Running after Dinner

Remember ants on a log?

photo 4 (3)

Such a classic.  I’ve actually never been a big fan of celery, that is until I realized how versatile it is as a dipper. Cue delicious peanut butter. 🙂

In efforts to eat more veggies, I got a stalk of celery at the grocery store to have as a snack. I made sure to wash and cut it all up so it would be easy access and not go to waste. I enjoyed these ants on a log after my hearty dinner last night.

A treasure hunt salad

A treasure hunt salad with polenta

For this salad, I used kale and butter leaves as the base. Then I threw in grape tomatoes, black beans, avocado, heart of palm, beats, salsa, garlic powder, salt and pepper, pepper flakes, and goat cheese. I used pesto as a salad dressing.

photo 1 (5)

The polenta was really easy to make. I just sliced it and cooked it in olive oil on the stove. These would make great bases for pizza.

I went for a run shortly after consuming my weight in cheese eating dinner and it was not an enjoyable feeling to say the least!

Question: How long do you wait for your food to digest before hitting the gym or running?

 

Have an awesome weekend!

Tagged , , , ,

37 thoughts on “Running after Dinner

  1. mmm. love polenta!

    Have an amazing weekend!

  2. I had polenta for the first time and boy am I in love!

  3. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Haha I feel like we’re food twins, I couldn’t agree more on celery! A means to stuffing hummus and on in my belly… Yes please!

    And polenta. So glad to see this wonderful grain some well deserved lovin!

  4. I love polenta especially with short ribs! YUM, YUM! I cannot believe you went running after dinner did you make it down the block? I know I get really bad stomach cramps when I workout after a meal…

  5. jumpeatrun says:

    That salad sounds awesome- especially with the polenta!
    I have to wait AT LEAST an hour after eating before I run….and it would have to be a pretty light meal at that. This is why morning running works best for me. I seem to cramp and get nauseous pretty easily otherwise 😦

  6. Carrie says:

    We always throw some polenta on the grill during the summer months–yummy!

  7. pickyrunner says:

    I HATE eating right before I run. Cramp city.

  8. Brittany says:

    Depending on how large my meal was I will wait anywhere from 10min-over an hour. If it’s a HUGE meal..DEFinitely a longer time before running/working out. If I am getting ready to run and need just a few bites of something then I am ok with having a a few bites and going. I can’t run on a full stomach..it slows me down and I feel like crap!

  9. Celery actually makes a pretty legit vehicle for transporting better foods from container to mouth. I actually love dipping it in salsa. Crunchy and salty? Oooo heck yeah! And I can’t do any sort of physical activity anywhere near a big meal. If I plan on being active, it’s something like a banana/toast with nut butter for me, otherwise? No bueno.

  10. Courtney says:

    I used to love ants on a log!! I usually wait 1 hour after a snack, and several hours after a big meal.

  11. Picky Nicky says:

    I prefer running on an empty stomach so like right when I wake up or right when I get home from school. If I went after eating dinner…. hahah i dont wanna think about it! I’d wait like 2.5 hours after eating though

  12. Erin says:

    Love celery with peanut butter!! And I def. like running on an empty stomach

  13. Ugh, running/working out on a full stomach is not too fun. I usually wait about an hour or so depending on how much I ate. Love the idea of polenta in a salad. I LOVE polenta and haven’t had it in such a long time!

  14. Cindy says:

    I have to wait a bit before working out. I feel like I move slower. lol Your salad looks delicious and a great combination of ingredients.

  15. oh man I used to be able to go workout RIGHT after eating when I was younger but I totally lost that ability. I have to wait at least 40 minutes to feel good

  16. That salad looks delish! I try to wait an hour to work out after eating. Walking for 15 minutes after a meal can help speed up digestion. I totally know the uncomfortable feeling of running on a full stomach though. Not nice…

  17. I usually eat a lot at night, so working out afterwards doesn’t happen too often. I am definitely more of a morning worker outer 🙂

  18. Abby says:

    Oh, cheese is never a good one for me. Of course I still eat it though 🙂 It totally depends what I eat. I’m usually good to go right after eating a granola bar or half a banana with peanut butter, but bigger meals? Not so much. Holy cramping!

  19. Kaitlin says:

    Props to you! I can’t work out after eating at all. Maybe a couple hours after an energy bar but that’s it!

  20. P says:

    For me, it depends on what type of meal I consumed before I exercise. And also what type of exercise.

  21. Love celery and peanut butter!

  22. Courtney @ Star Systemz says:

    Yum have you ever had celery and guacamole that’s my favorite during summer! I have to wait a bit before exercising after eating that’s why o just try and get it over with during the am before breakfast or after or else o just feel weighed down. Sending you a great weekend love + shine courtstat

  23. Meredith says:

    making ants on a log are the only way I can eat celery, yummy! As for running, I have to do it in the morning before breakfast, or a couple of hours after a meal. It feels like it takes me forever to digest!

  24. If I am running I can’t eat much of anything for at least 2 hours before. If I am doing weights, elliptical or bike I can usually eat what i feel like and be fine to workout within 15-20 min. I don’t like lifting on an empty stomach, even if its just a granola bar or piece of fruit I like to have something on my stomach.

  25. Polenta in a salad new to me. Sounds so good with the goat cheese too. Thanks for the new idea 🙂

    I usually wait at least 90 minutes between eating and a run. It’s long enough to not feel so weighed down but still fuel me through a run.

  26. I used to lick the PB off of the celery and then throw it away : ) And we used to use M&Ms instead of raisins! Not so healthy!

  27. Love the celery and peanut butter…The raisins are not my friend. I do not like those things at all 🙂

    The salad and polenta look great!

  28. deniliese says:

    I remember making those in girl scouts for a picnic :X
    As long as there aren’t heavy carbs involved, I can normally run whenever.

  29. Isn’t it funny how good celery is with peanut butter? I have been eating a lot of celery lately too…I can run pretty much right away after eating, in fact I feel better exercising full rather than slightly hungry…BIG CATCH THOUGH- I am a morning runner/gym goer- I swear that anything past 9 am doesn’t sit right with me. Anytime I used to try working out in the afternoon/evening is not a good combo for me, especially in terms of what works well in my stomach in relation to the work out. My energy level just isn’t the same. It stinks because the summer run series of races that will be starting soon all take place at night and I just can’t run well in the evening.

  30. Ants on a log will never get old!! 🙂

  31. carlyjg says:

    I totally forget about ants on a log as a snack! Yummy!

  32. I have been seeing so many people making ants on a log lately, and still seem to forget all about this snack!! Maybe I should write it down? Ha Ha!

  33. Bah! I love ants on a log! It’s also good with almond butter!

  34. ahhh…I read the title of your post and thought, “uh oh!” 😛

    Also, I love how you called it “treasure hunt salad!” super cute!

Show some love

