Chocolate Mug Brownie

An easy to make brownie gone healthy.

After a few attempts, I present you with a healthy chocolate brownie mug! (And your non-health-crazed friends will like it too!)ย 

Healthy Chocolate Brownie

Did I mention it’s dairy and gluten free?

Ingredients

2 Tbsp apple sauce

2 Tbsp almond milk (any type of milk works)

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

2 Tbsp cocoa powder

2 Tbsp sugar (I used “sugar in the raw”)

1 Tbsp truvia (or sugar)

pinch of salt

pinch of baking powder

1 Tbsp chia seeds (or sub another Tbsp oats)

1 tsp of flax (optional way to add some nutrients)

4 Tbsp oats (measure oats first, then grind in the food processor)

Directions

Mix the 3 liquid ingredients in a large mug. Then stir each dry ingredient in one at a time.

Brownie Batter

Microwave the mixture for 1-2 minutes, depending on microwave power.

Microwaved Brownie

Add sprinkles ๐Ÿ™‚

Chocolate brownie with rainbow sprinkles

Enjoy the sugar high and the fact that this brownie is healthy!

photo 2 (1)

The best part about this dessert is the ingredients. I used a recipe from Food.comย for the measurements but swapped healthier options, like applesauce instead of butter.

Brownie cake pop gone healthy?

Posing like a cake pop

What’s your favorite kind of dessert?ย Have you tried these easy microwavable, healthy desserts?

Tagged , , , , ,

35 thoughts on “Chocolate Mug Brownie

  1. Taryn says:

    Love that you added sprinkles – it’s so pretty!

  2. Wow no egg, I love the ingredient list, it must took you a lot of trys before you got this right, but it looks worth it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Such a cute recipe, love microwavable concoctions. I recently started microwaving eggs when I’m in a rush…such a timesaver!

  4. Healthy brownies?? I am all for that! I love that you added sprinkles, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Looks good! Love anything w/ rainbow sprinks!!

  6. MUST try this!! Looks wonderful!

  7. Abby says:

    You rock girl! Love all the sprinkles, too!! Have a great day!

  8. pickyrunner says:

    Wait, no eggs? YUM. This is totally possible for me! I bet it would be good with chocolate milk… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. This looks so good! I actually just got a microwave and want to try this out asap! Thanks for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. jumpeatrun says:

    Awesome recipe- looks so good too!
    Happy Thursday!

  11. The sprinkles make it 10 times cuter. I need this now!

  12. Adding the sprinkles was my favorite step ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve never tried a microwave cake before, but I’ve gotta admit that they sound pretty enticing.

  13. dude that looks good. I need sprinkles in my life now

  14. Mmmm that looks tasty! I love brownies, but my favorite dessert has got to be a lava cake. That fudgy melty center makes me go wild every time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Courtney says:

    Oh man, this looks SO GOOD! Can’t wait to try it ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Carrie says:

    Mmmm, looks good!

  17. Ahhhh, yes please, thanks for sharing!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. This looks awesome!! I love all kinds of desserts but I think cup cakes always win for me!

  19. bentodays says:

    Looks yummy and so convenient!

  20. Yum!! I could make this gluten free too! Thanks for the recipe! Love it!

  21. I have been meaning to try these single serve microwave desserts for awhile now. I love that you used healthier ingredients!

  22. Single serve microwaved desserts are awesome! I love making cinnamon raisin ones because they remind me of oatmeal cookies ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Brittany says:

    I don’t own a microwave, so I will have to try this when I am somewhere that does!! It looks delicious and obviously I LOVE that it’s dairy free!! I just baked cookies last night using applesauce instead of eggs. So much versatility in food swaps!!

  24. Sprinkles always make whatever baked good, or food in general THAT much better… at least to me they do =)

  25. Meredith says:

    Oh wow! I tried a Pinterest brownie-in-a-mug and it was good, but not healthy by any-means. I’ll be trying this!

  26. Courtney @ Star Systemz says:

    Sprinkles make everything amazing ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am obsessed with brownie mugs + coffee (such a starbucks moment without the crazy calories) Have an amazing weekend Alex! Love + Shine COURTSTAR

  27. Mmm! Can’t beat a healthy and easy chocolate dessert! And anything tastes better with sprinkles ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. Kaitlin says:

    LOVE MUG BROWNIES! I’m trying to go no sugar so this is perfect ๐Ÿ˜‰

  29. Yum. Sprinkles make everything perfect ๐Ÿ™‚

  30. […] For dessert, I whipped up a chocolate brownie mug. […]

  31. […] Like my chocolate mug brownie recipe […]

  32. […] Microwavable Brownieย (similar to myย healthy mug brownie) […]

Show some love

