Sunday Afloat

I’m back!

It was so nice to be away from the computer last week. Sometimes a break from our favorites can be just the trick to spawn creativity.

Nachos for lunch...it's been a while!

Like colorful nachos for lunch…it’s been a while! 😉

But actually, it was nice to give my eyes a break from the ole’ screen.

photo 3

I worked my first three days at the beach and then got to stow away my laptop for the remainder of my trip. As amazing as technology is, being away from it is a fleetingly fabulous feeling. It’s all about keeping the doors open to see things from multiple perspectives.

One day at the beach, I spent an hour or so helping dig this whole.

We're an active group to say the least

We’re an active group, to say the least

The next day, I lay on the beach listening to music, reading and enjoying the views.

photo 2

Most mornings, we would wake up really early (before it got too hot outside) to go for a run.

Sunrise

Sunrise

While other mornings I would only see the sun set.

Balance and change keep me afloat.

Staying afloat...paddle boarding in the ocean!

Staying afloat…paddle boarding in the ocean!

I started off every morning with a yogurt cereal bowl like Amanda. 🙂

I used pb, vanilla Greek yogurt,, cheerios

I used pb, vanilla Greek yogurt, chex, cheerios, cinnamon & honey

As a tradition, we all go to The Gulfstream Cafe for dinner our last night at the beach. It’s delicious!

photo 1 (1)

The Grouper

The Grouper

I got the tuna

I got the tuna

Seafood is the best.

Have a wonderful rest of your weekend!

Some inspiring points from Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg:

“Instead of perfection, we should aim for sustainable and fulfilling.”

“Leadership is about making others better as a result of your presence and making sure that impact lasts in your absence.”

“True equality will be achieved only when we all fight the stereotypes that hold us back. Feeling threatened by others’ choices pulls us al down. Instead, we should funnel our energy into breaking this cycle.”

“Shared experience forms the basis of empathy and, in turn, can spark the institutional change we need.”

486714_348919168531107_550347064_n-1

Tagged , , ,

16 thoughts on “Sunday Afloat

  1. Nicole L says:

    Looks like an amazing trip Alex! I know you all had a great time together. You’re pictures are beautiful! We are at the beach now but have had a few rain showers…hopefully gets better!

  2. Mmm seafood IS the best!

  3. Courtney says:

    Sounds like a GREAT vacation!!

  4. Kaitlin says:

    Love the quotes! Great way to start the week and I agree, spending time away from technology can be helpful. Have a fab week!

  5. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    I love disconnecting! Pretty much any time I go out of town, I lose all desire to check in on technology.

    I grew up at the beach, but never acquired the desire to try paddle boarding until after I moved haha. It looks like so much fun, and a great workout to boot!

  6. Erin says:

    Ahh that seafood looks amazing! I need a beach trip so bad! Glad you had a great time (:

  7. Hi Alex, first time stopping by and the vacation looks amazing! I wish I’m on a trip now too!

  8. Working on the beach…sounds like the best way to work!

  9. Glad you had a good time. I love a break from technology, I have been trying my best to unplug as much as possible.

  10. erika says:

    You and your nachos! You always make me crave them! 🙂

    Your beach trip looks like it was super fun! Glad you had some time to unplug and enjoy life–I can’t wait to do that in about three days! Wheee 🙂

  11. I bet that was amazing to get to work from the beach! I just love taking my work/laptop with me outside on our deck in the sun.

  12. laurasmess says:

    That breakfast bowl immediately grabbed my attention… mmm, why haven’t I put pb and yoghurt together before? What a great idea! Glad that you’re having a lovely vacation. This is my first visit to your beautiful blog and I’m feeling inspired by your quotes, photographs and positivity. Gorgeous blog, Alex. Thanks so much! xx

Show some love

