Peanut Butter and Chia

I whipped up a quick salad for dinner last night with arugala.

photo 1 (1)

Since I was out of cheese and wanted something savory, I made a homemade dressing with Chobani plain Greek yogurt. I used a spoonfull of yogurt and a spoonfull of pesto then mixed in garlic salt, pepper, a little almond milk, and red pepper flakes. It was tasty!

photo 2

Also had this salsa with crackers on the side

For dessert, I whipped up a chocolate brownie mug.

So gooey and chocolatey

So gooey and chocolatey

After I let my food digest (note to self- 20 minutes isn’t long enough), I went to Vinyasa yoga, my favorite type.

When I woke up this morning, I headed to the gym for my conditioning class and was strangely not hungry when I got back.

Don't worry though, I still ate :)

Don’t worry though, I still ate πŸ™‚

I had one of my banana oatmeal muffinsΒ with crunch peanut butter and chia seeds on top. I’ve always got room for more peanut butter!

Have a great Wednesday!

Question: Have you tried chia seeds? What do you think about them?

Tagged , , ,

36 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and Chia

  1. I could literally eat salsa with a spoon, love salsa

  2. Kaitlin says:

    YUM! Love that idea for chobani dressing πŸ™‚ I actually put chia seeds in my oatmeal. My friend puts it in her green tea. Interesting!

  3. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    I love chia seeds! I hate the “super food” bull that people try and attach to them, but the texture they ad to food is great!

    My favorite way to eat them is in my yogurt!

  4. I don’t like a whole lot of dressing, but that sounds really good!

  5. I want, no, need, this chocolate brownie mug!! πŸ™‚

  6. jumpeatrun says:

    I eat chia on sooo many things! I love em! You are so creative with your chobani- I’m impressed πŸ™‚

  7. Hayley says:

    I had an arugula salad with dinner last night with sun dried tomatoes and parmesan cheese – so delish!

  8. Love love love chia seeds! I put them in my oats and also on PB and toast πŸ™‚

  9. I love the sound of your homemade dressing and chia seeds! I put them in my oatmeal, granola, cookies and on toast they are so good.

  10. genext13 says:

    I add chia seeds to my smoothies for texture and protein. Great stuff!

  11. I like adding a spoonful of chia to my smoothies to thicken them up, but I don’t enjoy eating the seeds straight up because they have a nasty habit of getting stuck in my teeth. Aaaand now I’m craving chocolate πŸ˜›

  12. 20 minutes is definitely not enough time to digest food before yoga, I’ve SO been there πŸ™‚ And for chia seeds, I’m a huge advocate of them!! They add an awesome crunch to yogurt and salads!

  13. Chia seeds are awesome, I try to sprinkle them into any and everything πŸ™‚ And Isn’t arugala delicious? I love it!

  14. MMMMM Chocolate Brownie mug looks LEGIT! And I don’t even like chocolate. I think the SPRINKLES are what are alluring me! They’re giving me suggestive nods, lol!!

    And I have actually NEVER tried Chia Seeds before. I have heard so many mixed reviews!!

  15. I have been SO curious about chia seeds after reading about them in Born to Run. Never thought to sprinkle them on muffins! Super fun πŸ™‚

    Also, I totally hear you on digesting before yoga. I need at least 90 minutes!

  16. haha agreed, there is literally always room for pb. That greek yogurt/pesto dip sounds delicious too!

  17. bentodays says:

    Love that salsa, looks so refreshing!

  18. That salad dressing sounds great, I’ll have to try them!

    I’ve only had Chia seeds in my overnight oatmeal, and so far I love the consistency they add to the mix! The more I read about them, the more I want to find ways to add them to my meals!

  19. Angela @ Health's Angel says:

    Aw, I miss vinyasa! I haven’t been to a class in months, since my Groupon for a local studio expired. πŸ™‚
    All I’ve been wanting for dinner lately are cool, crisp salads!

  20. I bought a big bag of chia seeds to make over night oats, however I find them rather useless otherwise lol. I mean they don’t have a taste and they just add calories, right??

  21. bezzymates says:

    Have to try that dressing. It sounds great.

  22. I do that same trick with bell pepper slices!

  23. I eat salsa like soup- sorry not sorry πŸ˜‰ Happy WIAW!

  24. I have actually never had chia seeds! I’ve always been curious though.

    Also PS your giveaway prize is FINALLY in the mail. Sorry for the delay, girl!

  25. Meredith says:

    I still have yet to try chia seeds…I really need to hop on that band-wagon since I keep reading great things about them.
    And seriously, after that picture, I am reminded that I need to try your brownie in a mug!

  26. I have been adding chia seeds to my pot of steel cut oatmeal lately…I can’t say I like or dislike them – they are just there lol. They pack so many health benefits in those little seeds that I am thrilled to throw them into my diet and my son’s as well. He hasn’t even mentioned that he notices them in his oatmeal. I want to try using them in place of eggs in my baking recipes next.

  27. I have been making tons of microwave muffins with coconut flour and applesauce as a base. I like that your chocolate brownie is vegan! Where do you do yoga? Have we been in the same class and I didn’t realize? πŸ™‚

    • Awesome! I take yoga at ACAC. I just joined and I’m loving the facility. I’ve taken a class at Bikram once before and liked that too. Where do you practice? We’ll definitely have to meet up in Cville soon! πŸ˜€

  28. Courtney says:

    That mug brownie looks ammmmazing! I’ve never tried chia seeds… they kind of freak me out and I don’t know why. πŸ˜›

  29. I love chia seeds!! I put them in my overnight oats!!

Show some love

