A problem with Intense Cardio?

How about this combo for a strange meal?

20130327-103157.jpg

Black bean + cheddar nachos and seaweed salad

That was my dinner last night. I can’t seem to shake my love for nachos so at least adding lots of veggies in and on the side help make the meal healthy.

Speaking of healthy, I present you with my odd dessert last night.

20130327-103204.jpg

Is it pudding or a brownie?

I mixed apple sauce, cocoa powder, crunchy peanut butter, Chia Goodness, flax, vanilla extract, cinnamon, natural sugar, and baking powder +soda, then microwaved it for a couple of minutes. Clearly I wasn’t bothered by my baking mishaps from the other night! Oh, and it was surprisingly good! (I mean fudgey “chocolate” always is, isn’t it?)

This morning I went to a strength conditioning class at the gym. It was similar to the class I took last week except with an emphasis on weights instead of cardio. These early morning workout classes really rev up my appetite.

20130327-103250.jpg

Cheese and jelly oatmeal date toast + 2-ingredient pancakes-turned muffins

While eating my breakfast, I glanced through one of the gossip magazines sitting around in my apartment. I came across an article on fitness guru Harley Pasternak and his tips for staying “fit.” I was taken back in by what he said:

One of the keys to staying fit and healthy is to keep moving from the moment you wake up. A 50 minute-long spin class at the gym can’t make up for spending the rest of the day sitting at your desks, in the car, in front of the TV, etc. Several recent studies have supported this, and many actually found those that do intense cardio actually increase their appetite and end up eating more throughout the day as a result.

Bold move advising against intense cardio.Β Do you agree with Harley? Disagree? Don’t care, just want more pictures of cheese toast? πŸ˜€

Tagged , , , ,

27 thoughts on “A problem with Intense Cardio?

  1. Amanda says:

    I kind of agree, honestly. We live very sedentary lifestyles because we sit at work, drive everywhere, etc. I know I’m hungrier when I exercise more. I try to walk places as often as I can, and I get up from my desk a lot at work so I’m not sitting forever. I haven’t gained weight from my desk job (yet), but I think we have to make a conscious effort not to be so sedentary.

  2. I try to get up from my desk at the office as often as possible, mostly because I am fidgety and ADD…but yes I do think whatever gets you moving is always a good thing. I also think you should pair cardio with strength training to stay toned and keep your metabolism going and continue to burn calories throughout the day. When I’m not hardcore marathon training I always try to do weights at least twice a week along with running and teaching my classes. I do try and tell those who are losing weight to do what you LOVE and ENJOY…that’s how I lost 50 pounds and have kept it off for the past 5-6 years, simply doing what I love and staying consistent with it. Works for me.

  3. Nicole says:

    I agree that we don’t move enough throughout the day however sometimes sitting in class/at work makes moving throughout the day hard.

  4. those two ingredient pancakes turned muffins look freaking hilarious. Dinner looks delicious!

  5. Huh, that’s pretty interesting. I definitely find that I’m a ravenous beast after I workout in the morning..but I don’t think it completely cancels a good workout. I mean, you can try to be as active as you can throughout the day, but let’s face it. We live in america and most people sit at a desk all day, that’s just the way it is. So I think I’d disagree with what Harley has to say…there’s nothing wrong with a 50 min spin session in the morning!

  6. Angela @ Health's Angel says:

    Hmmm that’s an interesting thought. Having a full time job makes it hard to constantly move throughout the day, though! My job differs every day but some days I’m glued to my chair! No fun.

  7. Was it a Bodypump class? I did one of those once and, my goodness, it was tough!

    I do agree with what he says. I remember reading a post someone had written about how she actually gained weight while training for her marathon, which seems crazy, but fits in with his opinion.

    I’m a proponent that, regardless of how you exercise, what you EAT (or don’t eat) is what really counts!

    • It was actually a conditioning class that the gym offers. The guy who teaches is crazy in shape- he has us moving nonstop and so sweaty at the end! The gym has a body shape class to that I’d like to try. Classes are so fun!

  8. I agree- and I have read it before – the more I exercise the hungrier I am so if I didn’t eat as well as I do, I am sure I would eat more than I burn…and, I have read and also agree that lounging around after a 50 minute workout ends up negating the intense exercise in terms of calorie burn…The bottom line really is, keep active in general and don’t over indulge. Easier said than done!

  9. So lucky i don’t have to sit at my desk all day. In the book I was just reading it talks about the myth that exercise can actually make you gain weight since you become hungrier. It says that if you’re trying to lose weight, you should stick to a lean source or protein and small amount (if any) of complex carbohydrates after a workout. Obviously, if you run 3 miles then eat a bag of Doritos, you’re not making much progress.

  10. Seaweed salad? I don’t know if that would be something I could ever eat… Maybe it’s an acquired taste or something?

  11. Courtney says:

    Those nachos look good! πŸ™‚

  12. Harley’s on to something. It’s so easy to get caught up at work and literally not move for the entire day. I can’t sit still for very long, so I’m always walking, getting water, going to the bathroom, etc.–all those steps add up!

  13. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Here’s what I think:

    Does cardio make your day better?
    Yes.
    So do it. πŸ™‚

    Does sitting at a desk all day suck?
    Yes.
    Do what you can, sit on an exercise ball, climb stairs, walk, make your co-workers think you’re crazy, it’s ok, you’ll feel better! (At least I do!)

  14. I am definitely all about the body in motion idea! I am definitely planning on doing that tomorrow.

  15. Bring on the cheese toast!

    I don’t know that I agree with doing away with intense cardio altogether because I think that’s always a good thing, but I do agree that we do need to get up and move around more, especially if you are stuck at a desk all day. That may help with the over-eating caused by the intense cardio…Also, drink more water!

    That brownie stuff sounds delish!

  16. Kelly says:

    I don’t like the way that quote is worded. People have desk jobs, it’s a fact of life. Not everyone can have a job that involves not sitting for a lot of day, and I can’t really take a break after half hour. Getting some cardio in the morning won’t entirely replace the fact that you’re sedentary for a large portion of the day, but isn’t it better to get up and do a workout if I’m not able to be running around constantly? I certainly think so! And intense workouts burn calories and make your body keep burning more calories than typical for longer, so you do NEED to eat more calories! Eating slightly more (but keeping it healthy) on days you do an intense workout is certainly better than not getting any good exercise in at all, I think. [Plus I work out so I can eat more, duh!]

  17. katiemoves says:

    I agree with the fact that all the sitting that most of us do is really ofsetting a lot of our hard work at the gym. I’m so thankful my job keeps me moving because else I think it would be tough to stay in good shape. but really eating more i dont think is the issue for most

  18. Your breakfast looks awesome! Anything that is sweet AND savory is totally right up my alley :).

  19. I’m not sure where I land on that debate. I feel like a lot of us don’t have a choice when it comes to sitting all day. And if a morning spin class is all you can fit into your schedule then it is certainly better than nothing!

  20. Yay for seaweed salad! And I don’t think I could keep moving all day, all the time. Sometimes I just need a nap haha. But I understand the idea of what he’s saying – one workout won’t make up for the rest of the day if you are being completely sedentary. Interesting quote.

  21. Allie says:

    Well, I think there’s a difference between moving and working out. Yes, if you sit, sit later, and sit some more cardio can’t make up for that. But if you run errands, do housechores, walk from here to there? I’d say it all evens out.

    I’d also say I really want a giant bowl of seaweed salad now. That stuff is so good!

  22. Francene Katzen says:

    I love cardio-don’t care what Harley says!!! I still think its a fat burner.

  23. erika says:

    Totally agree! I’ve found since graduating from college and starting my job that running for half an hour, even an hour every day keeps me struggling to stay at the same weight–when I’m on that schedule, I’m RAVENOUS at my desk! But when I take out the cardio and focus more on taking daily walks around my office, taking yoga, pilates, or going on 30-minute walks at home, I feel better overall because I’m moving around more regularly and definitely not as hungry! However, when I was in college, doing intense cardio nearly 7 days a week worked for me. SoOoOoo…I think it depends on the person, on the lifestyle, on your body πŸ™‚

  24. […] finally made one of these microwavable made-from-scratch desserts that I loved and would actually serve others! I’ll be sure to post the recipe […]

  25. […] A problem with Intense Cardio? | Cookie Dough Katzen http://cookiedoughkatzen.com/Eating Sweets While Working out and staying healthy (by Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen) […]

Show some love

