Crunchy Chic Peas

Hello! Last night I made crispy chic peas using this recipe.

Drain the chic peas then add olive oil and seasonings

Drain the chic peas then add olive oil and seasonings

Spread them on a pan and bake for about 45 minutes on 350.

photo 4 (1)

An easy, healthy and crunchy snack

For dinner last night, I was out of produce so I made cheesy quinoa with cabbage on the side.

Had to get some veggies in this meal

Snuck some veggies in this meal

The cheesy quinoa was really good. I used nutritional yeast, parmesan, hot sauce, dijon mustard, pepper, garlic powder, some chicken broth, and a string cheese.

Speaking of cheese, I made another batch of popcorn and decided to top it with nutritional yeast like a lot of you guys had recommended. It was great!

photo 1 (2)

Popcorn is the best.

Hope everyone had a great weekend!

Question of the day:Β It seems like hummus is all the rage, especially in the healthy living community.Β Do you love hummus?

Tagged , , ,

40 thoughts on “Crunchy Chic Peas

  1. Cindy says:

    I have got to try these chickpeas. I keep seeing these roasted chickpeas everywhere. It’s like they are calling out to me…make me. lol

  2. I like hummus but I don’t eat it on a regular basis. My son loves it so I always have it in the house but I don’t crave it often. I do however love it on occasion on top of a great salad with chick peas and/or feta – just like I get at my favorite vegetarian place, Maoz. I think about their salad bar all of the time lol.

  3. Love hummus! And chickpeas! You’re making me hungry for lunch πŸ™‚

  4. katiemoves says:

    I do love hummus! Especially with pretzel thins (buffalo kind!! Mmm) and the cheesy quinoa sounds very good πŸ™‚

  5. Beth says:

    LOVE hummus … on ANYthing!! πŸ™‚ And yes, you just made ME hungry too!! Have a GREAT week Alex!! πŸ™‚

  6. I used to work at a Mediterranean restaurant and nothing will ever compare to their hummus….

  7. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Haha I love that someone else likes cabbage and doesn’t hink it’s weird πŸ™‚

    I love hummus but I’m a snob. I’ll only get it from middle eastern restaurants. He stuff they sell at the store tastes like a whole other food, I’ll save my money for the good stuff thanks πŸ™‚

  8. Yesssss, you literally read my mind! I’ve been craving chickpeas!

  9. Joy says:

    I’m trying that chick pea recipe today, thanks! And yes, hummus rocks – especially if it’s got a spicy kick to it.

  10. Roasted chickpeas are the best!! I find it funny that I now love eating chickpeas as a snack :).

    And I am so glad that you liked the nutritional yeast on the popcorn. It makes for an amazing topping, right? πŸ™‚

  11. I seriously adore crunchy chickpeas. strangely I don’t like them unless they are in hummus or cruncy.

  12. I do love hummus, but I much prefer popcorn πŸ˜€ I haven’t topped my popcorn with nutritional yeast in a long while now, but it used to be one of my favorite ways to eat it. Going to have to break it out of my pantry and abandon the coconut oil and honey combination for a while,

  13. I really don’t like hummus, but partly bc most have tahini and I am allergic to sesame seeds. I did try a hummus from The Franklin in Gloucester, MA and it was so delicious! It was just the hummus, olive oil, garlic and spices.

  14. Haha love that hummus is “all the rage” πŸ™‚ There’s actually a restaurant near where I work, ironically called Hummus, that makes the creamiest most delicious hummus ever! I love that. Otherwise Sabra and the other grocery store brands are okay and I snack on it a lot with veggies and pita, but nothing beats homemade.

  15. Erin says:

    I actually am not a huge hummus fan! It just tastes weird to me lol

  16. I like hummus, but I don’t ever seem to buy it to eat at home, it’s always something that I pick in a restaurant dish. I think I need to remedy that!

  17. jumpeatrun says:

    I am actually obsessed with hummus and usually have multiple flavors in my fridge. i wish i could buy it in a gallon tub- haha.

  18. Courtney says:

    Hummus is awesome!! I love roasted red pepper hummus the best πŸ™‚

  19. Hummus is so good and so versatile! You can put pretty much anything in it.

    I keep meaning to try roasting chick peas! Did you like how they turned out?

  20. I have tried roasting chick peas twice and failed both times. Once they were way to burnt and the other time I couldnt get them crispy. I need to figure out what to change because they sound so good!

  21. Right now I’m really into edamame hummus, but I now want to try these crunchy chick peas! They look tasty!

  22. Oh my goodness. I love chickpeas! They’re so versatile. Have you every made cookie dough brownies using them? The brownies are super nutritious, of course. Check them out on the web!

  23. I do like hummus, especially if it has a kick to it!

  24. Meredith says:

    I love roasted chickpeas! I do like hummus, but only certain brands/flavors. Garlic is probably my favorite, but I have yet to find one in Australia that I’m crazy about, so I haven’t had any in a while.

  25. Nutritional yeast is seriously my best friend. I love that stuff. I like to put it on my kale chips!

  26. Nicole says:

    I’ve been wanting to try my hand at making crunchy chic peas!! πŸ™‚

  27. I love crunchy chickpeas. I made a recipe I saw on another girls blogs last week. It was tacos made with crunchy chickpeas. So good!

  28. Oats n' Bows says:

    Love love love roasted Chickpeas! They’re surprisingly versatile as well as delicious. I have to make them soon πŸ™‚

    I absolutely love hummus… does anyone not like hummus? If so… let me at ’em!

  29. Francene Katzen says:

    I love chic peas-can’t wait to try the roasted way. Thanks for a great new receipe!

  30. I hadn’t tried HUMMUS for the longest time…. But then one day I tried it, whoa baby, it’s good! I am not going to actively buy it though because I would probably go through a tub in 5 seconds! LOL! I gotta try these crunchy chickpeas though… I LOVE ME A GOOD CRUNCH! πŸ™‚

  31. Love roasted chickpeas! Your dinner looks amazing, too. And hummus? It’s my favorite food! I seriously could eat a whole container no problem haha

  32. Allie says:

    Hummus and I are a no-go thanks to my-body-hates-legumes–but I’ve started using Greek yogurt + seasonings for a dip for veggies/crackers/etc. SO GOOD! Like ranch dressing, but not quite as unhealthy ;D

  33. Brittany says:

    These chickpeas look yummo! I have yet to make some like this. I lovee nooch on popcorn..it’s amazing and I don’t know how I ever got by without it! As for hummus, I’ve always loved the stuff even before I blogged/read blogs sooo..hard to judge that one for me as being blogger influenced!

  34. I do like hummus but more as a substitute for mayo on sandwiches.

  35. Kaitlin says:

    Usually I’m indifferent to hummus but discovered eggplant hummus and LOVE it. Paired with honey wheat pretzels = love

  36. […] this dish, I used my cheesy quinoa from the night before and added more cheese (a spicey pepper jack- no such think as too much […]

  37. omg , i actually have all of these ingredients in my hotel room…chic peas are dried , but sounds delicious

Show some love

