Home for the Weekend

Where oh where have I been? That’s what I love about the warmer seasons- there’s so much to do and life seems to pick up and activities take the place of ennui (vocab word of the day).

I made a delicious veggie-filled pasta last week for dinner.

photo 2 (7)

I used almond milk and cheese to make it creamy

I got to go home and visit my parents for the long weekend.

Playing with Panorama

Playing with Panorama in the bakcyard

We went out to dinner at Joe’s InnΒ on Friday and we ordered a giant Greek salad and pizza to share.

The Greeks know how to make a salad!

The Greeks know how to make a salad!

photo 5 (2)

Going out to dinner is the best because I almost always have great leftovers the next day!

photo 3 (6)

Being home with my parents is always a lot of fun. I kicked back, relaxed, and enjoyed lots of laughs. πŸ˜€

photo 3 (7)

photo 4 (6)

photo 2 (8)

photo 5 (3)

I made my parents dinner on Saturday night.

Stuffed peppers with veggies

Stuffed peppers with cheese and veggies

And dessert was bought at the store. πŸ™‚

Ice cream + sprinkles

Ice cream + sprinkles

I played in the kitchen for the majority of Sunday.

Chic pea cookies

Chic pea cookies

Homemade Lara Bars

Homemade Lara Bars

photo 4 (8)

I also experimented with using prunes instead of dates.

Like a healthy fudge!

Like a healthy fudge!

I added cocoa powder, honey, and peppermint extract- a healthy take on the Thin Mint!

 

Did anyone cook or bake anything cool over the weekend?

Have a great day!

5d444658544f21dcfb8fb1dfa24b3b8d

Tagged , , ,

42 thoughts on “Home for the Weekend

  1. This looks like such a fun weekend! Can I come to your parents’ house? Their garden look so magical! And all of that delicious food, mhm…

  2. Greek salad is one of my faves!

  3. What a great weekend! Homemade Lara bars!! Have you shared the recipe for those?

  4. pickyrunner says:

    Aw looks like a really great time at home with your family! I had pizza this weekend too! It was so good! I’m glad you enjoyed yourself πŸ™‚

  5. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Aww your pics with your parents are too cute! What a gorgeous back yard by the way!

    I got to go home his weekend too, except I allowed my family to do the cooking for a change πŸ™‚

  6. man you baker! that sounds like some great ideas, never even heard of chickpea cookies. Great picture of you and your parents.

  7. alexadeemer says:

    The homemade larabars look delicious! Do you have the recipe?!

  8. Courtney says:

    Sounds like an awesome weekend! I need to make those homemade Larabars πŸ˜›

  9. erika says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend! I love playing in the kitchen πŸ™‚ My boyfriend and I are huge fans of Blue Bell’s dessert trio ice cream (has brownie, cookie dough and chocolate covered cake chunks), but they stopped carrying it in our local Kroger!! So we attempted to make our own…with homemade vanilla ice cream, brownies and cookie dough. Ugh. Opposite of healthy, but it was delicious! And we made a relatively healthy dinner of grilled shrimp, scallops, eggplant and steamed broccoli so we felt like we were sort of doing okay πŸ™‚

  10. jumpeatrun says:

    Looks like a great weekend full of good eats!
    I was camping all weekend so the only thing I “cooked” was camp meals with hot water…haha

  11. Family time is always a good time! I’m glad you got a chance to go home and pal around with your parents. Your eats all look delicious. I’m impressed just thinking about making chic pea cookies!

  12. megbek says:

    Oh my! You can come cook for me any time you want! πŸ™‚ Those peppers look great and homemade Lara bars? How creative. Yep, come on over any time, dear!

  13. I’m glad you were able to enjoy the weekend with your family! Greek salads are one of my favorites, they are so refreshing. I made zucchini cookies this weekend. It was a fun healthy expiriment.

  14. Joy says:

    Everything looks yummy! I made teriyaki Portobello mushroom burgers last night – d’lish! πŸ™‚

  15. OMG that ice cream and sprinkles brings back so many memories!!

  16. Isn’t food always better when eaten with family?! Everything looks so good! Especially all those sprinkles. I made cookies this past weekend! Soooo good. Nothing beats a good old chocolate chip cookie! Expect maybe some good old chocolate chip cookie dough πŸ˜‰ Seriously, one of these days I’m going to skip the baking step and just eat the dough straight up.

  17. Katherine says:

    What a fun weekend! I love family time! Your experimenting in the kitchen is what I look forward to most day of the week! Those creations look marvelous!

  18. All of your food looks awesome! Do you have recipes for the homemade lara bars and chick pea cookies?

  19. Leftover pizza is amazing. I swear, there’s nothing more satisfying than being able to enjoy a cold slice of pizza from the fridge the next day. And that’s awesome that you got to spend some time with your family this weekend. Your parents’ place looks so lovely and peaceful πŸ™‚

  20. Greek salad has been my favorite salad for years! The Greeks are salad-genius’s ;).

  21. Allie says:

    I spent the weekend at my parents’ too! Always so relaxing and a nice escape. Didn’t cook anything too exciting–but my mom made home-made cheese, too cool! (And delicious…)

  22. Chickpea cookies and pizza? Sounds like an awesome weekend! Better then mine… I worked 😦

  23. bezzymates says:

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend. Greek salads are the best.

  24. Carrie says:

    Awww, yaya for family time! Glad you enjoyed it!

  25. Those bars look so good! I didn’t bake anything this weekend :/

  26. That Greek salad looks delicious, as do those stuffed peppers!! Yum all around to ALL your food!

  27. I love the icecream and sprinkles pic πŸ™‚ Is there a specific recipe you follow for stuffed peppers? I haven’t actually tried making them myself!

  28. Hope you post the recipe for all those fun treats at the end. And mmmm I’m drooling over that greek salad!

  29. P says:

    Looks like an awesome weekend! I love greek salads (olives and feta cheese certainly make a salad what it is!!) and the stuffed pepper looks mighty tasty too!

    Your backyard is beautiful by the way πŸ˜€

  30. Meredith says:

    I love being home with my parents too, it’s the best!your stuffed peppers are picture perfect! The Lara bars look awesome too : -) I made a good stirfry over the weekend and some chocolate chip bars : -)

  31. That greek salad looks amazing. I love when salads come with a gigantic variety of interesting ingredients. That’s my favorite!

  32. Wow what a great idea to make homemade lara bars, so yummy! I love going home and just relaxing and eating ice cream haha you love sprinkles, so awesome!

  33. Christine says:

    It looks like you had so much good food! I love going home to visit, I did the same for memorial day weekend. Those homemade lara bars look great! I’ve been thinking about trying out a recipe for them myself and you just inspired me to get on that πŸ™‚

  34. That yard is gorgeous!! And I love the looks of those Homemade Larabars. I use prunes in mine when I’m out of dates, and they work pretty well! Not as good as dates, but then again, dates are pretty hard to beat πŸ˜‰

  35. Brittany says:

    WHOA so much foodie goodness!! I love this area too, that little cottage looking house! What a great weekend!

  36. Oh good, I’m not the only person over the age of 12 that loves hanging out with my parents πŸ™‚
    Looks like a great way to spend the long weekend.

Show some love

