Welcoming 24

This weekend, I celebrated my 24th birthday. To celebrate, we went to Whiskey Jar to enjoy drinks and eats.

photo 1 (4)

Mint Juleps all around!

Beet salad for dinner

Beet salad for dinner

In light of my new cooking adventures, my girlfriends got me the perfect gift from Anthropology!

Cookie Dough Katzen approved

Cookie Dough Katzen approved

My parents came to town and we went wine tasting at Blenheim Vineyards.

photo 1 (5)photo 2 (5)

 

I celebrated with lots of other mature 24-year-old activties.

Like taking selfies with a bestie

Like taking selfies with a bestie

Putting on temporary tattoos

Putting on temporary tattoos

And eating late night snacks

And eating late night snacks

(By the way, a rice cake pizza is aย geniusย snack. Thanks Sara!)

Age is overrated. ๐Ÿ™‚

In light of getting old older, here are some inspiring quotes from articles that I read this weekend:

“The human mind is a miracle, and you will never see it spring more beautifully into action than when it is fighting against evidence that it needs to change. Your psyche is equipped with layer after layer of defense mechanisms designed to shoot down anything that might keep things from staying exactly where they are.”ย -David Wong, “6 Harsh Truths That Will Make You a Better Person

“Youth is a time of total empowerment. You get to do what you want. As you mature and gain new responsibilities, you have to be very intentional about making sure you donโ€™t lose sight of whatโ€™s important. The best way to do that is to make investments in your life so that you can have an effect on who you are in your later years.”ย -Jeff Goins, “Why You Should Travel Young

Have a Marvelous Monday!

Tagged , , , ,

37 thoughts on “Welcoming 24

  1. Joy says:

    Happy Birthday! Looks like a fun weekend!!

  2. rice cake pizza?? genius! why have I never tried that. Happy birthday lady!

  3. pickyrunner says:

    Aww happy birthday! It seems like you celebrated it in a really fun way ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Happy birthday lovely! Sounds like a wonderful weekend too!!

  5. Happy Birthday!! It looks like you had an amazing weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Happy birthday! I love how you celebrated, because I would have been right there with ya. Haha. And that gift is AWESOME!

  7. Happy birthday, Alex!!

    LOVE that apron! You look so cute!

  8. Happy Birthday!!! I am loving the apron, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Happy birthday!! Looks like you had a great weekend! LOVE that apron!

  10. Happy 24th Birthday! I love your wine tasting outfit, so cute! And you’re such a southern belle with your mint julep ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks like a marvelous weekend, I hope it’s a marvelous year!

  11. jumpeatrun says:

    Happy Birthday!!!! That apron is super adorable! I’ve actually never had a mint julep!

  12. happy birthday! your blog is great keep up the good work!!

  13. Courtney says:

    Happy birthday, Alex! Sounds like a great time!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Happy birthday!!! Mint juleps are my fav & that apron is beyond cute.

  15. Angela @ Health's Angel says:

    Happy birthday!

  16. bezzymates says:

    Awww. You’re just a baby. Happy 24th. Lovely quotes to end this post and cute apron.

  17. Happy Birthday, girlie! It looks like you had an amazing day, and I absolutely love that apron – so cute!

  18. Kaitlin says:

    Happy belated birthday! I love seeing that there’s life after college ๐Ÿ™‚ is nerve wracking as I get into the last two months!!

  19. Carrie says:

    Happy belated birthday! Wine touring is *the* best! I went to college in Upstate NY wine country, so it was normal for seniors to spend a Sunday afternoon at a winery. Miss those days!

  20. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Happy Birthday!!!!!
    Love! The apron, my grandmother gave me one for my birthday and I adore it haha!

    There is so much value in that second quote! I am really trying to focus now only not worrying about getting ready for the future and saying yes to that extra happy hour, or lost hour of sleep.

  21. katiemoves says:

    Happy birthday!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am also 24, good age ๐Ÿ™‚ lol. Looks like you had. Good time and I love the apron!! So cute

  22. Happy belated Birthday!

  23. Super Cute apron!! Happy Belated Birthday!!

  24. Abby says:

    Happy birthday!! Let me tell you, you are one beautiful 24-year-old! You’re lucky to have such wonderful friends and family in your life ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. Woohoo Happy birthday!! Glad you had a blast!

  26. Erin says:

    Happy birthday girl!! Welcome to the 24 club!

  27. Happy Birthday!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Winery trips sound like an amazing way to celebrate.

  28. It sounds like you had a great birthday weekend! Happy late birthday! Roasted beet salad with feta/goat cheese is probably one of my favorite ‘fancy’ salads.

  29. Happy Birthday! That apron is adorable. Looks like it was a great weekend!

  30. Meredith says:

    Happy birthday! I’m loving your red skinny jeans, adorable!

  31. Rice cake pizza?? Genius!

  32. Happy birthday!!! This looks like so much fun.

    PS Did you get my package yet? I just want to make sure it didn’t get lost in the mail! ๐Ÿ™‚

  33. Happy Birthday!! Sounds like an awesome weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

  34. Courtney @ Star Systemz says:

    Happy 24th birthday Alex! I’m obsessed with your red pants and polka dot shirt so cute! Happy you enjoyed your day and I hope you have a great week! Sending you love and light! LOVE + Shine Courtstar

  35. Allie says:

    And happy (belated) birthday! Loved that you celebrated getting older by celebrating things not-so-old. Temporary tattoos!

  36. Nicole says:

    How did I miss your birthday post??? ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Birthday!!!

Show some love

