Mexican Toppings

Happy Wednesday! We’ve made it to hump day. First and foremost, happy birthday to my lovely mother!

photo 1 (13)

I overslept my workout class this morning, so I opted for the elliptical after a bowl of Peanut Butter & Jelly Oats.

Last week, I’d fallen off the workout wagon. Some days (or weeks) it’s okay to go easy on ourselves. Listen to lethargy.

listen to your body

As a followup to Monday’s post, I felt so much better after a run, shower, and a relaxing evening of TV and manicures with  my roommate. See ya later blues.

painted nails

A big plate of nachos for dinner didn’t hurt either. 😉

healthy fiesta pepper nachos

Healthy Fiesta Pepper Nachos

(Adapted from my Traverse Bay Salsa Nachos)

  • A couple handfuls of tortilla Chips
  • 1 bag of frozen peppers (frozen is cheaper, but fresh works too)
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup refried beans
  • 1/4 cup Mexican shredded cheese
  • 1 handful of arugula
  • 1 spoonful of salsa

Sauté frozen peppers and onion with 1 Tablespoon of olive oil. Grab a plate and spread tortilla chips evenly. Sprinkle the cheese on top. Microwave for 1 minute. Add the peppers, chopped onion and arugula. Microwave for another minute. Heat refried beans separately, then add to the plate. Top with salsa.

¡Que delicioso!

I used my leftovers to create a quesadilla for lunch today.

quesedilla

Question: What’s your favorite Mexican dish?

Have a good one!

2c8713ef447584bb74df5e2cf52bc912

Tagged , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Mexican Toppings

  1. I had black bean nachos for dinner last night 🙂 Yours look yummy! I have to try those pbj oats!! Have a lovely day!

  2. Happy birthday to your mom 🙂

  3. beth says:

    That nachos Recipe looks awesome!! ;). THANKS for sharing it!

  4. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Happy birthday to your mom!

    I am always so motivated to make nachos by your posts! I need to actually follow through for once!

  5. Nachos for dinner! You’re my kind of girl 😉 And agreed that we beat ourselves up way too much for skipping workouts. Sometimes we gotta sleep right?!? Happy birthday to CDK’s mama!

  6. Nancy Vetter says:

    Love nachos! If you want sour cream, try some plain Greek yogurt instead 🙂 You won’t notice the difference and you’ll feel like you’ve really sinned (calorie wise) 🙂

  7. jumpeatrun says:

    your quesadilla looks so good! You are inspiring me to make something mexican!

  8. Kaitlin says:

    Love the “treat yourself” from Monday. I love everything Tex-Mex from enchiladas to fajitas 🙂

  9. I am a Mexican food addict. I don’t think I can go more than a week or two without some form of queso-drenched food. Love the idea of arugala on your nachos!

  10. erika says:

    Ooh I love me some nachos too. Especially with guac on top. Although the main homemade Mexican food I grew up eating were enchiladas, so I have a soft spot for those…wait no burritos. I freaking love burritos. I ❤ Chipotle, no matter how low-brow that sounds. SO GOOD!

  11. Bezzymates says:

    I really love quesadillas. Simple, cheesy, yummy.

  12. Brittany says:

    I have been on the fence the last 4 hours about wanting to run today or not, and I just really don’t want to! HA! I’ve been up since 3am and I am just damn tired. So I think I will listen to your advice and NOT workout. I would love some nachos instead.

  13. Taryn says:

    Nachos, for sure. Although I hate when my boyfriend decides he wants them as an appetizer when we go out to eat.. that pretty much ensures that I won’t be eating the dinner I’ve ordered.

  14. So, I love the little holiday icon buttons those are cute. Happy birthday to your mom! and Nachos. A true love of mine. I literally had them last night because my roommate made butternut squash queso, which was mind blowing and amazing.

Show some love

