Pasta and Pie

Before I started cooking, I never thought certain pairings could work. Some discoveries I’ve made:

  • Soy sauce with a cheese based recipe
  • Dijon mustard with pasta and cheese
  • Combining jelly with cheese and eggs
  • And then peanut butter/nut butter goes with almost everything

Last night, I used the first cheese combo to make the best spaghetti squash recipe yet.

Healthy Alternative to Creamy Pasta

Ingredients

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 1 box of grape tomatoes
  • 2 heads of fresh broccoli
  • 1 bundle of Β fresh spinach
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 Tbsp almond milk
  • 1/4 cup of extra sharp deli cheese (go for the good stuff- it’s worth it)
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 pinch of garlic salt, pepper and red pepper flakes

Directions

Cut the spaghetti squash in half and fork out the seeds. (I seasoned my seeds and baked them to eat separately.) Put the two squash halves face-down on a cookie tray with enough water to cover the pan. Cook on 375 for about 40 minutes.

Cook the broccoli with 2 tablespoons of water over medium heat. Add spinach and soy sauce to the pot.

Fork out the spaghetti squash and add it to the veggie mixture. Chop the avocado in small square pieces and add to the pot. Cut the grape tomatoes in half and add to the pot. Then add the almond milk, cheese and seasonings.

Mix it all together over medium high heat for 5 minutes.

Serve in a bowl and enjoy

Serve in a bowl and enjoy

These are my favorite veggies. A cheesey, creamyΒ healthy alternative to pasta.

photo 2 (4)

After dinner, it was time to bake.

my very first pie

my very first homemade pie recipe

We used this recipe as a guideline, but made several changes along the way. I mean, you can never have too much sugar, right? πŸ˜‰

A cinnamony peach and raspberry pie

A cinnamon-y peach and raspberry pie

We subbed canola oil for sour cream, added raspberries, used more flour and sugar in the filling, used a premade graham cracker crust, and sprinkled extra cinnamon on top. Also, we baked it for 45 minutes because we were impatient. πŸ™‚ We stuck to the original recipe for the crumble and it was delicious raw!

Questions for the day:Β What’s your favorite kind of pie? Have you discovered any unique ingredient combinations?

Happy Tuesday!

fe6b477577711be6ce919c4de0dbd375f0f08b3a29d1481766456cbba90fb6ec

bd96812504026b86a630053d22e4d847

Tagged , , ,

27 thoughts on “Pasta and Pie

  1. My husband is from Kentucky and totally prides himself on his pie crust. One of our favorite filling combos is peach ginger πŸ™‚

  2. Jelly with cheese and eggs is the absolute BEST!! It is the ultimate sweet and savory combo! πŸ™‚

  3. Hillary says:

    Had so much fun making this with you! It’s important to go with your tastebuds. The yummy tart raspberries perfectly balanced the sweetness of the peaches. And I’m DEFINITELY making the spaghetti squash recipe, great ideas!

  4. beth says:

    LOVE the “how people treat other people” quote … SO SO TRUE!! 😊

  5. I had spaghetti squash last night, it’s SO good and super filling!!

  6. I have been on a huge spaghetti squash kick lately too

  7. Amanda says:

    That pie looks beyond fantastic!

  8. Nut butter definitely does go good with just about anything! πŸ˜‰
    Love the spaghetti squash recipe! I’ve only had spaghetti squash once I think, but I really want to try your recipe. I think the addition cheese and avocado is brilliant!
    Oh and my favorite pie is chocolate cream. Always chocolate πŸ˜›

  9. Ohh my goshh that pie looks ridiculous. Pies are probably my favorite dessert and I have some killer apple ones if you ever need a good one!

  10. Katherine says:

    I love spaghetti squash, but I’m not very daring or creative with it. I usually have it paired with chicken or veggies or something somewhat boring! All of your different ingredients sound so good! I’ll have to try this!

  11. Francene Katzen says:

    My fav pie is cherry and apple is a close second. Am going to have to try the spaghetti squash-it looked delish!

  12. yogachic1212 says:

    I loveeeeee mixing sweet and savory!! I need to try jelly, eggs, and cheese ASAP! Do you have a specific recipe? Also, love the quote about how people treat others. It’s absolutely 100% true

  13. Courtney says:

    All of this looks delicious! πŸ™‚

  14. You had me at the title! πŸ˜‰ It all sounds great

  15. I love homemade apple pie, it’s the best! Looks like you guys did a great job. I love healthy alternatives to dinners that I can sneak in for my family. Looks way tasty!

  16. Carrie says:

    Oh yeah–peanut and almond butter absolutely go with everything! I’ve done maple syrup and teriyaki sauce for glazes, and it’s actually pretty good.

  17. jumpeatrun says:

    Look at you making a pie! I love it! That pasta sounds awesome too!

  18. Brittany says:

    I could legit live off of pie and pasta for the rest of my life and be completely content. YUM!!!! I haven’t had spag squash IN TOO LONG!! Pie however, I had that recently! πŸ˜‰

  19. Both recipes look marvelous. I will have to try them both. I made a weird discovery once upon a time. It was when I was against most carbs. I made a gravy out of cream cheese and broth. It actually turned out super yummy.

  20. Nut butter on everything is definitely a food blogger thing. And peach and raspberry crumble? Couldn’t get more perfect for this time of year!

  21. Allie says:

    I can and will put mustard or nut butter on anything. I am right with you. My favorite pie, hmm, ANYTHING with a graham cracker crust, so you know I’d be over to sneak a bite of yours πŸ˜‰

  22. […] my cheesy spaghetti squash recipe. This time around, I kept things […]

Show some love

