Throw it Together

When it comes to cooking, I rarely measure ingredients. I’m more of a throw-it-all-together and hope for the best type of cook.

I like perusing Pinterest to get ideas for recipes.

funny-pinterest3

But actually.

Often times, I’ll find a great flavor combination, like adding pesto to a salad, and create my own version of a recipe.

pestosalad1

A Pinterest find

My take on the recipe

My take on the recipe

Pesto is delicious on salads. I’m a rare breed because I actually love salads. I think I’ve convinced myself to prefer healthy foods. Mind over matter?

photo 2 (10)

I may love veggies but I love desserts more. πŸ™‚

Healthy chocolate muffin brownies

Healthy chocolate muffin brownies

I made these brownies the other day and I was surprised that they came out so well since I didn’t use a recipe.

photo 1 (10)

I may or may not have eaten all 4 of these. Oops! I figured since they were made with such healthy ingredients, might as well.

One mo' bite

One mo’ bite

I’ll put together a recipe for these babies soon. The ingredients were cocoa powder, flax seed, baking powder, baking soda, salt, coconut flour, coconut oil, almond milk, all natural sugar,Β apple sauce, dark chocolate chips, vanilla extract, and honey, all baked for about 10 minutes at 350.

I definitely prefer cooking and baking sans directions.

 

Question of the day: Are you a recipe follower or a trail blazer in the kitchen, or a little bit of both?

Tagged , , ,

32 thoughts on “Throw it Together

  1. jumpeatrun says:

    I am more of a recipe follower when it comes to baking, but even then I am pretty lax with the recipes. I usually look at one for an idea and then go off on my own tangent.

  2. NDBalances says:

    Before, I would follow the recipe to a T and have mild anxiety when my mom would help and eyeball tsp and tbs of things. Since then, more precise measures = more dishes soo i’ve considered eyeballing acceptable. also, i tend to use what i have on hand instead of going out and buying certain ingredients (ie walnuts, craisins, etc) that the recipe calls for

  3. Cindy says:

    I’m a throw it in kinda cook. I make something then, write down what I did πŸ™‚ I hardly ever follow a recipe. They are more like guides. Lol

  4. Carrie says:

    For baking, I definitely follow recipes, but when it comes to cooking (like lunch and dinner options), I tend to throw stuff together and hope it works. πŸ™‚

  5. Those brownies look great! I love it when a recipe turns out, but I usually can’t totally wing a baking recipe. I have to start somewhere, and then I change a few things here and there to make it my own. Sometimes it works, and sometimes it definitely doesn’t! haha

  6. I started out following recipes ( actually how I got into loving food and blogging) but now I am confident enough to make my own

  7. pickyrunner says:

    I was just about to ask for the recipe but I guess I’ll have to wait. If it’s healthy, I’d eat them all too! I don’t really cook, so I guess I can’t say if I throw things together or not πŸ˜‰

  8. Erin says:

    Until I had my blog I NEVER measured anything! Now I try to so that I can write it down for others but it’s so hard! And I just made a chocolate brownie muffin thing last night! I’m actually posting it tomorrow haha! Yours is healthier though!

  9. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    I fall into the “both” category.
    When I cook, I’ll follow a recipe as much as I can and substitute based on what I have in my pantry, or like you, use a recipe as inspiration.
    When I bake though, I channel my inner perfectionist and follow the recipe to a t.

  10. bezzymates says:

    That’s so true, Alex. I have heard at least three people refer to Pinterest this week. I know I get a lot of recipes and crafty ideas fom there.

  11. I think I’m a little bit of both. I use recipes as guides, but I definitely make a lot of modifications. The only time I follow a recipe exactly is when I’m working with ingredients that I’m not familiar with… like yeast.

  12. genext13 says:

    I am still looking for my measuring spoons. Have you seen them? I think they are hidden in the corner by that pile of dust.

  13. Oh man those muffins look amazing. And pesto on salads are definitely a win in my book.

  14. I’m with you! I’m a trailblazer in the kitchen for sure. I don’t measure anything when I’m cooking, only when I’m baking. I know better than to fudge with baking measurements. I learned the hard way πŸ™‚

  15. Meredith says:

    I’d say I’m a little of both, but mostly with baking I follow recipes. I’ve had too many mess-ups when I don’t. Those muffins look great…anything with dark chocolate chips are great in my book : -)

  16. Those muffins look wonderful! I mean, they have chocolate so they must be awesome, right???
    I’d say I’m a little of both but definitely more of a trail blazer. I don’t think I’ve ever followed a recipe to a T! That just wouldn’t be any fun πŸ˜‰

  17. It seems when I don’t follow recipes, bad things happen πŸ™‚ I actually really like salads too…Salads and dessert. Those cancel out right ?!

  18. Haha I’m awful at actually following recipes so I tend to look on pinterest for inspiration, and then do my own thing!

  19. I love thick brownies like that, what a great idea to make them in a cupcake tin. I also love salads, but they can’t be plain or bland. I need the salad to be amped up. I have some pesto and I’ve gotta try this, thanks for the tip!

  20. Interesting! I often throw things together for a recipe too, but I’m to scared to try that with baking since it’s a chemical thing. Looking forward to that brownie recipe!

  21. megbek says:

    I am absolutely a risk taker in the kitchen. I like to draw inspiration but then am totally belligerent and prefer my own changes. πŸ™‚ Yum to that pesto salad.

  22. Courtney says:

    I totally do this too… I never measure ingredients!!

  23. Joy says:

    Little of both and I do start too many conversations with the pinterest line!

  24. Not really a trailblazer, but I love trying the recipes of those who are!

  25. Katherine says:

    I’m strict with new recipes, but on ones I’m used to I eyeball everything. I’m not sure why though. Maybe I’m just comfortable? Sometimes I’m a trailblazer, and others I’m way too paranoid to try outside of the box.

  26. I love pesto and salads but have never thought of combining the two! I usually try to kind of follow recipes but always end up changing them.

  27. I am so much like you lol – I see recipes and use them more as idea creators and inspiration for making up my own recipes. I rarely measure and just take it as I go to create my meals and goodies. I have been trying to measure more so that I can share my recipes! lol not easy.

  28. I love me some good dessert…usually over my dinner haha. Those muffin brownies look SO freaking delicious πŸ™‚

  29. Those brownie muffins sound awesome! Nice job! When it comes to baking, I pretty much follow recipes exactly. I am much more creative when it comes to cooking.

  30. Allie says:

    I can’t remember when (if ever) I’ve followed a recipe exactly as written. So much more fun to use it as a guideline! It’s only a problem when I create something I want to share on my blog–“Well, just throw some of this together in varying amounts,” doesn’t really count as a recipe, whoops.

Show some love

