Jungle Gyms and a homemade salad bar

I’ve been considering joining a gym for a while now and last night, I went to ACAC to get a trial membership for the rest of the month. After getting the tour of this lovely gym, it was workout time. I did the stairmaster and random upperbody machine workouts. It was fun getting to use all of the different types of equipment – it was like being a kid at a new jungle gym.

How cool is ACAC's kid'z zone jungle gym?

How cool is ACAC’s kid’z zone jungle gym?

I swear sometimes I feel like I’m still 10 years old, especially when I see jungle gyms.

Anyways, the ACAC representative recommended I take Athletic Conditioning Cardio class at 6:00 AM this morning. Challenge accepted.

That class kicked my booty! We were constantly moving and doing different workouts for the entire hour. Talk about a workout. Then it was time to fuel up with breakfast. I mixed my Kashi Go Lean Crisp cereal with crunchy peanut butter and added vanilla coconut milk. Yum!

20130321-114351.jpg

My new favorite breakfast

Last night, my friend Colleen came over for dinner. As usual, I had a kitchen full of veggies but no meats or pastas. Luckily I was able to entice Colleen with a salad for dinner.

20130321-114422.jpg

Veggies galore

I decided to get a little creative and set up a salad bar for us.

BF5JzTZCMAA6xYg

20130321-114427.jpg

Look at all of those toppings

Colleen brought over this delicious Asian-inspired chicken from Trader Joe’s. We had some pretty festive salad combos:

20130321-114454.jpg20130321-114447.jpg

Looks like something from a restaurant, right? πŸ˜‰ I will definitely be doing this homemade salad bar thing again. Easy, healthy and fun!

Yay for Thursdays! Have a good one!

Do you ever feel like a kid again during work outs? What’s your favorite workout at the gym?

Tagged , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “Jungle Gyms and a homemade salad bar

  1. I do miss being able to play on playgrounds. loved those days

  2. Aw I loved jungle gyms as a kid! I’d still get excited to play on one now, hehe.

  3. Brittany says:

    I loveeeee my gym. I don’t really use their machines, I just go to the classes!! Spin class and yoga are my top two weekly classes!

  4. jumpeatrun says:

    How cool is that jungle gym…I was even more excited about it until I read that it was for the kids. haha. I seriously think there should be adult playgrounds and that companies should have mandatory afternoon recess. I think the employees would be so much more productive!

  5. I would SO be interested in playing in the kid’s jungle gym! And the chicken sounds fun, can’t go wrong with TJ’s!

  6. Look at you rocking the morning workouts! Get it girrrl!!

  7. Carrie says:

    Elementary school jungle gyms were the best!

  8. That’s pretty cool! For Christmas I always set up a brunch bar for my fam! Fruit, eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, the works!

  9. Runner Girl Eats says:

    Salad bars are the best! I absolutely love playing on jungle gyms whenever possible.

  10. Ummm, can I please play on that jungle gym?? haha. And LOVE the idea of a salad bar, I always do that when I go home to visit my family because my parents always have a bazillion awesome toppings.

  11. Cindy says:

    Jumping jacks always make me feel like a kid. They remind me of PE class πŸ˜€

  12. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Oh my gosh, I would totally join that gym if they would let me play on that jungle gym!
    I am a 6 year old and a 60 year old at the same time haha.

  13. I definitely feel that way during a new gym class!

  14. pickyrunner says:

    I wish I was 10 years old and still going to play in jungle gyms. I was the queen of them.

  15. Oh my goodness, my 2 year old and I would spend the entire time at the gym together in that jungle gym! That looks phenomenal! I would love to join a gym but where I live, it’s really not feasible and I would miss out on way too much Mommy time. I don’t think there’s anything that motivates me more though, than a group class at a gym!

  16. A jungle gym? How cool is that!!!

  17. Allie says:

    Are kids-at-heart allowed in that play area?? I wanna πŸ˜€ My gym is super low budget, so there aren’t many fun toys–I have a blast when I get the chance to go somewhere bigger/fancier!

  18. I love the homemade salad bar idea. It makes eating salads SO much more fun and creative!

  19. IRENA & dots says:

    Homemade salad bar is a very great idea!!

  20. […] morning I went to a strength conditioning class at the gym. It was similar to the class I took last week except with an emphasis on weights instead of cardio. These early morning workout […]

Show some love

