I Joined the Gym

I finally made the decision to join a gym! Honestly, I’m not sure what took me so long because I love attending classes and having all the equipment that a big gym facility offers. I’m currently hooked on the athletic conditioning classes. The instructor has us moving through different exercises non-stop and I’m so sweaty afterwards. I was on a true exercise high this morning.

images

I’m looking forward to trying out some of the other classes at my gym like zumba, pilates, cycle, and some dance classes. I’m committing to the gym and improving my strength. And with that, more healthy meals.

Breakfast for a champion

Breakfast always tastes so good after a workout

Last night I made the healthiest alternative to pasta. I found this recipe on Pinterest for broccoli slaw pasta and had to try it.

photo 1 (8)

Looks just like pasta, tastes like pasta

I heated the pan and cooked the broccoli slaw with 1/4 cup of water for a little over 5 minutes. Next I added canned tomatoes plus a little chicken broth. Finally, I topped it all with pepper, red pepper flakes, garlic salt, and cheese.

photo (2)

Veggie Sketti

I was surprised how well this recipe turned out. I’m definitely going to recreate this meal again and maybe add a healthy version of Alfredo sauce.

Have a great Thursday!

What’s your favorite workout class?

Tagged , , , , ,

36 thoughts on “I Joined the Gym

  1. That broccoli slaw “pasta” recipe sounds awesome!! Thanks for sharing :). I am SO going to try that!

  2. Brittany says:

    I am SO trying that broccoli slaw recipe! YUM! I love my gym, I was the same way when I first signed up. I loveee the classes and it’s all I do there!

  3. Happy to hear you joined a gym! It’s always fun exploring all of the classes!!

  4. Angela @ Health's Angel says:

    I’m starting to get back into spin classes. I went last night and it felt really good. I’ve admittedly been in a workout slump lately, but I’m hoping spin will get my back into a routine!

  5. I’ve heard of using broccoli slaw as pasta from Hungry Girl but haven’t ever actually tried it, thinking it might be weird. If you liked it, I think I’ll have to give it a try.

  6. pickyrunner says:

    So jealous! I want to join a gym but I have no time! This summer I’m going to join one that has yoga, zumba, pilates, barre etc all in one so it’s a one price fits all type of deal.

  7. I really like spaghetti squash pasta but have never tried broccoli slaw pasta before, I will have to add it to the never ending list of new foods I want to try!

  8. Aww man this kind of makes me miss having a gym membership! I just use the one in my building now, so no classes for me… but I used to really enjoy Zumba!

  9. Kaitlin says:

    Oh I love trying new classes although I have never been to a Zumba class. Actually planning to check one out today! (Hopefully) 🙂

  10. bentodays says:

    I should try this broccoli slaw replacement for pasta! Looks good!

  11. I need to try this broccoli slaw!! I tend to do the same thing but with spaghetti squash so I like this new take on it!

  12. Congrats on joining a gym, you’ll love it! I’ve been thinking about upgrading from my cheapskate gym to a more legit one…we’ll see if that happens! What brand of broccoli slaw did you buy? I’m intrigued!

  13. Love that breakfast! And yayy to joining the gym – I am thinking about joining one for the summer 🙂

  14. carlyjg says:

    I’m amazed at how pasta-like the broccoli slaw turned out! And congrats on the gym membership :). I loooove group exercise classes, so gyms make me very happy.

  15. bezzymates says:

    Enjoy the gym. Broccoli slaw looks great.

  16. Stephanie says:

    That broccoli slaw dish sounds delicious! So creative. That’s great that you are enjoying your gym membership. I primarily run for excercise with a little bit of kettlebell to mix things up. Have a great day!

  17. Cindy says:

    People are so creative. I wouldn’t have thought of turning broccoli slaw into that. lol Looks good 😀

  18. This looks amazing, girl! That is awesome that you joined a gym, working out is such a pick-me-up! 🙂

  19. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    I’ve been wanting to try broccoli slaw for forever now. I love veggies with crunch so I think I would adore it! Slather it in cheese and I know I will ! 🙂

    Yey for joining a gym, wohoo! I’m not big on classes but I really do want to try some of the ones that focus on overall strength and conditioning for cross training and total body strength!

  20. Ohh sometimes I replace spaghetti with zucchini shreds or spaghetti squash, but I’ve never tried broccoli! Yum!

  21. Meredith says:

    I’m loving the sounds of that broccoli slaw recipe, yum! Congrats on joining a gym, classes are the best! I’d say my favorite class is body pump. It’s energizing and makes me stronger and fitter, I love going!

  22. Your veggie sketti looks good. I love spaghetti squash in place of noodles, so I’m sure this is just as good.
    Have fun at your new gym! Nothing is as motivating as the buzz in a gym. I love using other peoples energy to get pumped up. If I’m organized enough to make it to a class, I love spin! The musics always the best!

  23. Lish says:

    yum! that looks really tasty! so excited you joined a gym. I have a small free one at my apartment that I rarely go too, but i definitely miss the classes offered at a larger gym.

  24. I love broccoli slaw but never thought of cooking it that way, sounds delicious!

  25. ligonsn says:

    I love the veggie pasta you can buy at the store….it’s not much more expensive that regular whole wheat pasta. Also I like spaghetti squash is delicious too. 🙂

  26. Wow! I’m going to have to try that broccoli slaw pasta! That sounds so good!!!

  27. That does sound really good…and congratulations on joining the gym 🙂

  28. Carrie says:

    Oooo, veggie sketti sounds good! When I belonged to the YMCA, I’d hit up cycling classes all the time–so much fun. 🙂

  29. I’m a gym rat lol. But when I have the balls… cardio kickboxing is my FAVORITE!

  30. Abby says:

    Congrats on the gym joining! I also love the community a gym has to offer. That dinner looks goooood, girl- always down for new alternatives. Have a great Friday, Alex!

  31. I know the gym classes you’re talking about. They do kick your butt! My favorite part is watching how quickly the big, very muscled guys collapse from exhaustion. (Of course, I’m usually collapsing next to them)

  32. Mmm…that recipe looks absolutely delicious!! I’ll have to give it a try!

  33. Hooray! Joining a gym is a great motivator. Pilates, zumba, spinning – I love all of those! My favorites, though, are the dance-based classes, like hip hop and zumba. how fun!

  34. […] Healthy and easy Veggie Sketti! […]

Show some love

