Pizza bites and Cookie Dough

Who knew that pizza and cookie dough, two of the best food groups, could be re-created in a healthy way?

Mini Polenta Pizza

Start with cooked polenta (I cooked mine in olive oil over the stove)

Start with cooked polenta (I cooked mine in olive oil over the stove)

Add a sauce like salsa

Add a sauce, like salsa

Top with veggies

Top with veggies

I used veggies from a salad with Greek yogurt

I used veggies from a salad with Greek yogurt

Top pizzas with cheese (excuse the messy plate!)

Top pizzas with cheese (excuse the messy plate!)

Enjoy a piece of cheese while waiting for the pizzas to heat up :)

Enjoy a piece of cheese while waiting for the pizzas to heat up πŸ™‚

Drool over the melted cheese Enjoy!

Drool over the melted cheese Enjoy!

I created a big salad mix that I used for pizza toppings. A salad mix is great to have to add to meals and it’s so versatile.

Veggies galore

Veggies galore

The greens were a little wilted come Sunday so I used the veggies as a topping for my dinner that evening.

Dinner came together in a flash

Dinner came together in a flash

And now for dessert!

A giant ball of cookie dough

A giant ball of cookie dough

Just kidding, kind of. I made Averie’s raw vegan chocolate chip cookie dough balls. They were really easy and only required 6 ingredients- my kind of cooking.

Chocolate chip cookie dough balls

Chocolate chip cookie dough balls

The recipe called for 2/3 cup raw cashews, 1/3 cup oats, 1Β tablespoonΒ of vanilla extract, and 1/4 cup of chocolate chips. Averie used 2 tablespoons of agave and 1 tablespoon of maple syrup, but I swapped these ingredients for 2 tablespoons of honey.

Take a seat for come cookie dough

Take a seat for come cookie dough

Question of the day:Β What’s your favorite way to make a not-so-healthy-food,Β healthier?

Have a great Monday!

Tagged , , , , ,

40 thoughts on “Pizza bites and Cookie Dough

  1. Thanks for trying my recipe and glad you loved them!

  2. These little bites are so cute! I love all of the colors in your pizza toppings πŸ™‚

  3. Raw vegan dough balls sound great and I love what you did with the polenta! You’re quite the chef πŸ™‚

  4. Lol it seems like you are on the polenta kick so many recipes, I can not wait to see what else you come up with I just love me some cookie dough.. Averie has the best recipes when it comes to cookie dough…

  5. Those mini pizzas look SO delicious! I have had polenta pizzas on my “to make” list for awhile now. I need to move them up to the top of that list!

  6. Definitely will be making. I have the polenta already!

  7. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Loving your polenta theme of late!
    As far as healthifying desserts… I gave that up long ago. Bring on the butter πŸ™‚

  8. Cindy says:

    I love this! What a great idea…little polenta pizzas. They look so good and cookies for dessert-yum!

  9. jumpeatrun says:

    I am totally craving a chocolate chip cookie now. I love that you added the step of snacking on a piece of cheese while you wait for the pizza’s to heat up. I am a complete snacker while i cook.

  10. Great minds think alike- I made cookie dough this weekend too πŸ™‚

  11. Joy says:

    I use extra lean turkey for bbqing burgers (mix garlic, Worcestershire sauce, dijon). You could mash garbanzo beans and do the same thing for veggie burgers. I’ll need to try the polenta pizzas!

  12. These mini pizza look great! I like to use Greek yogurt, applesauce, bananas and pumpkin when baking to replace some butter and sugars.

  13. Your polenta pizzas are adorable! I’ve never tried anything like that, but now I think I have to!

  14. Yum to anything with polenta! So simple, yet nice and savory. I like to make a healthy version of stuffed peppers with quinoa instead of white rice.

  15. Erin says:

    I want to try the cookie dough balls!

  16. pickyrunner says:

    Cookie dough- yum. Your titles about amazing sounding foods always make me so excited to check out your post! Today was definitely no exception!

  17. Well those little bites are just wonderful!! My 2 year old would love this recipe and it’s healthy!!

  18. Courtney says:

    Those cookie dough bites look amazing! I love combining crushed vitamuffins and plain Greek yogurt for a “cheesecake” of sorts πŸ™‚

  19. I thought of you when I tried polenta this past week for the first time. man is it good. I need to hit i up this way now

  20. Kaitlin says:

    I love to sub in Greek yogurt or applesauce or lots of veggies! Basically I like to mess around with recipes

  21. P says:

    I really need to try polenta again! I loved it, then hated it…it’s been a while :P!

  22. bentodays says:

    Awesome, looks so yummy! Brilliant to try this with polenta!

  23. Why have I not tried plenta?? It sounds so good! Great recipe πŸ™‚

  24. Ahhhhh, yum! This all looks amazing! You are so creative. Thanks for sharing the idea!!

  25. I need to make this cookie dough recipe now…

  26. Brittany says:

    I loved those cookie dough bites too. They were delicious. So is polenta.

  27. IRENA says:

    Little polenta pizzas are such a wonderful idea! I don’t know why but I found healthy food more tasty than unhealthy πŸ™‚ Using little of cheese won’t hurt anyone! No need to say anything about the cookies πŸ˜‰

  28. I never had polenta until a dinner I was at last week, they were serving polenta fries and they were amazing!! I need to try more of this stuff! πŸ™‚

  29. Meredith says:

    You’ve got me really wanting to buy polenta lately…I need to put it on my grocery list asap! Yum yum to averie’s cookie dough bites! Healthy cookie dough is pure heaven!

  30. Both of these look awesome!!! I can’t wait to try them.

  31. What a great idea to use polenta for pizza bites!

  32. Pizza and cookie dough are definitely two of my favorite food groups! Great idea with the polenta. And if I were you I probably would have just taken a big bite out of that cookie dough ball whole πŸ˜‰ Or put the balls in banana ice cream… Okay, probably the latter πŸ˜€

  33. Courtney @ Star Systemz says:

    YUM! Love the pictures the pizza looks AMAZING! My favorite “healthy” treat is banana ice cream using my Yonana I also add frozen Acai for a tasty treat πŸ™‚ Love + Shine CourtStar

  34. I love making mini pizzas with EGGPLANT rounds and tapenade & sun-dried tomatoes… I don’t do cheese. YUM!!! πŸ˜€ I could eat 4 whole eggplants! LOL!

    Oh and I LOVEEE spaghetti squash instead of spaghetti & roasted green beans instead of French Fries (don’t believe me? TRY roasting them in olive oil and salt in the oven – McDonalds is kicking itself!!)

  35. The cookie dough balls look amazing! I’m going to have to add them to my “must try” list!

  36. This reminds me of what my mom used to make for snack after school! Very nostalgic for me. -Chris

  37. Allie says:

    Oh my gosh, how have I completely forgotten about the existence of polenta?? I absolutely love the stuff, but haven’t made it/thought about it in ages. And YES, I used to love making a polenta “hash” with pizza/pasta sauce, broccoli and a sprinkle of melty cheese. Perfect combo!

  38. livliveslife says:

    I’ve been wanting to try polenta as a pizza crust for a while now…thanks for the good ideas! They look delicious!

Show some love

