A Strange but Good Lunch

Low on groceries and heading out of town for the weekend, I was determined to create a lunch with the last of my veggies.

photo (5)

I mixed roasted brussels sprouts, artichokes, tomatoes, black beans, and avocado. Then I topped the madness with a little pepper, garlic salt, red pepper flakes, and soy and Teriyaki sauce.

Capture

And a weird meal it was. It definitely qualified for Strange but Good. (Check out Laura’s peanut butter no oats oatmeal.)

8249128972_954542762c_n

One might ask why I make such strange meals like this. To be honest, I get a thrill from using up all of my groceries. Saves money and inspires creativity in zee kitchen. (I was even able to use the leftovers to stuff inside a habanero lime flour tortilla with cheese for today’s lunch.)
Don't know why these guys don't get any love

Don’t know why these guys don’t get any love

Do you eat strange but good foods? Thoughts on brussels sprouts?
Tagged , , ,

23 thoughts on “A Strange but Good Lunch

  1. Haha – I love your dad’s response!!! This does sound REALLY good. 🙂 Thanks for linking up!

  2. I haven’t really gotten into absolutely loving brussels sprouts but maybe I will try this!

  3. Strange? that sounds delicious to me! I’m obsessed with brussel sprouts

  4. jumpeatrun says:

    I eat a lot of strange but good foods. And, I LOVE brussel sprouts!!!

  5. This lunch looks amazing to me! I would definitely give it a try! 🙂

  6. bezzymates says:

    That’s so true. My husband is great at creating by using random veggies and spices to make a meal.

  7. I don’t even find it strange! So I must be strange long with you lol…I love brussel sprouts!

  8. Cindy says:

    Great use of your veggies 😀 I like brussel sprouts but no one else do so I usually do get to eat them unless I am out for dinner 😦

  9. Courtney says:

    That looks delicious! 🙂

  10. Oh I love brussels sprouts, but they always make my tummy hurt or feel bloated :(. And I love throwing together all the groceries! haha

  11. Natalie says:

    I love those random meals where you throw together a bunch of random things from your fridge! I did that the other night with rice, lentils, broccoli, onion, red pepper and garlic, it was Great!!

  12. I love using up groceries too! Makes me feel like I’m getting my money’s worth! And I adore Brussels!

  13. deniliese says:

    Lol this will be me tomorrow…clear room so it doesn’t go bad and you can restock! I always just cut up fridge bits and throw em in an omlette

  14. My goal this week as to pull things out of my freezer even and clean out my fridge so combos were a bit crazy but knowing none of my food is going to waste is a great feeling. I love brussels ! I tried a shallot with Brussels sprouts roasted in coconut oil last week and it was delicious! love + shine Courtstar

  15. Brittany says:

    Your lunch sounds perfect!!! I combine weird stuff all the time, and Brussels…TOP TWO in the veggies category I LOVE BRUSSELS! Almost as much as I love using up all my fridge goods before heading away for a bit..or just in general haha.

  16. This sounds great! I love brussel sprouts, roasted or steamed in a pan with lemon juice and curry powder are two of my favorites.

  17. dude that is the best thing to do! I love having kitchen dump meals

  18. sugarcoatedsheridan says:

    Looks good to me! I’m actually cleaning out my pantry this week and I can’t wait to see what I can come up with…My husband really likes when I actually do this too because we seem to get in such an eating rut and we’ll always find some new concoction that we both really like.

  19. I fell in love with Brussels sprouts three years ago when I finally made a version with apple cider and bacon.

  20. Carrie says:

    Hmmm, I don’t remember the last time I had Brussels sprouts. That should probably change, right? 😉

  21. Leah says:

    I love using up all my groceries too – At the end of the week, I usually just throw everything into an egg white frittata (brussels sprouts, peppers, spinach, mushrooms, carrots, broccoli… whatever’s leftover!)

  22. Allie says:

    I love leaving-for-the-weekend meals, haha. They are always SO random, but a great way to find new combos!

  23. I throw things together like that all the time, especially for lunch. Actually, the combo sounds great. I would squeeze some lemon over the whole thing and sprinkle on some chile powder!

Show some love

