Think like an Adult, Act Like a Kid

It’s interesting to see the relationship most children have with food. I was thinking about this the other day. It seems like most kids eat to live, not live to eat. This relationship can also be compared with wearing a coat as a kid. I never wanted to wear a coat because it was constricting. I couldn’t ride my bike or build a fort as easily when I was wearing a bulky coat. The same goes with food. I didn’t want to over eat because it would limit my movement. Kids run when they want to get somewhere, not walk. They are always on the go. Perhaps if we started acting more like our childhood selves, we’d find a true healthy balance to nutrition and fitness.

And with that, last night I made dinner with a friend and we went to yoga class afterward.

photo 3 (7)

After searching through a few recipes online, I decided to make goat cheese quinoa. Get ready for lots of quinoa meals to come.

Thanks to my parents! Can you tell we're a fan of the Costco ;)

Thanks to my parents! Can you tell we’re a fan of the Costco?

I cooked the quinoa on the stove with water for about 15 minutes. In another pan, I cooked broccoli and spinach in olive oil and pepper. Then, I added goat cheese, Chobani plain Greek yogurt, Italian seasonings, and garlic salt to the quinoa and finally the veggies.

Goat Cheese Veggie Quinoa

Goat Cheese Veggie Quinoa

After dinner, we headed to the gym for Hatha yoga. It was a very low intensity class but relaxing, nonetheless!

With all of those depleted calories, we had to go restock. πŸ˜‰

photo 4 (6)

It’s love

By the looks of that master piece, I clearly acted like a kid but I thought like an adult and managed to get less than $3 worth! (Let me just say, that never happens, ever. I’m usually relieved if my bowl is under $5.) Maybe the yoga class improved my will power. πŸ™‚

And with that, have a great weekend everyone!

What were you like as a kid when it came to nutrition and fitness activities?

Tagged , , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “Think like an Adult, Act Like a Kid

  1. Carrie says:

    Mmm, quinoa is so, so good! Cooking it with half water and half veggie stock adds so much flavor. Come to think of it, I didn’t have any quinoa all week–yikes! πŸ˜‰

  2. Joy says:

    You nailed it with kids health, great post! Goat cheese veggie quinoa sounds yummy.

  3. Abby says:

    Oh, great points Alex. Kids will not think about the calories in what their eating, but manage to stop and listen to their bodies without thinking too hard about it, which always is interesting to me too. It’s kind of crazy to think we were all like that once. πŸ™‚ Have a good one!!

  4. Erin says:

    I bought that quinoa from Costco too!

  5. Oh your love for sprinkles makes me so very happy! And you really have a point there…I notice that with my 2-year-old. He doesn’t care if he eats or not, he doesn’t care if it’s cold outsides if he’s wearing a coat or not, as long as he’s playing and happy. Very good points!

  6. Goat cheese is my favorite. And froyo. Holy yum.

  7. Oh goodness I love quinoa with goat cheese! One of my faves.

  8. My family bought the Costco-sized quinoa bag too! I’ll have to check back and see what other recipes you come up with!

  9. Kaitlin says:

    That’s really good willpower πŸ™‚ Usually mine tips the scale πŸ˜‰

  10. bentodays says:

    Your comment about increasing our movements (like how kids do) is so true!

  11. Lish says:

    I love everything about that goat cheese quinoa recipe! Totally stealing that one from you πŸ™‚ Also, now I have to get fro-yo later- you have planted the seed!

  12. Seeing that costco quinoa bag just made me laugh! My parents are stopping by my place on their way to visit my aunt and called from costco asking what I wanted them to bring, I think I have quinoa, almond butter and chia seeds on the way. When I was little my mom made healthy meals most of the time but I also didnt think twice about what I ate when not at home.

  13. I always load up the sprinkles, the more the better.

  14. Kid’s definitely got it down. As much as I love food, I have to admit that eating to live rather than living to eat results in a much more satisfying life. Great post, girl! And great way to end the day πŸ˜€

  15. Angela @ Health's Angel says:

    I’ve been all about quinoa lately. I love cooking it in veggie stock!
    It’s interesting to look back on how I ate when I was younger. I never overthought my food choices but then again, I was lucky that my mom took care of all of that. πŸ˜‰ you can’t help but think about food a lot when you’re a 23 year old single chick who makes all her own meals.
    There’s lots of sunshine here today and I’m thinking it’s the perfect froyo/ice cream weather.

  16. Courtney says:

    Love the yogurt! Looks so yummy πŸ™‚

  17. Sprinkles. Always the way to go!

  18. I love quinoa, and I’m really wanting to make it at home (I eat it from the school salad bar)! I’m not really big into goat cheese, so I’ll do a bit of Pinteresting for recipes. You’ve inspired me to cook some now!

  19. Girl, share quinoa recipes all week if you’d like. I got a bag sitting in my cupboard waiting to go to good use =)

  20. Great post!! I think we could all benefit from an eat to live way of life!! πŸ™‚

  21. Meredith says:

    Awesome post. I often think that it would be better for us, and easier, if we thought like kids think when it comes to food. For instance, stop eating when you’re full, eat smaller portions, etc. I haven’t added goat cheese to quinoa before, but now I will!

  22. Great analogy!! Mmm quinoa is the best

  23. Brittany says:

    MMM cheesy quinoa!! As a kid I ate like a grown man with no care in the world haha. I ate whatever I wanted, but that wasn’t necessarily a good thing! I much prefer my eating habits now, in fact I think I eat more sweets as an adult than I did as a kid!

  24. wow that looks good! can’t wait for more recipes πŸ™‚ and as a kid I ate WAY TO MANY cookies >.<

  25. My mom had to practically force food into me when I was a kid.. Funny how much things have changed since then! haha

  26. That’s a great way of thinking about it! And I’ve got that same bag of quinoa from Costco and need to use it up… I’m ashamed to say that I’ve had it since college haha πŸ˜›

  27. I’m always SO proud of myself when I don’t spend a fortune on self serve fro yo- soo many toppings to choose from!

  28. The stars seriously aligned when I saw this post – I had just been pondering/sort of looking for a recipe I could make for dinner tonight, with quinoa and spinach! Perfect! I’ll be blogging a variation of this tonight, thanks for sharing!

  29. […] of quinoa, but am finding it easy to make, filling, and very versatile. Like magic, Alex posted a yummy dish that combined bothΒ the spinach and the quinoa! And the highlight? It used my new favorite thing in the whole wide world —– GOAT […]

Show some love

