Vegan for a Weekend

It’s 80 degrees outside! I love warm weather. Winter not so much, unless it snows, otherwise it’s just cold for no reason. I will say that the seasons make me really appreciate the warmth. It’s so much easier to get out of bed when it’s not freezing outside too.

And a good breakfast helps too

And a good breakfast also helps πŸ˜‰

So for the past few days, I’ve been playing around with eating only vegan foods. I unintentionally ordered a vegan dish on Friday evening and I decided to give the diet a try for the weekend. It was actually pretty easy minus having to skip out on some slice and bake, hot cookies.

My less than attractive brownie helped my sweet tooth though

My less than attractive brownie helped my sweet tooth though

It was actually kind of fun trying to get creative with my food. For dinner last night, I thought it would be a challenge to eat a baked potato without cheese, butter and sour cream. Mission accomplished though!

photo 1

Don’t let the yellow topping fool ya’! It’s nutritional yeast. What a strange ingredient but it actually tastes alright. I also used salsa, garlic salt and black beans to flavor my potato. Β It was good and I almost didn’t even miss the delicious dairy toppings. Almost.

I don’t plan on becoming a vegetarian, vegan, or anything else like that but I do appreciate the meals. Going forward, I hope to incorporate more vegan dishes into my meal planning.

Dietary needs are often a topic of controversy.Β What are your thoughts on vegetarianism, veganism, and seafood-ism?

Seafood-ism: noun the theory or practice of living on a diet that encompasses all foods; commonly referred to as you see food, you eat it! πŸ˜‰

Tagged , , , ,

22 thoughts on “Vegan for a Weekend

  1. I think it’s fun to try out vegan/vegetarian too! I have tried it a few times. I love goat cheese too much though to stick to it πŸ˜‰ Want to try out nutritional yeast, I have seen it on other HLB blogs. Looks interesting.

  2. Abby says:

    I’ve totally thought about this before. It sounds weird, but on my bucket list for the year I have go vegan for a day/week. I feel like dairy would be the hardest for me… props to you though! Thanks for recultivating the idea in my mind!

  3. I think it’s good to have meatless meals every so often, but I try and have a food group represented at every meal. I don’t think it’s healthy for me to cut something out entirely.

  4. I have become quite a fan of nutritional yeast lately. I used to never know how to eat it to make it taste good but now I dig it

  5. I love trying out new recipes, it is always the fun part of a new diet.

  6. I randomly became a vegetarian last year after having a stomach virus- I didn’t plan it but within 2 weeks of not eating meat or poultry I felt 100% different and amazing. I never looked back. I could easily be vegan as well BUT I REFUSE to give up my favorite desserts.

  7. I don’t think I could ever be anything but seefoodism!! Haha, I think I could be a vegetarian for a little while, but I don’t believe I could ever be completely vegan, however, I think it is good to try different things out like that every now and then.

  8. bentodays says:

    I wouldn’t mind going vegetarian for a few days a week!

  9. Angela @ Health's Angel says:

    I’m an unofficial pescatarian. I say unofficial because I don’t like labeling my diet, but I stopped eating chicken and red meat a few months ago and it’s been a great change for me. I also avoid dairy products at all costs- but I slip up every once and awhile. So…sometimes I feel vegan/vegetarian. Hence why I don’t like the labels. πŸ˜‰ These changes have been AWESOME though. And I don’t think I’ll ever go back. They’ve forced me to be more creative with my food and I eat produce like crazy now- and processed things sparingly.

  10. I’m not a big fan of diet labels in general. I think we should all just eat the things that make us feel good and stop worrying so much about classification. Labels can make things a little simpler, but they can cause a lot of problems too.

  11. jumpeatrun says:

    That’s awesome that you had a vegan weekend! I’m a pesco vegetarian and could never give up my obsession with cheese, but I could totally try veganism for a weekend…hmmm- you may have inspired me πŸ™‚

  12. bezzymates says:

    I think going meatless is something we should all try. Your baked potato looks great.

  13. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Like you I have no intention to go vegan, but it is fun to give things a go on a whim just for the heck of it.
    I think that actually sounds kinda fun, vegan dinner? why not vegan weekend?

  14. pickyrunner says:

    Haha I don’t think I’ve ever accidentally eaten a vegan dish before. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten one at all, actually since all my protein either comes from cheese or meat. I’d definitely fail on that challege. And skipping out on the cookies. Yea just no. Not for me πŸ˜‰

  15. Wow, I am impressed – I COULD NEVER go vegan, EVER! Probably because my stomach cannot process vegan foods (IE: I cannot eat a lot of high fiber things, thanks to my stomach issues)… But if I could eat vegan, I don’t think it would because I actually don’t find it to be particularly healthy and… I LOVE ME A GOOD JUICY BURGER! lol!!

  16. I’m so so jealous of your 80 degrees!! We’re supposed to get a foot of snow in the next 2 days :/ I was formerly a vegetarian and felt awesome during that time! I think no matter how you label yourself, it is important to understand how your diet affects your body.

  17. Kaitlin says:

    Sometimes I end up being a vegetarian without realizing it. I don’t often purchase meat because it goes bad before I can finish, but rarely turn down a good hamburger πŸ™‚ I do love fish. I don’t think I could be vegan though. I love dairy too much. Good for you!!

  18. Good for you on giving vegan a try for the weekend. It never hurts to experiment by any means =)

  19. I will never be a vegan or a vegetarian, but I do love switching things up!

  20. I agree! Switching things up is good one in a while. It’s fun to experiment too πŸ™‚

  21. What exactly does nutritional yeast taste like? Can you compare it to anything? I’ve wanted to try it…but being in science, all I can think about is when we make yeast and it smells so darn bad haha. Vegen for a weekend is definitely an adventure! Kudos to you πŸ™‚

Show some love

