Recreating the Taco salad

I was in a cooking kind of mood yesterday evening. For dinner, I made a Mexican infused version of a taco salad. First, I made Vegan Angela’s healthy hidden broccoli guacamole. (She’s got some great recipes to check out!)

Healthy guacamole

Healthy guacamole

Next, I made a taco salad for dinner in a new way.

20130312-083954.jpg

Start with the shells as the base

20130312-084029.jpg

Add some warm veggies

20130312-084052.jpg

Top with cheese

20130312-084117.jpg

Add lettuce and healthy guacamole

20130312-084222.jpg

Add salsa and ta da!

Okay so this meal has a faint resemblance to nachos but then again, all the ingredients match up with a taco salad too. Or as comedian Jim Gaffigan says, Mexican food’s great but it’s essentially all the same ingredients – tortilla with cheese, meat, and vegetables.

And speaking of healthy, a cookie for dessert

And speaking of healthy, a cookie for dessert

I picked this cookie up at the grocery store last week and it was pretty good albeit not great. It was very intense so I only ate half (say what?). I topped it with rainbow sprinkles and popped it in the microwave to enjoy. I then spent the rest of the evening watching Mad Men and doing laundry.

This morning I woke up feeling a little tired and decided to let myself sleep in until 7:20. The cooking bug was still rocking so I made some homemade peanut butter. (I hope my neighbors didn’t wake up to the food processor!)

20130312-084251.jpg

Homemade peanut butter ingredients

I was conveniently out of peanut butter so I added my homemade version to the jar. I used coconut milk instead of canola oil and found the milk to be a little too sweet. Next time, I’ll stick to my first homemade peanut butter recipe.

My breakfast plus some more pb

My breakfast plus some more pb

This evening, I hope to hit the gym before meeting one of my friends for dinner. I’ll leave you with this motivating article that I read last night in pursuit of strengthening my mind and will power, “How to be great, Part 2: Strengthen the Mind.”

Keep on keepin’ on! 🙂

Tagged , , , ,

21 thoughts on “Recreating the Taco salad

  1. I LOVE Guacomole. I may have to try the hidden broccoli and see if my hubby notices 😉

  2. Nachos/taco salad are totally okay in my book…I mean you kept the ingredients healthy! Kudos to you for eating grapefruit for breakfast, maybe I should try it again, but I’m just not a grapefruit fan. So sour!

  3. pickyrunner says:

    I don’t know if I’ve ever only eaten half of a cookie. It isn’t part of my vocabulary haha

  4. Yum! I love that taco salad idea!

  5. bentodays says:

    The taco salad looks amazing, I want some too!

  6. Taco salad sounds amazing, love anything with guac.

  7. That taco salad looks amazing! I pretty much love anything involving tacos! 🙂

  8. Sneaking broccoli into guacamole, sounds like a genius idea. And that taco salad/nacho plate looks delicious! I love homemade Mexican food for dinner.

  9. Courtney says:

    That looks like a yummy taco salad! I’ll have to try that guac 😛

  10. Allie says:

    Okay, I was all set to pick up to-go Thai food after work tonight, but after seeing your two posts about Mexican food in a row…I’m torn! Thank goodness (I guess?) there are still a few hours left of work, I have time to decide…

  11. sugarcoatedsheridan says:

    That does look fabulous…and I agree with pickyrunner…I don’t know that I’ve ever eaten half a cookie!

  12. You could open a little Mexican Restaurant in your house! 😀 OLE!

  13. Those nachos look delicious. I definitely am going to have to try that guacomole recipe because I love broccoli and guac. Perfect combination.

  14. Gosh I just love mexican food esp what they call down here…Tex Mex! Could eat it every day! Good to create healthy alternatives!

  15. Amanda says:

    That looks great, especially the broccoli guac! I need to recreate this!

  16. You just made me crave mexican food and its 7 am, guess I know what I will be having for lunch :-). I want a food processor, home made pb is always the best! I make my girlfriend make me almond butter in her food processor with coconut oil its delicious! Have a great day Alex 🙂 love + shine Courtstar

  17. Yum! This looks like a tasty re-creation!

Show some love

