A PB&J Day

How’s your Tuesday?

photo 3 (4)

Grapefruit & a clean muffin topped with PB for breakfast

I woke up pretty hungry this morning but I was determined to get to yoga before breakfast. I may have been planning this breakfast during shavasana. I’ve actually noticed that my mind is a lot harder to calm in the morning than later in the day. Maybe that’s a sign that I’m meant to be a morning person. 😀

a

I’ve been trying to eat more clean recently. It’s a lot easier when your parents load you up with lots of veggies to take home!

photo 1 (5)

This is one of my new favorite salads. (How often do I say that?) I used spinach, mixed lettuce greens, and broccoli slaw as the base. I then added black beans sprinkled with garlic salt, heart of palm, a little salsa, and tomatoes and peppers on the outskirts. I topped the fiesta with my Mom’s homemade Balsamic Vinaigrette (so good!) and roasted Brussels sprouts. This salad, with a handful of peanuts before dinner on the side, really held my appetite. I don’t know who started the rumor that salads aren’t filling but I beg to differ.

Speaking of peanuts, happy Peanut Butter and Jelly Day! I just perused this Buzzfeed article and am officially craving PB&J desserts, sandwiches, smoothies everything. Chocolate PB&J cups? Sign me up!

What’s your favorite way to eat peanut butter and jelly?

Tagged , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “A PB&J Day

  1. I’m actually not a PB&J fan, mostly because I feel like jelly makes the bread soggy. But I like peanut butter sandwiches 🙂 Favorite way to eat peanut butter would probably be in Reeses Pieces or maybe with an apple.

  2. That salad looks great! I don’t really like jelly but I like peanut butter with just about anything!

  3. Runner Girl Eats says:

    I am not a fan of pb&j at all. I eat them occasionally as a last resort though 🙂

  4. Your salad looks amazing! Roasted brussel sprouts are one of my favorite salad toppers :).

  5. Abby says:

    NO WAY. PB&J day?! I must eat one haha. Your salad looks awesome and I’m with you in trying to eat more clean. Sometimes I find way too many carbs in my day and too few fruits/veggies. We can do it, Alex! 😉 I keep repeating “80-20, 80-20” haha Have a good one!

  6. Brittany says:

    I’m either boring, or a sucker for a classic because I like my PB&J on good old bread!! Just a sandwich!! YUM! Those Brussels…mmmm.

  7. Love PB&J and I actually get to eat them a lot more now because my 2-year-old is such a huge fan too 🙂

  8. That salad looks great!

  9. Courtney says:

    YUM PB & J is the best. I used to love those Uncrustables thingies as a kid… so bad for me, but sooo good!

  10. bentodays says:

    Your salad looks good! Funny that I always crave salads for lunch but then crave for something more satisfying at dinner… bad for my waistline!

  11. I love a PBJ that’s sat in the fridge for an hour or two… get the jelly all soaked in the bread! I just inhaled 2 mini reeses from my secretary’s desk… so now I get to justify it by saying it PBJ day (and I already had a lot of fruit, which counts as jelly). Just being festive 😉

  12. mmm pbj! An old school fave! That meal you prepared looks so colorful and pretty…like artwork 🙂

  13. jumpeatrun says:

    I like to do pb&j between 2 pancakes 🙂
    that salad looks really awesome!

  14. Today I enjoyed my PB&J Mexican style in a tortilla. It was so delicious and completely accidental. Because I ran out of bread. 😉

    LOVE THE BRUSSELS!

  15. I’ll take PB&J any way I can get it! 😉 I had peanut butter and banana toast for breakfast today – amazing!

  16. lol I’m not a jelly person unless it’s this cinnamon pear jelly from Vermont. Sigh… everything is so far and delicious from me in Vermont lol. I’m allergic to PB… evil peanuts!

  17. Cindy says:

    PBJ day, hooray! I love a PBJ sandwich with grape jelly. A yummy comfort food 🙂

  18. I made these PB&J bars by Ina Garten, and they were just delicious.

  19. I love peanut butter and jelly so much! I have been known to put some Doritos in my sandwich, too! So healthy, I know 🙂 haha

  20. katiemoves says:

    Oh noooo I didn’t have a PB&j today!! Wah and I totally have one like every other day. I love it on English muffins! Yummm

  21. that muffin topped with pb looks amazingggg. And I love when parents send you off with a ton of veggies 🙂

  22. Roasted brussel sprouts… yum!

    Favorite way to eat pb&j: In smoothies, or toasted between two slices of bread =)

  23. Mmmm I love layers of PB on pretty much everything haha. That muffin looks great, too!

  24. Carrie says:

    Alex, I am all about brainstorming breakfast ideas during shavasana. The instructor says to clear your mind and think about nothing, but I guess food is my default thought! 😉

  25. Ahh I forgot to celebrate PB+J Day! Better make up for it now…

    PS You won my Starbucks/Luna giveaway!!!! Email me your address, girl! 🙂

  26. Angela @ Health's Angel says:

    I could go for a PB&J Larabar today, even though the holiday was yesterday.
    Completely agree about the salad thing. If you do salads right, they can be filling for sure! I’m on a salad for dinner kick lately because I’ve just been too lazy for anything else. I load them up though with quinoa and a tonnnn of veggies! I also love hummus as a dressing.

  27. I feel ya on the “morning person” energy! I’m up and at ’em in the morning, but by afternoon I could always use a nap. 😛

  28. Meredith says:

    I used to love when my parents sent food home with me…I can’t wait to move back near them for that very reason! My favorite way to eat pb&j would have to be on a tortilla, grilled on the stove so it gets all melted. Yum!

Show some love

