Celebrations in Moderation

Hallelujah it’s Friday!

I had the best lunch yesterday. Using my leftover couscous, I threw in some lettuce and broccoli and topped it with Parmesan and sharp cheddar cheese. The trick is to microwave the lettuce first and use cooked broccoli. I heated it all in the microwave and called it “Healthy Mac n’ Cheese!”

20130322-095415.jpg

Making comfort foods healthy 🙂

On to the sweet stuff- I baked Funfetti Cake Mix cookies last night.

20130322-095438.jpg20130322-095450.jpg

I usually only bake treats like this if I have someone to give them to, otherwise I’ll eat them all! These cookies are for a celebration at the office- a few of us are bringing in desserts and snacks for a co-worker’s anniversary and the JMU basketball game. Go Dukes!

With spring’s arrival, I’m sure there will be more baked goods and celebrations so I’ve got to nail down a tactic so that I’m not that girl going back for 3rd’s on chocolate brownies. Today, I plan to let myself try the different foods and sweets but only allow myself 1 bite/piece. I’ll let you know how it goes!

20130322-095511.jpg

Hopefully my hearty breakfast will help fend off my over-zealous sweet tooth!

So punny. 😉 Can you tell I was an English major? Have a stellar weekend everyone!

Question of the weekend: How do you monitor your eating habits at a party or get together so that you don’t have to be rolled home like this precious pup?

too cute and couldn't resist!

too cute and couldn’t resist!

Tagged , , , ,

19 thoughts on “Celebrations in Moderation

  1. everything in moderation, I am a firm believer on that.

  2. Cindy says:

    Hooray for Friday!! That pup is too cute. I think I felt like that last time I ate pizza. 😀

  3. Those creations from just nothing are the best 🙂

  4. bentodays says:

    Those cookies look awesome!

  5. Courtney says:

    Those cookies look delicious!! 🙂 Yay for funfetti 😀

  6. jumpeatrun says:

    that god is adorable! I try to just have a bite or two of everything, so i don’t feel deprived, but also don’t feel like i am missing out on something. it helps that i don’t eat meat as well because that automatically limits what i can eat.
    can’t say i have the same control over the cocktails though 😉

  7. Brittany says:

    I went vegan. HAHA no but really, I love that most parties don’t have a lot of vegan options because I do not have good self control when it comes to chocolate!! I can bring my own vegan treats, but then I’ll limit myself cause I don’t wanna eat the same thing over and over. Well I probably would, but I try not to!

  8. LOLOL that pup is too cute!

  9. I am not very good about limiting my treats when at parties. I normally want to try everything so I try to stick to small bites of each instead of filling a plate

  10. I swear that dog was me last night!

    I always try small bites of everything too and I always allow room for treats, because I always feel some type of severe withdrawal or temptation if I don’t.

  11. Oh man, I am so bad about eating just one. I could probably limit myself to just three…maybe…

  12. TGIF!! My goal for April is to eat better. We have our engagement pictures in about 4 weeks and I bought my outfit today. Meaning, the brownies that I am making tonight are going to be my last batch for a little while 🙂

  13. Happy Friday! Cute puppy photo!

  14. Moderation is key. However if I know there will be lots of baked goods, I will eat an actual meal before the part just to curb my appetite and stir it away from all the sweets.

  15. I love baking too – but I always take the goods to the office or my softball team. I cannot be trusted. 🙂

  16. That healthy mac n’ cheese is genius!

  17. Bezzymates says:

    I try my fave treats in moderation. For example, one truffle instead of five.

  18. Funfetti cookies?! I’m drooling

Show some love

