Tips in the Kitchen

Woohoo we made it to Wednesday!

breakfast

After my workout this morning, I had a hankering for dinner, so I had a bowl of quinoa and veggies from the night before topped with salsa. Usually I’m more into breakfast for dinner, but my taste buds had a different plan for today!

quinoamix

Super Easy Quinoa and Veggies

1 cup quinoa

1/2 onion

1/2 garlic clove

1 can corn

1 cup broccoli

1/2 avocado

2 Tablespoons jalapenos

1/4 tsp seasoning salt & red pepper flakes

Directions

Saute onions and garlic on  medium heat for 5 minutes. Mix in 1 cup quinoa to 2 cups of water and bring to a boil. Lower heat, cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Drain corn and add to the pot. Add the broccoli, avocado, jalapenos, and seasonings, mixing it all together over low heat for 5 minutes. Serve and enjoy. 🙂

 

Since I started cooking, I’ve found many useful tricks to making food last longer and require less work:

When low on food, throw veggies in a pot and add seasonings

When low on food, throw veggies in a pot and add seasonings

When low on peanut butter, make oatmeal in the jar

When low on peanut butter, make oatmeal in the jar

Frozen cheese pizzas are cheap and perfect for adding veggies

Frozen pizzas are cheap and perfect for adding veggies

Roasted Brussels sprouts are actually delicious plain

Roasted Brussels sprouts are delicious plain

You can't go wrong with homemade popcorn- cheap, easy, healthy

You can’t go wrong with homemade popcorn– cheap, easy & healthy

Sweet potatoes last a while and make a meal complete

Sweet potatoes last a while and make a meal complete

Edamame is a great snack

Edamame is a great snack

Salsa, eggs and veggies are a win

Salsa, eggs and veggies are a win

And when it comes to throwing recipes together, be confident, start slow, and go with the flow.

Broccoli slaw + tomato sauce + veggies

Broccoli slaw + tomato sauce + veggies

What are some of your favorite tips in the kitchen?

Happy Wednesday!

4f661fc4e22f817147227741a24d8368

7ef173b7301ecdcd4c2c72be1bb48ae7

Tagged , , ,

15 thoughts on “Tips in the Kitchen

  1. Edamame is one of my favorite snacks! I think it’s funny that restaurants make you pay $5-8 for a serving, when it’s cheap and can be made really easily at home. Plus it’s good hot or cold, love it!

  2. Katherine says:

    I love quinoa, but I’m one of those people that has one solid recipe with quinoa and never tries anything new! Your recipe looks good enough to get me out of a little rut! I love your tips too! I’ve never actually tried OIAJ. Isn’t that crazy? I need to follow your tips and try it some day!

  3. lynnemiller says:

    Thanks for the helpful and easy tips. I’m a fan of beans. All kinds of beans. I try to keep my pantry stocked with canned beans in a variety of colors. Very cheap and nutritious. I recently whipped up a three-bean salad without doing any cooking whatsoever:
    http://lynnemiller.wordpress.com/2013/08/04/not-your-mothers-three-bean-salad/

    Lynne

  4. I love quinoa w/ veggies & avo! Have not tried w/ salsa!

  5. you can’t go wrong with air popped popcorn! not at all

  6. love the kitchen tips! And yum to the recipe 😀

  7. Your quinoa and veggie recipe looks SO tasty! I love that you mixed in some avocado :). And yay for popcorn! You and I are definitely popcorn lovers. I am definitely making some tonight! 🙂

  8. Kaitlin says:

    Great tips! I love making coffee and then saving the leftovers in a jug, then later using it as iced coffee to go rather than buying it on the road. Also I stock up on veggies and roast those all week long for great and cheap lunches!

  9. Great tips! I’m all about the air popped popcorn. I like to spray it with coconut oil and add a little salt. Such a yummy snack! Other tips? Can’t go wrong with frozen fruit!

  10. I LOVE roasted brussel sprouts! Any type of roasted vegetable, actually hahah! My tip would be to clean as you go. I always regret when I don’t and have a ridiculously messy kitchen to clean up after I eat 😉

  11. Nicole says:

    Ooh, yum! I will definitely have to try!! 🙂

  12. Never would have thought to add veggies to a frozen pizza–such a good idea! Thanks!

  13. Salsa and eggs are the perfect combo 🙂 Almost as good as ketchup and eggs…almost haha.
    Frozen pizzas…I will always love them! Always have to add broccoli though because there is no such thing as too much broccoli in my book haha

  14. jumpeatrun says:

    I love adding extra veggies to a frozen pizza! great tips!

  15. abby says:

    I haven’t been big on Quinoa but when I have it i used it. I hear that its good for you and I feel like its not that easily accessible for me here or at least I have a hard time find it. However, I love simple dinners with veggies. It’s one of my favorite meals!

Show some love

