Bars and a Smoothie

I seriously think it might be worth buying energy bars at the store because they take some work in the kitchen.

lara

The good thing is that they last a while and make for the perfect quick snack. They’re versatile and store well.

photo 4 (1)

I’ve made these bars before, but this time I was able to hammer out a recipe:

Go-to Nut & Date Snacks

2 cups peanuts

4 cups dates

Combine peanuts and dates in a food processor. If you have a ghetto fabulous food processor like me, cut the dates up before processing, and combine everything in several rounds.

The little processor that could

The little processor that could

I added 5 tablespoons of almond butter and 1 tsp of cinnamon to half of my batch. The other half I left plain. Other ingredients you could add include: peanut butter, coconut, chocolate, chocolate chips, flavoring extracts, fruit, nuts.

After an AM cardio session, I had a smoothie on the brain. I love having a frozen drink after a hard run.

berryberrysmoothie

Berry Berry Smoothie

1/2 cup frozen berries

1/2 cup almond milk

1/4 cup yogurt of choice (I used vanilla coconut milk yogurt)

1/8 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp honey

1 packet stevia

1 cup ice

Mix first 7 ingredients in a blender until combined. Next, add the cup of ice. Blend until the mixture forms a smoothie. Poor into a large glass, drink and enjoy. 🙂

What’s your favorite smoothie flavor?

Have a wonderful weekend!

91b956045d82d1313b914d6ca07abb38

df6a7d72ecdf0bfb6cf1c59de89c4702

7f3f6999994ce4d874910f0c30a48131

Tagged , ,

24 thoughts on “Bars and a Smoothie

  1. YES! Smoothies post a hot summer workout or run – THE BEST!!

    Have a great wknd!

  2. bezzymates says:

    Good stuff making your own energy bars. Your smoothie looks delish. Now I need to get me one!

  3. I haven’t tried making my own bars yet, but they look like a hassle hahah ;). Love how vibrant your smoothie looks!

  4. that smoothie is calling my name! Thanks for the recipe can’t wait to try it!

  5. The color of that smoothie is gorgeous!! 🙂 Sounds yummy. And yay to your ghetto fab processor for still getting the job done haha!

  6. What great energy bars. Ill have to add those to my little book.thanks for sharing

  7. katiemoves says:

    I loveeee Berry smoothies! Any kind! That one looks very good. And you’re right I love making my own energy bars or bites but dang they are some work sometimes!

  8. Yummy smoothie. I just started regularly making smoothies again this week and I am so glad I chose to do so 🙂 My go-to has been an almond milk, spinach, mango and berry mix + a scoop of protein in the morning.

  9. Love love love banana & peanut butter smoothies. I sweat by homemade energy bars and bites. I am literally hungry all the time so I basically carry one around with me at all times!

  10. jumpeatrun says:

    I love berry smoothies too!
    The bars sound great…I make some everyone once in a while, but they really do take a lot of work!

  11. Making your own bars can definitely be time-consuming, but it’s a real lifesaver for those of us with peanut allergies who can’t eat most of the bars offered in stores. Plus it’s nice to be able to customize them and toss in whatever you want… ie. all things chocolate 😀

  12. That bar recipe sounds awesome for snacks! Anything that only involves 2 ingredients is definitely a winner!

  13. Francene Katzen says:

    Your bars look delish, but the smoothie looks even better! Will try to make both, now that I got my new kitchen. LOVE the posts!!!!! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  14. I usually end up buying bars at the store because I’m far too lazy to make them at home lol! But I DO love the idea that you can add lots of your favorite add-ins. I would definitely add chocolate chips. 😉
    I’ve been loving smoothies after my runs too! I’ve read that carbs, protein, and antioxidants are good for post-running recovery so my smoothies usually have berries, spinach, matcha green tea powder, orange juice, almond milk, and protein powder. Yours looks great too though! I love yogurt in smoothies. 🙂

  15. I like the look of those date snacks!

  16. Smoothies may just be one of the greatest meals/snacks ever 🙂 🙂 I’ve been enjoying vanilla peppermint latte’ flavored smoothies lately!

  17. Courtney @ Star Systemz says:

    It can be a pain making your own energy bars but HEY at least you know EXACTLY what the ingredients are + you can MAKE whatever you want 🙂 My favorite smoothie flavor right now is KEY LIME PIE, DELISH! Sending you a great weekend 🙂 Love + Shine CourtStar

  18. Courtney says:

    YUM that smoothie looks scrumptious!

  19. Katherine says:

    I’ve been meaning to make bars forever, but I’ve been way too lazy. Yours are SO easy. And peanuts and dates? Perfectionnn! Your smoothie also looks to die for! It looks so summery and cold!

  20. Ok I kinda feel the same way about energy bars. I’ve tied making them on my own and they never turn out as good as I want them too…I feel like I waste a bunch of ingredients I actually like (just not together) To me it is worth buying them haha

  21. I have been meaning to make my own energy bars because they are such a great snack, but like you said- they take some work. Maybe I can bribe my husband into making them because they look delicious! 🙂

  22. I hear ya! Energy bars are pricey and I am so picky with them. These look yums!

  23. That smoothie looks amazing!!!! And I will definitely have to give your energy bars a try!

  24. P says:

    Berries or strawberry banana are my fav smoothie flavors :)!

Show some love

