Getting Enough Protein

Hey guys!

I’ve started working with a friend of mine who started a nutrition plan called Atomic Weight Loss. It’s not a diet, rather, it’s a way to monitor your consumption of protein, fiber, carbs, and fat.

1075602_408924472546144_1565996281_o

As someone who’s always checked calories, this plan was new for me!

wonka-meme

πŸ˜‰

I’ve learned I need to amp up my protein. Enter lean meats and dairy.

tunamix

tuna + hummus + chopped greens + Parmesan

Egg white omelet

1 egg + 3 egg whites + spinach + tomatoes + Parmesan

Loading up on protein.

1374974_437391619699429_204709927_n

On another note, here’s a new workout from TribteSports that I’ll be trying (click for the workout details):

20131018115843-zombie-survival-under-siege-workout

Work it!

761224e04ce12e27c25a2101a7d1903b

Question: Do you get enough protein? What are your favorite protein-packed foods?

Tagged , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Getting Enough Protein

  1. inspiredplee says:

    Hi there! I love chicken just because it is so lean! Whenever I get tired of chicken I mix in some tilapia and tuna. Also, low fat plain greek yogurt paired with almond butter is tasty and has a lot of protein! πŸ™‚

  2. Nancy Vetter says:

    Wouldn’t it be great if cookie dough cookies were high in protein?

  3. spinach quiche, black bean quesadilla ,ice cream, eggplant parmesan

  4. genext13 says:

    I am vegan and protein is never an issue for me. Kale, chickpeas, nuts, and one of the best sources, pepitas. You can also add nutritional yeast to add protein and texture to dishes. I make a quesadilla with just a little coconut oil and nutritional yeast. It has a good texture and has a good taste.I also make mac and “cheese” with coconut oil, nutritional yeast, and coconut oil rather than cheese.

  5. I’m doing the vegetarian thing right now but one of the reasons why I still haven’t and probably won’t give up tuna/fish and eggs is because I love it so much! My body just craves that stuff. πŸ™‚

  6. I actually eat 430% over the required limit (according to the USDA) for protein. LMFAO! I had to log my calories for my certification program and that is what it told me. I do have an excuse as to why this is so high though – it’s because I really can barely eat anything except protein due to my intestinal difficulties and food intolerances/allergies! I do need to take this down a bit… Add more fat in my diet (I do get an ample amount but in order to stay full by ingesting less protein, fat will help do the trick). I do love protein though… I am drooling for a piece of chicken right now! πŸ˜‰

  7. I’m all about tuna salads. And when I make pasta dishes, I’ll add in an egg or two for extra protein! Also, I’m going to try that workout today! Halloween is coming up and I need to get in shape haha!

  8. Kaitlin says:

    I’ve been starting to monitor what I eat on myfitnesspal just because I’m fascinated by where it all breaks down!

  9. I never actually monitor my macros, so I’m not sure what my protein consumption is adding up to be. I don’t eat a ton of meat, but I make sure to get protein shakes in after the gym and I’m not anemic so I think I’m doing alright πŸ™‚

  10. If you are looking for some plant-based proteins, check out beans, lentils, tofu, tempeh, and dark green vegetables!

  11. Meat is my favorite way to get in protein. And the easiest because it is so gosh darn packed with it πŸ™‚ Chicken and seafood are top for me!!

  12. Being a vegetarian, I’m ALWAYS being asked if I’m getting enough protein! But yes πŸ™‚ I eat so many beans and legumes, nuts, seeds, etc. I get plenty! (And of course, greek yogurt. Just had a bowl of that!)

  13. Katherine says:

    I ALWAYS need more protein. My personal favorite ways to get protein are just regular grilled chicken, nuts, greek yogurt and lots of beans! That workout that you’re trying looks killer! Maybe I’ll give it a try once my schedule calms down again!

  14. NOMS I need more protein, too! I wish my meal plan offered more grilled chicken, egg whites, etc. I get most of my protein via KIND bars now!

Show some love

