Neti Pots Work

So after a couple months of on again/ off again stuffiness, I decided to head to the doctor. I hate dealing with sicknesses because I never feel like I get my questions answered and I prefer to solve my problems with Google.

Anyways, I went to a quick medical clinic and sure enough, the doctor thinks I have allergies. Seems like a strange time for allergies to appear- it’s cold outside and I’ve gone my whole life sans allergies.

In fact, when I was a kid, I loved the outdoors. Hm, maybe I’m allergic to the indoors?

36424486

The doctor recommended allergy over-the-counter meds and a Neti Pot. A wha?

20130320-140328.jpg

This was truly a strange experience. It worked like a charm though! I’m hoping these allergies at least calm down a bit because it’s not fun having to hang out with a box of tissues at my desk all day. Here’s hoping!

In more exciting news, I started this morning out with a bowl of cereal and vanilla coconut milk that was quite tasty.

20130320-140345.jpg

Lee pawned this cereal off on me because he said he didn’t like it. I’m usually not a cereal eater because it never fills me up but I liked this stuff. I also added some crunchy peanut butter to the mix. 🙂

In attempt to ‘happ-ify’ the day, here is an awesome video that I’ve been enjoying (I’m a bit behind on my Youtube!):

 

Question: Do you have allergies? If so, what are some of your remedies? Ever used a neti pot?

Tagged , , ,

18 thoughts on “Neti Pots Work

  1. My husband has allergies. He uses over the counter allergy meds. He tried neti pots. It was ok but it’s difficult and uncomfortable to use. The act of pouring liquid to your nose is not his thing. LOL! But it relieved him so I guess, it’s effective. 🙂

  2. pickyrunner says:

    I’ve never used a nettipot but my swim captain used to swear by it. That cereal is so good! I’ve had it before and the box was gone in like 2 weeks.

  3. Luckily, I don’t have allergies. I like Kashi cereal because it’s higher in protein than most cereals so it’s more filling!

  4. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    I’m not much of a cereal eater by itself but I love it in my greek yogurt w banana and all sorts of flavorings!

    Hope you feel better soon!

  5. I love Kashi products, especially the cereal – it is so good!!

    Allergies are such a bummer, mine have been driving me crazy!!

  6. I have been obsessed with youtube lately. I love videos like this, reminds me of that office episode

  7. I totally have seasonal allergies in the spring so I’ll have to try a neti pot out… it just looks so weird. And I literally had that exact cereal and vanilla coconut milk as a snack last night!

  8. jumpeatrun says:

    My mom swears by her neti-pot. I think she’s addicted to it, but somehow I have never tried one.

  9. I am so sick of doctors. Google all the way!!!

  10. I just got over some strange flu-type sickness, and my allergies usually act up in the spring, but I’ve never tried a neti pot…maybe something to try in the future. And I love just about any kind of cereal I can put in my mouth 🙂

  11. Allergies have been crazy this time of year! And GoLean is so delicious, especially with coconut milk:)

  12. Oh my goodness I love the Neti pot if it wasn’t for its exsitance my winter colds would have been so much more miserable. Happy you found something that works!

  13. Carrie says:

    My dad uses a Neti Pot and swears by it! He has mild allergies (cats, eggs, etc.), and it really helps him. Hope it continues to work for you too. 🙂

  14. I love my netipot and use it in the morning and night although I have not had too use it since my sinus surgery! Good luck in finding what works for you! Love + shine Courtstar

  15. Abby says:

    I used to have seasonal allergies. Otherwise I just get really strong reactions to big doses of sun exposure.
    Glad you figured that whole shpeel out – stuffiness and sniffling is no fun! That cereal looks seriously awesome. 10:43 is an adequate lunchtime right? 😉 Have a good weekend, Alex!

  16. daviddhaas22 says:

    Hi I’m David! Please email me when you get a chance, I have a question about your blog!
    David.D.Haas22{at}gmail{dot}com

  17. Courtney says:

    I have the worst allergies! I take Zyrtec, and it works really well 🙂

  18. One of my friends has terrible allergies and swears by the neti pot. Were you scared to use it for the first time? I’m afraid that I’ll feel like I’m drowning!!

Show some love

