Lunching at Ruby’s

Do you ever crave a healthy meal after a weekend of savory comfort foods? My parents and I sure did on Sunday. We were on our way back from a wonderful weekend spent with family attending the Greenbrier Classic when we decided to pull over for a late lunch.

Typically, we like to check out small, non-chain restaurants, however, we all wanted something healthy so we looked no further than good ole’ Ruby Tuesday.

Ruby Tuesday is the one chain restaurant we always love. Enter the salad bar.

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

Oh, and the delicious biscuits that are served right when we sit down are the perfect appetizer. Their small size makes up for their excess of butter, cheese, and all that divine goodness!

photo 1 (1)

I love restaurants with salad bars because you have the freedom to customize your plates at any time, upping the overall nutritional factor.

Healthy food and time spent with family make for a marvelous Monday!

The Greenbrier

The Greenbrier

Here’s a little inspiration that I found this morning over breakfast in Shape magazine:

quote1picmonk

 

Question of the day: What’s your favorite chain restaurant?

Tagged , , ,

28 thoughts on “Lunching at Ruby’s

  1. Oh I miss Ruby Tuesday’s! I used to go there in college when I lived in VA. They have an excellent salad bar!

    I was craving something healthy Sunday after a weekend of good eats so I made myself some spaghetti squash.

  2. Ruby Tuesday’s has the BEST salad bar ever!! It is my favorite restaurant to go to when I am craving a salad.

  3. Brittany says:

    The human body AMAZES me with it’s spot on cravings. After night of fatty foods, I always crave GREENS and fruit and anything healthy! MY favorite chain would probably be…Red Robin! OR Azteca!

  4. beth says:

    Ruby Tuesday or Jason’s Deli are two of MY favorite chains! That or a Whole Foods Market salad / food bar! πŸ™‚

  5. I loooove Ruby Tuesday! Their salad bar has a cravy amazing selection, plus I like that one of their menu items is just a plate of side dishes. I end up ordering like that at a lot of restaurants to build a vegetarian meal, so I like that they don’t make me feel weird about it :

  6. jumpeatrun says:

    I haven’t been to a Ruby Tuesday’s in FOREVER….I do love a good salad bar though πŸ™‚

  7. I LOVE Ruby Tuesday’s but the closest one to me is about a 2 hour drive so that’s a once in a while treat for me…I am a big fan of Panera bread…Enter fabulous coffee with yummy salads and soups!

  8. bezzymates says:

    What a nice, feel good post. I’ve never been to Ruby Tuesday. I really like Red Lobster on the occasion I do go out to eat.

  9. Nicole says:

    I just went to Ruby Tuesdays for the first time this past year, and it was AMAZING! (I’m totally dreaming about those biscuits right now). πŸ™‚

  10. Kaitlin says:

    Sometimes a good ol chain is what you need πŸ™‚ we used to go to Island burgers a lot but not so much lately. I guess our family doesn’t have a go-to place besides In N Out

  11. Caitlyn says:

    I love Ruby Tuesdays! I think it’s one of my faves. And I also really love that quote.

  12. LOVE their salad bar!

  13. Angela @ Health's Angel says:

    I’m not a big chain restaurant person either but I went to The Melting Pot for my cousin’s bachelorette dinner and it was SO good. I think it’s a chain restaurant? Though it’s certainly an expensive one. But nice for a special occasion!

  14. Erin says:

    I used to work at Ruby’s and seriously ate the salad bar EVERY single night haha Love it so much!

  15. Mmm I love salad bars too, and those salads are now making me crave them! I’ve never had Ruby’s but it sounds really good!

  16. I know the feeling exactly! Sometimes you just crave fresh veggies! I would make an exception for fresh biscuits, though πŸ˜‰

  17. P says:

    I love salad bars! Especially since their you usually pay for multiple servings, it’s fun to go back and try different toppings. Now I’m craving one :D!

  18. Yum! We don’t have Ruby’s here, but I love those rolls. They look similar to Red Lobster’s. I really like Panera and the Cheesecake Factory (gotta have both ends of the health spectrum hehe)

    Kalee @ SoreyFitness.com

  19. Courtney says:

    I love Cheesecake Factory for a splurge, and Cosi when I want to be healthy! πŸ™‚

  20. SALAD BARS! I love them haha. Have you been to sweet tomatoes or Soup plantation? They have the ultimate salad bars.

  21. Sometimes there is nothing better than a fresh salad! My favorite chain is probably panera.

  22. pbloverblog says:

    I actually do sometimes crave healthy food after being especially naughty. I love Jason’s Deli salad bar. My family goes there all the time during vacation for a light meal! Your salad looks so delicious! Oh, I almost forgot, the Whole Foods salad bar is equally amazing. So much food and so many choices. I love it! I hope you had a wonderful weekend!

  23. I’ve eaten at Ruby’s, but they never gave us those biscuits! So not fair πŸ˜‰
    I eat at Panera ALL the time! It’s definitely my go-to when I’m out and about. I only wish they served bigger pieces of bread on the side πŸ˜‰
    And I love that quote!

  24. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    This is too funny. Whenever I used to make the drive from Florida to NC with my parents, we always stopped at Ruby Tuesday’s for their salad bar. Usually when were on the road we” only stop at Subway or Wendy’s for their Chili, so it’s a nice change.

    P.S. I don’t know how they do it, but that place can cook spaghetti squash like nobody’s business haha.

  25. If you can believe it I have never been to Ruby Tuesdays but I do love a good salad bar! Thanks for sharing that quote, it really spoke to me! Love + shine Courtstar

  26. I’ve only been to Ruby Tuesday a handful of times in my life, but the last time I went I tried the salad bar and it was really a very good one πŸ™‚ I think I also got Zucchini sliders as I was looking for healthier options too. Looks like you put a great salad together!

Show some love

