says:

    I certainly end up with seconds because of the taste and rarely because I’m “hungry” 🙂 just so good!

    “Keep Calm and Carry On”

  11. love your lil plate o’ nachos!

  12. I love how colorful your salad is! I love to snack and graze however I think I normally need a real meal to feel full or i will keep grazing allll day

  13. I want these nachos right now – they look so simple and so amazing! I find that I will go back for seconds a lot – sometimes out of hunger, other times because it was just so great!

  14. Abby says:

    Yum yum yum! That cupcake! Try not to feel too bad about the bigger dinner (though I know I’d probably be in the same old boat) It happens to the best of us. 🙂

  15. I don’t want any more snow! I am so hoping the forecast is wrong…

  16. I’m definitely a grazer, for sure. I don’t like feeling hungry, so if I feel slightly hungry I’d rather snack on something than wait another hour or two for dinner. And the crazies definitely come out before snow storms! I was also out of food before a storm once and just lived off peanut butter until it passed (which was just the next day). Didn’t want to deal with the chaos!

  17. Those wasabi peas sound delish!

  18. Brittany says:

    That natural yoga store sounds RIGHT up my alley! I love the little shops like that! Pricey, but usually so worth it!! FOODIES unite! YUM to that bowl of goodness anddd to that cupcake. I definitely graze, and sometimes I graze WHILE I am making a huge meal. Oops. 90% of the time I go back for seconds is just to indulge haha.

  19. Anne says:

    If food is in front of me… it won’t be for long 🙂
    I used to much constantly between meals. I’ve figured out it works best for me if I stick to 3 meals with planned snacks.

    Oh and bok choy…So so so good!

  20. Cute cupcake! I totally snack and graze if there’s food around, but if I don’t see it (like when I’m at work), then I won’t get hungry–definitely “out of sight, out of mind.”

  21. Runner Girl Eats says:

    I recently learned the cut the cupcake in half trick and it has changed my world. Why did it take me so long to learn this?!

  22. Yummy salad, I also love bok choy! I’m definitely a grazer, but it doesn’t stop me from eating an extra cup cake here and there 😉

  23. It depends on the day, but most oftentimes I’m a grazer… And a snack plate lover – I love eating a bite of everything that I’m craving!

Show some love

