Hold the Burger

Hold the burger, not the fries. Β The fries are always the best part of the meal, right?

Why not have french fries for lunch? Make them healthy, and that oh so popular guilty pleasure becomes a 100% healthy not-so-sinful meal.

healthy homemade sweet potato fries

Healthy Homemade Sweet Potato French Fries

Ingredients

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 Tablespoons bread crumbs
  • 1 Tablespoon ground parmesan cheese
  • 1/8 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 450.

2. Wash and skin sweet potato.

3. Cut the sweet potato in half (hamburger style). Cut into equal-sized rectangular fries.

4. In a bowl, toss the fries with the olive oil, bread crumbs, cheese, salt, and pepper.

5. Evenly spread the fries out on a large greased cookie sheet.

6. Bake for 20 minutes, flipping the fries after 10 minutes.

7. Broil on high for 3 minutes, keeping the oven door slightly ajar.

Sinlessly and indulgently enjoy.

fries with ketchup

Fries for lunch and a week sans working out. Is this still a healthy living blog? Some days, a little time off and indulging is a must. πŸ™‚

healthy fries

Question: How often do you give yourself a giant break?

Have a lovely evening!

6a5a168be49f489cf67932d8edf7c5c3

 

4e338538b06bde41c8bd7cd6b03225a1

fb0a32b9fba68b5acaea2644d49104b6

Tagged , , ,

19 thoughts on “Hold the Burger

  1. Nancy says:

    Sorta like having your cake (or fries) and eating them, too. I like it!

  2. bentodays says:

    Looks amazing. I’ve tried making sweet potato french fries but they sure didn’t come out looking this yummy!

  3. I absolutely love sweet potatoes!!

  4. Aren’t homemade sweet potato fries the best thing ever???

  5. Agreed! fries are THE BEST part πŸ˜‰

  6. They look delicious! Sometimes you just gotta have fries for lunch..

  7. Not going to lie; I’ve skipped the burger before and went straight to the fries!

  8. Meredith says:

    Sometimes we all just need a break! Healthy fries are the best fries, because you can eat more of them πŸ™‚ I never think to add breadcrumbs and parmesan, I’ll give these a try!

  9. Oh my gosh, sweet potato fries are my JAM. Seriously, you can dip those suckers into mud and they would still taste amazing! πŸ˜€

  10. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    I have never added cheese to my sweet potato fries, that’s a great idea!

  11. Beth says:

    Yum! Homemade Sweet Potato fries are the best! I have discovered that if you spread them in the pan so none of them touch, you will get the best result on the crunchy-not-soggy front! πŸ™‚

  12. Francene Katzen says:

    YUMMY LOOKING!!! Can’t wait to try!

  13. Fries over burger any day! I could eat my weight in fries if I were challenged to…seriously might be my favourite savory food!

  14. YUM these look so good! πŸ™‚

  15. Mmmm these sound and look delicious

  16. selwonger2013 says:

    Alex, Fixed these for dinner tonight. I have several recipes for sweet potato fries, but both hubby and I agree that these are THE BEST! Thanks for sharing! I love your blog!

  17. Obviously I think the burger is overrated πŸ˜‰ haha I LOVE sweet potato fries! I love the idea of using bread crumbs

Show some love

