Made in America

Like a flash, it’s Monday Tuesday! Hope everyone had a marvelous Monday.

This past Friday, I went to Citizen Burger Bar with some co-workers and I wanted to share their Beet salad combo that I love.

photo 1 (15)

It’s served in a large bowl of blueberries, beets, goat cheese, apples, and candied walnuts over a bed of crisp spinach. Beautiful bright colors.

photo 2 (15)

I actually went on a blind date to Citizen Burger a few weeks ago and ordered this salad after indulging in several appetizers.  Here’s the write-up of the date in the paper.

This weekend I headed to Philadelphia for the Made in America Music Festival.

madeinamerica

made in americaMy friends and I stayed at The Hyatt Hotel at Penn’s Landing. Before the concert, we hung out on the rooftop.

photo 4 (11)

views

reflections

girls

reds

Then we walked to Fairmount Park to see the show.

walking to the concert

After quite the trek, it was time to get our groove on!

MIA Day 1

#dancedancedance

We were exhausted after day one, so after Beyoncé finished her set, we walked home to hit the hay. (I’ll spare you a picture of my battered and bruised feet that I so kindly Snapchatted my friends.)

I slept well after partying with Gumby

Sore feet? Don’t mind if I do keep dancing with Gumby

Dancing is my all time favorite work out. Day 2 brought event more great artists, dance moves and excitement.

MIA day 2

photo 2 (22)

photo 2 (20)

I even found a healthy lunch option.

Black beans, plantains, cheese, and hot sauce pita

Black bean, plantain, cheese pita with hot sauce

Success! Stop, eat, digest, and dart back to the dance floor. Now everyone report to the dance floor, to the dance floor…

Calvin harris

Calvin Harris was definitely my favorite!

On the way back to the hotel Sunday night, we stopped in Chinatown to get Bubble tea.

bubble tea

The next morning, we packed up and walked over to The Continental for brunch. I ordered the asparagus and goat cheese omelet.

the continental

It was an exciting weekend and a long drive home, but one of my lovely friends provided me with a sugar free Red Bull, so I was good to go!

Whew, that was a long post!

How was your long weekend? Have you ever been to a music festival?

Tagged , , ,

25 thoughts on “Made in America

  1. Nancy Vetter says:

    Dancing with Gumby, music, beet salad. Life is good to you, Alex! 🙂

  2. No better combo than goat cheese, beets and candied nuts…can’t go wrong with that! The festival looked epic. Sadly did not make it to any music festivals this summer but last summer I went to Governor’s Ball in NY and Osheaga in Montreal. So much fun!

  3. bezzymates says:

    Cute blind date interview. Looks like such a fun trip to Philidelphia.

  4. Courtney says:

    Sounds like SUCH a fun weekend! 🙂

  5. Beet salads are the best! I could eat beets all day, every day 🙂

  6. erika says:

    Omg I LOVE music festivals!! I just saw Calvin Harris this summer too! Such an awesome show. And a blind date sounds so fun but wait–what happened to Lee?? In any case, it sounds like it was super fun and glad you had a good time!

  7. You may NOT believe this but… I have never had beets before! 😮

  8. Joy says:

    I would have loved to have seen Calvin Harris! Looks like a great time!!

  9. what a sweet festival! such a great weekend for it too

  10. Katherine says:

    Dancing with Gumby is SO adorable! I LOVE music festivals! Seriously they are way too much fun. Oh, and your food looks amazing! I’m sure you had a blast!

  11. What a fun weekend! I miss the days of music festivals and dancin’ all night!

  12. Kaitlin says:

    Oh man that sounds like an AMAZING weekend. The blind date looks sort of fun! How did you hear about it? I think it’s fun to meet people and chat, hence why I love blogging. 🙂 Ah I love bubble tea too. Ok, this just looks amazing. I went to Stagecoach, which was neat but bloody hot.

  13. Brittany says:

    I loved seeing on these photos on your IG! What a BLAST!! That beet salad look amazing!

  14. Kammie says:

    Looks like so much fun.

    I love your salad too
    wish your pictures were a big bigger though!

  15. P says:

    THAT pita and boba tea!! Also looks like so much fun dancing with Gumby, haha 😛

  16. Cindy says:

    Wow! Looks like you had a great weekend 😀 I’ve never had bubble tea, I’ll had to check that out.

  17. jegfitness says:

    Never been to a music festival…. but it does look like a great time.

  18. I’ve never been to a music festival before. (To be honest, I thought it was all about people getting drunk!). Your pictures make me really want to go sometime now though. It looks like so much fun!

  19. WHATTTTTT! You were in Philly! Darn, we totally could’ve met up for a blend date! Oh well 🙂 Glad you enjoyed your stay!

  20. Alex, I “fixed” your sweet potato fries for tonight’s dinner for hubby and me. We both agreed that they are THE BEST! These will be a fixture at my house. Thanks for sharing! Sharon E.

Show some love

