Quinoa Pad Thai

I had a few skeptical critics for my new recipe…

photo 1 (1)

mom

Uh huh, thanks guys. 😉

I decided to try a pad thai-inspired dish last night. While it was pretty tasty, it was far from a simple recipe.

Quinoa pad thai

Quinoa Pad Thai

Ingredients

1 cup quinoa

1 cup carrots

1 onion

1 bag frozen broccoli

1 bag frozen spinach

1/4 cup jalapanos chopped

2 Tablespoons of Thai peanut sauce (any variety will do (I used Thai Kitchen)

1 Tablespoon creamy peanut butter

2 Tablespoons Sriracha (add less to decrease spice)

1 teaspoon cilantro

3 Tablespoons soy sauce

1/4 teaspoon curry poweder, garlic powder, pepper, red pepper flakes

1/4 cup crushed peanuts

1 package of tofu (I used a pre-marinated peanut flavor)

1 Tablespoon sesame seeds

1 cucumber peeled and sliced

Instructions

Bring 1 cup quinoa and 2 cups of water to a boil. Lower heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Cut up carrots and onion and cook in a dollop of olive oil over medium heat for 10 minutes. (I like my carrots soft, so I microwaved them in water for 3 minutes beforehand.) Cook frozen broccoli and frozen spinach according to the bag’s directions. Drain. Add the cooked vegetables and jalapenos to cooked quinoa. Add all of the spices and seasonings to the pot. In a separate pan, cook the cutup tofu over medium heat for about 5 minutes or until hot. Add tofu to the quinoa pot. Add sesame seeds. Garnish dish with cucumber on the side. (I didn’t have a lime, but it would be a nice add on.)

quinoa pad thai

This was a commitment, to say the least.

the aftermath

The aftermath…

but the leftovers make it worth it

but the leftovers made it worth it

I love ordering pad Thai at restaurants, but after cooking it, I realized how much salt and unhealthy ingredients are in authentic Pad Thai. Cooking really teaches you a lot about restaurant food.

Question: What have you discovered through manipulating restaurant recipes? Has cooking turned you off to any particular dish?

f209f4e8d6d817da1357d400feb294f4

d8147ca706cfc3f1b98c7c559a358054

Have a good one!

Tagged , , ,

23 thoughts on “Quinoa Pad Thai

  1. Nancy Vetter says:

    You’re an adventurous person in the kitchen, and well, in life, too 🙂

  2. I totes just pinned this. 😉 YUM!!!

  3. I love pad thai! When I’ve tried making it at home and healthier, it never tastes the same. I know it has to be all the extra “junk” they throw in — why is the junk so delicious?

  4. I think it looks gorgeous!

  5. Boos and hisses to the unbelievers! My poor family used to always give my creations the shifty eye, but they definitely changed their tune after a few instances where I showed them how good creative healthy cooking can be.

  6. Love me a good kitchen challenge (refer to today’s post for proof!) and this looks AWESOME! I feel the same way about most thai and Chinese dishes. I much prefer making them at home and healthifying them than eating them out. I’ll trade in authenticity for health any day. But yeah…it’s a pain in the butt lol!

  7. This sounds like a delicious and healthy alternative to Pad Thai! I LOVE the idea!! I’m totally going to try this 🙂

  8. Aren’t parents silly?? 😉 Of course quinoa Pad Thai would be good!!

  9. Mike Vogler says:

    I absolutely love pad thai and was just telling a friend the other day that I’ve GOT to make it for myself at home sometime, Alex! And the quinoa makes it even that much more intriguing! Thank you 🙂

  10. jumpeatrun says:

    I LOVE pad thai! it’s seriously my go-to meal whenever I get take out (or eat at a thai restaurant 🙂 ) Definitely going to try your recipe!

  11. kukolina says:

    Hi,
    I am Eszter.
    I just found your blog through… not sure…sorry..
    It is really funny that this is your first post I bump in to because a few months ago I moved back to Thailand! What a coincidence, huh?! 🙂
    Pad Thai is a must…

    xoxo, Eszter
    https://kukolina.wordpress.com

  12. Nicole L says:

    Love pad Thai! Looks sooo yummy!!

  13. I looooove Thai food! It has so much flavor & it’s healthy!

  14. Courtney says:

    This looks so good! I love how you color-coded the recipe, too 🙂

  15. Haha. Courtney beat me to it, but I love the color-coded directions/ingredients 😀

    I bet you showed those critics whose boss 😉 Recipe looks marvelous!

  16. P says:

    I usually just post right after I finish writing something, but lately I have been saving drafts for up to a week or two…I don’t mind it at all as it helps me to have something when I really don’t know what to write about on a particular day!

    • P says:

      Haha oops!
      For some reason my replies weren’t posting, so I forgot to copy and paste my reply to your post! (Please ignore the above comment ;)!)

      Here’s my reply to THIS post. Haha…

      I feel like the mediocre/standard dishes are the easiest to make. The fancy and delicious one that are designed as bait for customers are so difficult to make at home :P!

  17. Brittany says:

    You need to send these photos to ME because my reply would have been, “HOLY YUM THAT LOOKS UNREAL!” Really though this sounds amazing. I loveee pad thai!

  18. Katherine says:

    OMG This looks amazing! Quinoa has been my best friend ever since I started clocking some serious mileage. This seriously is making my mouth water. Clearly you have the wrong friends, because I’m drooling on my keyboard! 🙂

Show some love

