Confidence

Today’s post is a little different than what I usually write about:

Confidence

Shakespeare Fierce

Confidence is internally manifested. Before we can feel worthy of a new job or significant other, we have to be worthy of ourselves.

I was raised by two amazing parents; my mother always showed me the value of taking care of myself to find confidence. She was and always will be my biggest fan. She’s an amazing, confident, beautiful, and fun-loving woman who has more friends than I can count and a truly rare heart of gold. (Oh, so that’s why she loves gold so much!) 😉

My mother’s positivity influenced and inspired me to muster up the courage to become a confident female in the business world.

Here are a few pointers that have helped me along the way:

1. Stop thinking about yourself all the time. We all have flaws, so the less you think about yourself, the less you focus on your mistakes.

2. Master the art of listening. Listening is the foundation to relationships, which eternally boost our existence on Earth.

3. Mantras and positive thinking. Find things in life that inspire you and hold tight to them. Also, focus on what makes you great and embrace it longingly.

4. Shift your thinking. Train your brain to switch your negative thoughts. Instead of saying “I need to lose 5 lbs,” say, “I had a great workout today.” (This is a never-ending challenge for me, but I’m determined to continue shifting my thoughts.)

The older I get, the more I understand the value of confidence. Undoubtedly, confidence supersedes physical appearance. Confidence is sexy.

Confidence is key

Learn about yourself to gain more confidence. We naturally flock to confident beings because they provide more apparent relationships. Confidence drives away confusion and follows the needle of happiness.

Be yourself and the right doors will open. And if others don’t approve, it’s their loss, not yours.

Cookie Dough Katzen

There’s no one else in the world with your wonderful, unique spirit.

Your life is your story to tell, so write your mistakes into the cliffhangers. No matter what, your book is yours to share with the world. Finger through the pages of others peoples’ books. The more we read, the better we write.

This is your starring act, so grab a pen, make some memories, and paint it great.

paint it great

Tagged , , ,

17 thoughts on “Confidence

  1. Christine says:

    I love this! Confidence and being comfortable in your own skin is definitely sexy! I love all the points you mentioned <3, changing the way you think and view yourself means SO much more than achieving a certain number on the scale!

  2. Nancy says:

    Great post, Alex.

  3. Michael says:

    A beautiful and intelligent post.

  4. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Wise words indeed! I especially like the thought about not thinking about yourself in the work world.

    I think confidence has a lot to do with accepting that sometimes things will be hard, and sometimes things will not turn out well, but that is how life works, that is ok, and at the end of the day everything will be alright!

    I just wish I knew what things in life I wanted to take more chances in 🙂

  5. I def think confidence without being arrogant is attractive, love this!

  6. Hillary says:

    LOVE IT/LOVE YOU!

    Keep up the great work!

  7. Angela @ Health's Angel says:

    Great thoughts here! I love your first pointer. I’ve noticed that as I’ve gotten older. I used to be a lot more self-centered when I was younger and I beat myself too much because of it. I also think as we get older, we care less and less about others opinions of us and that has made me MUCH more confident. If you don’t like me…then too bad, haha. Stay true to you. 🙂

  8. I love this Alex! I’ve been noticing lately that my confidence has been waning. Mainly that I have so many things I want to do but don’t because I don’t think I am capable of them. This post was definitely an encouragement 🙂

  9. pickyrunner says:

    You said all of this so perfectly. Confidence is so hard sometimes but it’s also so so so important. I love how you said “life is your story to tell”. Beautifully put.

  10. […] Confidence: It’s easy to forget how essential confidence is in our daily lives.  I’m not saying we need to have a big ego, but to be proud of one’s accomplishments and talents and be able to live life in a positive manner, that’s another thing.  Check out what Alex at Cookie Dough Katzen has to say about confidence. […]

  11. Tricia Massey says:

    Working on that “shift your Thinking”…..YOU are amazing and yes you had spectacular female Role model but it is what YOU did that makes all the diff!!!!! Keep your inspirational messages coming they are making us all better….GO Alex!!

    Tricia

  12. Katherine says:

    I couldn’t have said any of this better myself. Confidence is such a hard thing for me to grasp though. I never really thought of needing to shift my thinking. You are so wise Alex! You’re so inspiring to me! 🙂

  13. […] It’s rainy here and I’m feeling a little blue. The weather always has a great effect on me. To combat the blues, I’m using this week to pamper myself to continue boosting my confidence. […]

Show some love

