A Stuffed Red Pepper

I’ve been seeing recipes for healthy stuffed peppers in the blog world for a while (thanks Hannah and Chelsea!) and finally made one for dinner last night.

photo 1 (4)

 

It was surprisingly a lot easier than I had anticipated. To start, I mixed a bunch of vegetables, garlic, olive oil, salt, pepper, and salsa together.

photo 1 (3)

 

I used frozen corn, pea pods, carrots and onions + black beans +avocado. Then I mixed in some cheese, which was the highlight!

photo 2 (2)

 

After cutting the top off my red pepper, I sprinkled parmesan cheese inside the pepper and then added the veggie mix.

Top with more cheese, of course

Topped with more cheese, of course

I saw a recipe that said to bake the pepper for 40 minutes on 350 but I was hungry so I cooked it on 450 for 10 minutes. It worked!

photo 5 (2)

 

Never having had one of these stuffed peppers before, I wasn’t sure how to eat it. I decided to get a little barbaric and use my hands. 😉

This was a great meal, especially after a long evening run.

Question: What’s your favorite meal to eat after a long run? 

Have a great Thursday!

Tagged , , , ,

27 thoughts on “A Stuffed Red Pepper

  1. IRENA says:

    Looks yum yum! Stuffed Peppers are the most perfect summer dish! Can’t wait for the Summer! But cheese on the top? Why I never think about that? 😀

  2. Carrie says:

    Yep, cheese is always a good idea! A stuffed pepper with ground turkey and lots of Tabasco sounds so good right now; clearly, I need to eat lunch soon. 🙂

  3. Sean M says:

    When I ate meat I would make stuffed peppers a lot. Shredded cheese on top was wonderful and provided a great crusty topping after baking. I haven’t attempted this since going vegetarian but I think I’ll give it a try again soon.

    Tempeh would be a good addiction to give a meat texture. I zap mine in a small food processor to get the right consistency before sauteing.

    As for an after run meal, I head for hummus. I have no idea why! But I do have an unhealthy addiction to the stuff!

  4. i have thinking about making stuffed peppers too…my favorite meal after a long run is always oatmeal, fruit mixed with yogurt and peanut butter. I only ever want sweet after running.

  5. oh total yum. need to make those

  6. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Yum!

    My absolute favorite post-long run meal is toast w pb, jelly, pumpkin, honey and a sliced banana!

    I’m a morning inner and if I miss this breakfast after a long run it makes me a little sad 🙂

  7. Oh I love stuffed peppers, but I’ve never tried one that didn’t have ground turkey or ground beef in it. I’ll have to try these 🙂

  8. So pretty! I totally don’t have the patience for stuffing things…I’d sooner chop it all up into one giant stirfry 😛

  9. jumpeatrun says:

    favorite meal after a long run….hmmmm- I usually like a smoothie right away and then eventually a veggie cheesy omelette!
    those peppers look awesome- i haven’t made any in a while- going to put it in the dinner plan for next week!

  10. Erin says:

    I dont like peppers but my husband would LOVE this!!

  11. I keep meaning to make stuffed peppers, and I have no idea why I haven’t yet. They look delicious! Not a runner, but a bowl of oats with banana and almond butter is definitely up there on my list of favourite meals to eat!

  12. Sounds like the perfect post run meal! Glad you enjoyed it! The cheese on top looks delicious!!

  13. YUM. I love stuffed peppers! They are so darn delicious and colorful to boot! Your single pepper on the oven tray looks so cute and lonely in the big oven haha. I love that you are really good about portion control and cooking for one…whenever I make stuff I usually make entirely TOO much.

  14. I love stuffed peppers! It’s one of my favorite meals my mom makes and she always makes a bunch of them to freeze and pull out for a quick meal. You make it sound so simple to make just one, which would be great for after class. My favorite per and post meal is a sweet potato with Greek yogurt.

  15. bezzymates says:

    Those stuffed peppers look really good. Cheese makes anything better.

  16. I just made stuffed peppers too! I’ve been a little obsessed with them lately..

  17. This looks incredible! I used to eat Stouffer’s stuffed peppers by the package- can’t wait to try this healthy take on them 🙂

  18. I know everyone calls them stuffed peppers, but I’ve always thought of them as stuffed “shells”, Ha Ha!

  19. I’ve been wanting to make stuffed peppers forever! I’m definitely going to do this, Yummm 🙂

  20. This sounds good as a meal. But, I’m so hot after a run that I can only really stand salads or something cool to eat.

  21. bentodays says:

    Oooh this stuffed pepper looks awesome! I should make one too!

  22. […] seeing a recipe for some stuffed bell peppers on Cookie Dough Katzen’s Blog, I think I’ll be creating some version of those myself for supper because they just look so darn […]

Show some love

