Training and PBJ

I was off my running game this morning. For some reason, I’ve been feeling sluggish this week. I’m training for a half-marathon in November, so I’ve got to get my butt in gear.

photo (5)

Before my AM run, I whipped up some oats for breakfast.

Peanut Butter and Jelly Oats

PB&J Oats

1/2 cup oats

3/4 cup water (I like dryer oats)

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 Tbsp peanut butter

1 Tbsp jelly

1 tsp honey

Mix water and oats in a microwavable bowl

photo 1 (3)

Mix in vanilla and cinnamon

photo 2 (4)

Microwave for 2 minutes, then add peanut butter, jelly and honey

photo 4 (3)

Combine and enjoy!

pbjo ats

I think oatmeal is the ideal breakfast food, especially for runners. Wholesome and filling.

Question: What training schedule do you use to prepare for runs like half marathons?

88a11b3ec1cc3aba0e90270e7521b001

Tagged , , ,

23 thoughts on “Training and PBJ

  1. Hillary says:

    Hal Higdon’s schedule! http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51130/Half-Marathon-Training-Guide

    It’s great because it’s a gradual schedule and if you miss a day or two, you don’t feel pressure to make things up, you just get back on the schedule on whatever day it is.

    Probably better for novice runners, but also a good idea if you’re training with people. This way you can make it fun by doing it “together,” always a motivator!

  2. beth says:

    Agree! Oatmeal is MY favorite breakfast food before, or usually AFTER a good morning run. Bananas too. πŸ™‚
    Finding a good, simple, flexible & realistic training schedule to follow helps you stay on track toward your goal(s). There’s a BUNCH out there — but this one I like ALOT: http://www.womenshealthmag.com/fitness/half-marathon-training
    ❀ Best of luck Alex!!! You will do GREAT!! 😊

  3. So these are happening tomorrow for sure! I have to use up the strawberry chia jam I made by the end of the week and I really can’t say no to PB&J AND oats.

    Highly recommend Hal Higdon’s Half-Marathon plan!

  4. Nancy Vetter says:

    … or you could just go with some Oatmeal cookies … but then you’d eat so many you’d never get around to training for the marathon … so nevermind!

  5. Yummy! I love hearing about your running btw πŸ™‚ Keep up the great work!!

  6. Love pb and j anything!

  7. Pb&j oats are the best!!! So excited for your half marathon! You’re going to rock it. πŸ™‚ This is the training plan I’m using:
    http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51131/Half-Marathon-Novice-1-Training-Program
    My long runs usually end up being longer than the ones suggested, but I’m Ioving the program so far!

  8. Why have I not thought of this?!? Such a good idea! I used to play soccer and run all the time, but now my knees are all messed up 😦

  9. I love oatmeal a lot too. This recipe sounds so good. Its still too hot hear to think about it, but come this winter, yum!

  10. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Mmmmm ya can Never go wrong with peanut butter πŸ™‚

    Good luck on your training, Sometimes just roughing it out is all a girl can do!

  11. I totally have SLUG weeks today! This morning my work out was a little slower than normal too even though I felt okay. Those weeks of feeling tired, man, they stink because I always think: uh oh, am I ever going to get better? LOL! But then what do you know, 12am on Monday morning – BOOM, a whole new energy comes over me!

  12. I love oatmeal for breakfast! I had a big bowl with almond butter, raisins and coconut for breakfast. I can’t eat before running but it makes a great post run breakfast.

  13. Good luck with your training! I ran a half marathon a couple years ago so I know how tough it can be. Looks like a delicious breakfast!

  14. Courtney says:

    Good luck with training!! And YUM that oatmeal looks delicious πŸ˜€

  15. Katherine says:

    I’ve been sluggish lately with training too, so I’m praying and hoping we both can get out of our training rut! I’ve never thought of putting jelly in oats! YUM!

  16. When I ran my half, I used the training app on my phone “Runner’s World Smart Coach” but I also took some inspiration from Hal Higdon’s plans as well. PB&J oats sound amazing!

  17. Peanut butter & jelly is such a comfort, feel-good food. Oatmeal is another comfort food (for me at least) So a merging of the two? Ah-mazing!

  18. I love oats for brekkie in the summer and winter. PB and J can only make them better : )

  19. Brittany says:

    I’m a Hal Higdon fan too, I have used him for all my half’s and am using his Novice 2 plan right now for another half in October!!

  20. […] When you think you have no food or ideas for breakfast, you stumble upon an easy recipe for Peanut Butter and Jelly Oatmeal over at Cookie Dough […]

  21. […] I overslept my workout class this morning, so I opted for a quick elliptical workout after a bowl ofΒ Peanut Butter & Jelly Oats. […]

Show some love

